We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many choices!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fish House Vera Cruz

Fish House Vera Cruz
417 Carlsbad Village Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92009
+1 760 434 6777
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #29 of 270 restaurants in Carlsbad
Price range: $16 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So many choices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Excellent chowder & sourdough. Service is hit or miss but it was 50yards from the house. Local sea bass, & like 20 other varieties, including shark.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    91
    70
    30
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
essex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant if you love fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We found this restaurant on Trip Advisor & were not disappointed. You must book as it was full & people were waiting for tables but it is worth it. As it is so busy the place has a real buzz & the staff were lovely. It is not a cheap meal but good value for money. We had a great meal

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Paula, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Took Forever to get Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have good memoriea of this place as a child and so we went here for our anniversary. It took a super long time to get our food-like an outrageous amount of time. The food was mesquite grilled and tasted great/really great! But the sides, cheese potatoes and steamed carrots were really lame for the price we paid. They didn't even taste good for what they were. It was crowded and the atmosphere is seriously outdated. This place is way, way, overrated.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Good Tip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

When a friend of mine was told I was coming to Carlsbad, he recommended Vera Cruz Fish House. My wife and I went there and were very glad we did. Great meal. Good prices. Really nice atmosphere. Best fish dinner I've had in years.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth more than just one visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Super nice staff. I ate there three times during my visit to Carlsbad and each time was fantastic! The vegetables are fresh and cook perfectly. The fish was wonderful and also cooked to perfection. The fish are super good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish House Vera Cruz also viewed

 

Been to Fish House Vera Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish House Vera Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.