We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant if you love fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fish House Vera Cruz

Fish House Vera Cruz
417 Carlsbad Village Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92009
+1 760 434 6777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 282 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Price range: $16 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
essex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant if you love fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We found this restaurant on Trip Advisor & were not disappointed. You must book as it was full & people were waiting for tables but it is worth it. As it is so busy the place has a real buzz & the staff were lovely. It is not a cheap meal but good value for money. We had a great meal

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    89
    45
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Paula, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Took Forever to get Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have good memoriea of this place as a child and so we went here for our anniversary. It took a super long time to get our food-like an outrageous amount of time. The food was mesquite grilled and tasted great/really great! But the sides, cheese potatoes and steamed carrots were really lame for the price we paid. They didn't even taste good for what they were. It was crowded and the atmosphere is seriously outdated. This place is way, way, overrated.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Good Tip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

When a friend of mine was told I was coming to Carlsbad, he recommended Vera Cruz Fish House. My wife and I went there and were very glad we did. Great meal. Good prices. Really nice atmosphere. Best fish dinner I've had in years.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth more than just one visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Super nice staff. I ate there three times during my visit to Carlsbad and each time was fantastic! The vegetables are fresh and cook perfectly. The fish was wonderful and also cooked to perfection. The fish are super good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great fish! Great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We really like this place! The fish is fresh. The service was great! I had the grilled Ono. My husband had the grilled shrimp. We'll be back soon!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish House Vera Cruz also viewed

 

Been to Fish House Vera Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish House Vera Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.