We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With the name of #1 boutique hotel in the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“With the name of #1 boutique hotel in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Opening the door of our room, I found a hand written welcoming card on the bed. In every detail, the hotel displays its elegance of a boutique hotel. My favourite is the library which is adjacent to BF area.

No beach view, but walking distance to the beach. Fair or even considered relatively low room rate is surprising. There's a railway under use next to the hotel, but no disturbance inside room during night.

Room Tip: Rooms locate at the back of the hotel might be with the least disturbance of highway and railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    552
    92
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
456
77
16
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My family (my husband and two daughter's 6 and 3) and I started our trip staying at the Sheraton by Legoland. While that hotel was nice, it customer service was lacking so much we left after the third day. After I personally checked other nearby hotels, none of them compared to the West Inn. After checking in we had a knock on the door with champaign for my husband and I and sparkling lemonade for my kids and some balloons. What a surprise thanks to the help at the front desk. The layout of the suite we chose was perfect. It allowed for a bit of privacy with the bathroom being situated in the middle of the room. In the evening the turndown service would pull out the couch bed for my girls and set it up with their favorite cartoon characters sleeping bags. You can however opt for traditional bedding. They also have suites with this layout and two king beds. Having kids that are younger is why we chose this room knowing they would get a kick out of a couch bed never seeing one before. the beds and bedding was so comfortable. you get a great nights sleep here. They also have DVD players for both TV's in the room and provide numerous DVD to borrow at the front dest. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was warm and yummy. My girls loved milk and cookie hour too. The steakhouse on the property was amazing. As was the cafe there that also did all the room service (even by the pool). The pool was heated here which ended up being a huge factor. The one at the Sheraton had more of a resort look (gorgeous), but was very cold and when I ordered food it took nearly an hour and half and the waiter was very rude. That being said, I enjoyed the smaller pool at the West Inn. I would stay here again and again and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Carlsbad. It's close to everything (Legoland, strawberry picking and flower fields). The staff was super friendly and knowledgable. So look no further and book your room now! It's by far the best choice. :)

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and it was very quiet. It was close to everything and parking was great t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife and 2 young kids age 5 & 7. This is not a resort but it is certainly a good place for families Who need a place to crash. The rooms are nice size and very clean. The main concern I have is that they allow dogs - wondering how they can keep the place so clean while allowing animals to sleep who knows where. The location of the hotel is bad- right on the freeway. If you don't care about dirty dogs or bad views this is the place for you. It didn't bother us too much but I would say this place compares to the home wood suites.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We recently had our destination wedding in Carlsbad, Ca and was looking for hotels for our out of town guests when we discovered The West Inn & Suites. After visiting the hotel, we loved it so much we booked it that day for our own stay prior to our wedding!! When we arrived there was champagne waiting for us!! They were wonderful to our 2 chihuahuas and the rooms were beautiful! Free cookies, Free breakfast -- both were awesome!! The restaurant was delicious!! Our out of town guests also loved this hotel. In fact, one couple stayed here 2 nights, then moved to another hotel to be closer to our wedding site and was so disappointed that they wanted to come back to the West Inn & Suites! We will not stay anywhere else when we visit Carlsbad in the future!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I don't know where to start with the West Inn & Suites. We was so impressed with the quality of the hotel, the perfect staff & first class location.
The hotel is situated in Carlsbad which is very close to Legoland, close to Carlsbad Village and close to the Ocean.
The hotel was exceptional. We stayed at The Venetion in Las Vegas prior to the West Inn and I would say I prefered the West Inn.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff they are super accomodating.
We would highly recommend this exceptional Hotel.

Room Tip: First class in every respect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

West Inn is a hidden gem. If you are traveling with a family, this is a great option, especially those with small kids. Rooms are clean and roomy, tastily furnished, and rates are affordable. Carlsbad is not far from San Diego and the hotel is well situated for sightseeing in and out of the San Diego area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Stayed here a couple of times recently due to a family in the hospital. Very friendly staff, clean rooms, comfortable beds, and free parking and wireless.They even allow free use of the business center, including complimentary printing. Definitely will stay here again. Highly recommend this exceptional hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Also Known As:
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel
Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Tabel faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.