We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Endless Summer Savings
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Excellent experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Great rooms with lots of space. Amazingly clean, especially as there are many children here, due to the proximity of Legoland. Easy parking, pet friendly and two outstanding restaurants on property. In addition, the staff was truly "at your service."

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    100
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
513
90
17
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

The kind of hotel I always want to stay in when we travel. The rooms were quiet, hardly realized anyone else was there until we went down for (free) breakfast. Our room had two KING beds, grand there wasn't much floor space left over, but it was well worth it. The staff were helpful and friendly, everything was clean and we had all the amenities in the room that we needed (iron, dryer, fridge, safe). It is also conveniently located next to the premium outlets (about 3 minute drive) and Legoland (about 5 minute drive.)

Will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Great rooms, clean, spacious, easy to park, nice areas for dogs to go potty with poop bag stations! We had noisy people above us at 1am which was unfortunate and sadly the property is in between the train and the freeway...so unless you are used to road noise, you aren't going to sleep well. Aveda products, nice touch. Mini kitchenette was WONDERFUL. Not sure I would stay again due to noise issues, but otherwise a lovely hotel in a convenient location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We so enjoyed our stay here for my grandson's 6th birthday. We had a suite on the 1st floor room 121, it met all our needs (Quite, spacious room, comfy beds, w micro, refrig etc). Wonderful and helpful staff. A special thank you to "Kristine" who made sure there were "Birthday Ballons" in our room for Emanuel! He so loved the heated pool and we the hot tub. Hot breakfast was plentyful and very good, not to mention the cookies and milk each night yum! Plenty of resturants w shopping outlet near by. Legoland also close by with a complientary shuttle to and from the hotel. We also did a day at the beach which is a five minute drive from the hotel. This by far is one of the BEST places to stay while visiting Carlsbad/Legoland...we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Rooms are spacious, and the bed is comfortable. The staff are very nice. There is free breakfast each morning. They serve scrambled eggs, pancakes, bacon, sausage, pastries, coffee, and juices.

I went for work; but, I noticed a lot of families stayed there, too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I travel a lot, for business and pleasure. Lots of hotels on a variety of levels. The West Inn is the best in many areas, perhaps the most important being I look forward to going back there. They have the nicest front desk people, most sincere in their niceness, of any hotel ever. I stay there mostly for business but have stayed there for pleasure just because I like it so much. Great detail in their bedding, flat screens, cleanliness and overall atmosphere. Did I mention how nice the staff is!
They are pet friendly and that's a nice touch in my book. I have sent several people to stay at West Inn and all have thanked me for the tip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

West Inn & Suites is the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in. Everyone who works at this hotel is very nice and we did not have any problems. The room was nice and clean and the beds were comfortable. We had dinner at The Bistro West and we had the best meal there. The service was great. The hotel also has warm chocolate chip cookies and milk, which gives it a nice touch. It was our 40th anniversary, and the hotel surprised us with champange and chocolates. I would highly recommend this hotel. By the way, we did not hear the trains go by at night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Tabel faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;