We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best in Carlsbad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“the best in Carlsbad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We recently had our destination wedding in Carlsbad, Ca and was looking for hotels for our out of town guests when we discovered The West Inn & Suites. After visiting the hotel, we loved it so much we booked it that day for our own stay prior to our wedding!! When we arrived there was champagne waiting for us!! They were wonderful to our 2 chihuahuas and the rooms were beautiful! Free cookies, Free breakfast -- both were awesome!! The restaurant was delicious!! Our out of town guests also loved this hotel. In fact, one couple stayed here 2 nights, then moved to another hotel to be closer to our wedding site and was so disappointed that they wanted to come back to the West Inn & Suites! We will not stay anywhere else when we visit Carlsbad in the future!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    578
    94
    20
    9
    2
See reviews for
475
80
17
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I don't know where to start with the West Inn & Suites. We was so impressed with the quality of the hotel, the perfect staff & first class location.
The hotel is situated in Carlsbad which is very close to Legoland, close to Carlsbad Village and close to the Ocean.
The hotel was exceptional. We stayed at The Venetion in Las Vegas prior to the West Inn and I would say I prefered the West Inn.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff they are super accomodating.
We would highly recommend this exceptional Hotel.

Room Tip: First class in every respect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

West Inn is a hidden gem. If you are traveling with a family, this is a great option, especially those with small kids. Rooms are clean and roomy, tastily furnished, and rates are affordable. Carlsbad is not far from San Diego and the hotel is well situated for sightseeing in and out of the San Diego area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Stayed here a couple of times recently due to a family in the hospital. Very friendly staff, clean rooms, comfortable beds, and free parking and wireless.They even allow free use of the business center, including complimentary printing. Definitely will stay here again. Highly recommend this exceptional hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, ca
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I travel to Carlsbad a couple of times a year. I've tried other hotels but always come back to West Inn and Suites. The beds are super comfortable, the staff is very accomodating, and the nightly milk and cookes are yummy! West Inn and Suites is my home away from home!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We recently returned from a trip to San Diego where we visited Legoland, SeaWorld, and the San Diego Zoo. I must have made 4 different hotel bookings before finally deciding to book outside of San Diego, and book at the West Inn & Suites in Carlsbad instead. What a great decision!

The West Inn & Suites is rated the #1 hotel in Carlsbad here on TripAdvisor, and luckily, TripAdvisor reviewers did not lead me astray. The hotel is located just 5 minutes from Legoland which was the 2nd most deciding factor I used when making our reservation, since Legoland was going to be our first stop.

As for the hotel, we booked a double king suite, not because we needed 2 king beds, but just to get the additional space (it is the largest room they offer). The double king suite comes with a separate living area, 2 HDTV's, 2 DVD players (one with gaming device), and a mini kitchenette, which was a requirement for us with our 2 year old who eats special food.

The hotel was very clean, the bathroom was clean, housekeeping service was PROMPT with every request I made (add'tl silverware, plates, towels, etc.) and very friendly. We utilized the free buffet breakfast every morning and the free cookies & milk at night. We did not utilize the free shuttle as we had a rental car, but it is there should you need it and offers free transportation to anywhere in Carlsbad. We also had a real crib (not a Pack N Play - hello Ritz Carlton!) for our daughter, thank goodness!

Best of all, this hotel was CHEAP, in my opinion, and cost almost half of what we were originally going to pay had we stayed directly in San Diego. They also offer a AAA discount for those of you with AAA cards!

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to families and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Carlsbad!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

The West Inn will be my go to hotel any time I am in the San Diego area. It's with in walking distance to beaches and has multiple restaurants on premises. The suites are gigantic and the beds are super comfortable. There is a complimentary happy hr every week day from 5-6pm and free hot breakfast every morning. The staff is responsive 24/7. I could not ask for a better experience for such a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Tabel faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel and Agoda so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.