We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a nice little hotel; great staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added West Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Endless Summer Savings
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Such a nice little hotel; great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We found ourselves in Carlsbad at a hotel that was not living up to our expectations (the ability to sleep comfortably all night), so we needed to move that day! We found the West Inn & Suites rated number 1 on Trip Advisor and read the reviews; it sounded like just the place. Finally, all of our expectations were met! Nice, clean, comfortable rooms, and a very helpful staff. Even though the hotel had lots a families with children, due to the proximity of Legoland, the rooms were quiet and the hallway noise unobtrusive. The breakfast was very good, with a nice variety over the two mornings we were there. Bistro West, on the property, is excellent, and it's so nice that you can just walk over there, as parking gets a little crowded at night with the 2 restaurants on site. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    100
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
513
90
17
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The lobby area is beautiful. Staff is efficient and friendly. Upon check in the hotel provides you with a list of free dvd's you can borrow during your stay. It is a wonderful list of family friendly movies you can watch for FREE. You borrow one or two, watch, then return to the front desk and you can borrow more. They also have a room off the lobby with a tv, games for the kids, books to borrow. Very comfortable, nice little touch. Around 8:00 they put out fresh baked cookies.

Our room was fabulous. 2 king beds, fridge, microwave, flat screen tv, dvd player, desk and chair area. The room and bathroom were immaculate. The sheets on the bed were so clea, they still had the freshly washed smell. Beds are comfortable, we did not like the pillows. They were too soft for our liking. Big, spacious room. My husband and I only brought our 10 year old for this trip, but we could have easily fit our 2 tennagers as well.

The bathroom was not overly large, but not quite small either. We had a tub and shower. Plenty of towels provided. Spotlessly clean.

The free breakfast in the morning is very good. They provided eggs, bacon, tortillas, pancakes, bagels, muffins, bread and fruit on one morning. The next morning had eggs, sausage, breakfast potatoes, tortillas, muffins, bagels, bread and fruit. I heard another guest say they had offered french toast on another morning. Juice, coffee, hot chocolate and oatmeal were provided everyday. The area is well stocked and fresh. Workers are constantly cleaning off tables and counters.

We had 2 minor problems that were taken care off immediately. First, our dvd did not work. A maitenance man was at our door in 5 minutes, checked the dvd player and realized we needed a new one, and brought it back within 5 minutes. Second, our son was not happy when there were no pancakes on our second morning. One of the workers overheard him complaining and asked if he would like for her to make him some. He was thrilled, and full by the end of breakfast. A small gesture by the staff to go above and beyound which was greatly appreciated.

Now for the downside....the hotel is by a train depot of some sort. On Friday we heard 2, the last being aroung midnight. If it wasn't for the fact that the trains blow their horn it would be no big deal. As a matter of fact, my son did not wake up either time the train came by. Another small issue we had was the people next door to use. They had a SCREAMING toddler. I think because these rooms had an attached door, in case you wanted connecting rooms, we heard more than you would have without the door. Not really the hotels fault but it was a little disruptive. That is why we did not rate the sleep quality as excellent.

This hotel is a 5 minute drive to Legoland and the Carlsbad outlet malls. Plenty of food options all around. We would definitely recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms 100 - 103. They are close to the breakfast area so it can get a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We were so pleasantly surprised by our stay at the West Inn. Felt like friends owned it..they anticipated needs and desires of their guests. Gorgeous outside and gorgeous inside. Wonderful customer service makes you feel so at home. Free, self-parking only was convenitent and low-pressure. Awesome restaurants on-site. Personal touches in the room, that make you feel like it's not a huge corporation, but real people that own it. AMAZING hot breakfast...I'm always so hesitant of buffets, but I was extremely pleased-everything that needed to be hot was hot and the cold food, was cold.
Super comfy beds! CLEAN Everything! AWESOME bathtub/shower. Highly reccomend to friends...Give them your business.

Room Tip: request a room that faces the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

Just finished up a three night stay at the West Inn. We stayed here with our two boys during our visit to Legoland. Everything was perfect! From the welcoming staff to the delicious breakfast to the large, comfortable, perfect for a family rooms, we had a fantastic stay! The free shuttle was super convenient, always available, always on time and the drivers were friendly and helpful! They had a carseat and booster available for our kids. They even directed us to two delicious resturants that we had dinner at two nights. Our kids loved the pool, big hot tub, sand toys and bedtime milk and cookies!!! Overall, you'll be pleased if you choose to stay at the West Inn during your trip to Carlsbad!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here during our visit to the Carlsbad area. The hotel is beautifully lit and decorated. The rooms are spacious and quiet. We expected it to be a bit noisier being so close to Legoland and having so many kids in the hotel, but it isn't. The staff is friendly and helpful and the walk to the beach is a mere 10 minutes (if that.) I found the pricing for the hotel to be a bit on the high end. It's a beautiful facility with fitness center and pool/spa. The breakfast buffet was tasty and changed a bit each day in it's offerings. We got a kick out of seeing the excited (and surprisingly well behaved) kids throughout the hotel. Kids especiallly seemed to enjoy watching cartoons on the big screen tv located in the breakfast dining area.
I joked with my girlfriend about the likelyhood of changing the channel to ESPN without getting tackled by the kids engrossed in their cartoons. Overall a pleasant stay. Quiet and relaxing.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if available near the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Great little boutique hotel close to Legoland, they even have free hotel parking and a free shuttle to Legoland. Cookies at night for the kids and breakfast included. Nice room, very comfy and a restaurant on site which delivers to our room. Laundry facilities on the hotel room floor which is convenient(some hotels have laundry only in the basement or something like that).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel was absolutely fantastic. The restaurant food was exceptional. The rooms were spacey and super clean and the whole hotel had real charisma and heapings of charm.

I will look forward to going back, which is a definite.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Table faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.