We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heaven.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at the West Inn while we went to LegoLand with two adults and a toddler. It was just an amazing stay. We had the king suite which was a perfect size. They provided a crib which was a real crib and not just a pack-n-play, which was lovely. The rooms are just spotless with great amenities like Aveda bath products and your own robe.

The pool and spa are great. Parents take note -- the hotel provides swim diapers! A nice little touch. The pool is heated and the hot tub isn't too hot. I also used the gym one morning and they have a very nice treadmill. A restaurant was next to the hotel and was so kid and family friend (though at first blush didn't quite appear that way). I wish I could remember our servers name as she was so sweet and accommodating with our little boy who couldn't quite sit still after a long drive.

And I should also mention the bed. It may have been the most comfortable bed I've ever stayed in.

Overall just a lovely hotel. One of those places where you want to just stay and hang out it is so nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    579
    95
    20
    9
    2
See reviews for
477
80
17
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We enjoyed our three night stay during spring break. Staff is very friendly and provides shuttle service to Legoland, village/beach area, and Carlsbad airport along with area tips/info. Lots of nice little details like iced lemon water by the pool, free DVDs to borrow, and cookies and milk at bedtime. The kids loved it. We look forward to coming back some time!

Room Tip: Might want to ask for a room on the other side of the hotel from the train tracks -- it's noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The reviews were correct about this nice gem of a hotel. It was great to break away from the normal chain hotels. What set this hotel apart was:
1. True customer service - received a call the Thursday before arriving to say hello and we look forward to your arrival.. When was the last time you had that happen?
2. Attention to detail - I had a splitting headache and was given direction to the nearest rite aid. The next morning, the front desk staff asked how was I feeling. Wow they remembered.
3. Lived up to the reviews: king suite was just enough room. Very clean and moderned. Neat sea shell as your do not disturb sign. Neat painted rock left on the bed when the sheets have been made and changed.
4. Favorite amenities - kids favorite - milk and cookies.they evened saved some when we came in late. Also the pool and hot tub are wonderful.

Yes you hear the train when it goes by, but is that a show stopper? No way. We were on the side by the highway and never knew it. Couldn't hear anything.

Will we return? Absolutely. Don't count this independent out.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the free shuttle to Legoland. Also, the outlet mall and many restaurants are less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I just returned from this hotel on April 3rd. We stayed 2 nights to take the family to Lego Land and what a great experience it was. We had the Double King Suite and it was just great. This is a beautiful and very clean property that is perfectly set up for families and still affordable. I did not miss any of the resort feel because it had everything that a big resort chain would offer with the added bonus of charm. The front desk staff was great (especially Stephanie). The pool was just fine and not over crowded. You cannot beat the breakfast buffet that was INCLUDED in the price. There is no other san diego area hotel that can offer such nice and clean accommodations at the price that West does. I highly recommend it. You won't miss the overcrowded unorganized feel of the chain hotels.

Room Tip: Double King is perfect with addition of double pull out couch. We traveled with 3 small kids and 3 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is one of our favorite hotels we have stayed in. We have stayed here a couple of times. Our rooms have always been very clean. The beds are so comfortable. The staff is super friendly. We love that it is so pet friendly. My children like the pool and look forward to the warm cookies and cold milk every night. They have a great breakfast selection that changes daily.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

Good beds.

Rubbish gym.

Breakfast OK and a step up from the likes of Doubletree suites with its rubber toast and plastic plates and crockery. However, environment a bit canteen like.

Good location for most places in Carlsbad.

Friendly staff.

Good bistro and fine dining options run by same family with 30m.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This is a great hotel and I highly recommend it. Here is a list of pros and cons to consider:

Pros:
Great staff
Clean
Kid friendly
Good hot breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes etc.)
Two minutes from Legoland
Close to the beach
Close to shopping
Comfortable beds
Washing machines available

Cons:
Near power plant (really just aesthetically unappealing, no noise issues)
Near train tracks (there were 2-3 trains that went by each night)
Outdoor, salt water pool (it is heated though)

Room Tip: Washing machines are at the end of the hall on the second floor, I would ask to be away from them si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Tabel faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel and Agoda so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.