We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dinner altho a bit pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fish House Vera Cruz

Fish House Vera Cruz
417 Carlsbad Village Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92009
+1 760 434 6777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 277 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Price range: $16 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Michigan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good dinner altho a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Large variety of fish choices (altho many of these are previously frozen). I had catfish, grilled. Very tastey and well prepared. Moist, not greasy. On the pricier side (but then we noticed that most of the fish sold in the local markets were also on the expensive side. They also have a fish counter from which you can purchase items to take home (also lets you "preview" the kind of fish you will get for dinner)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    80
    41
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went to this restaurant because it had been rated well by Tripadvisor. We found the service to be poor, and the vegetables and mashed potatoes to be the most uninspiring ever.
The fish itself was well prepared but very overpriced for what it was. The only good thing to say about it is that children might enjoy the many aquaria they have in the restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Where the locals go...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This restaurant has really good fish ( and only fish) and fresh, hot unlimited sour dough rolls. I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 because they keep changing the type of rolls they give you and their prices have been rising rather quickly in the past few years. I used to take my family here all the time. They used to give three sides with dinner and you could choose a salad for one of the sides. A great value for a large family. Now, it's two sides and salad is extra, so we don't go as often as we used to. Definitely worth checking them out, though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Every kind of fish you can imagine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stopped in this fish restaurant after reading other good reviews. The place is nicely decorated with, what else, fish! A large fish tank, interesting fish on the walls, and the window into the kitchen featuring a rotating grill of fish kept our attention while waiting for our order. The menu features just about any kind of fish you can imagine. All come grilled and seasoned the same unless you specify, but my mahi-mahi and my husband's swordfish were both delicious. Choose two sides from rice pilaf, cheesy potatoes, slaw, fresh grilled vegetables, cottage cheese or tomatoes. They have several types of soups as well. Nice hot sourdough rolls. Friendly service, too. We left well-satisfied.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Freshest fish in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Fish house is the place to go for fresh well prepared fish in Carlsbad. Not to mention the environment is very cool. I eat here all the time and the cooks are always consistent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish House Vera Cruz also viewed

 

Been to Fish House Vera Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish House Vera Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.