We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fish House Vera Cruz

Fish House Vera Cruz
417 Carlsbad Village Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92009
+1 760 434 6777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 276 restaurants in Carlsbad
Price range: $16 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very tasty fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The fish is always fresh and cooked excellently. Not much for atmospehere, but the service is fairly good. If food quality is the first consideration, I would highly recommend.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    100
    77
    35
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fresh fish on the grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have been here several times and you can't beat the taste of the fresh fish grilled in front of your eyes on a large charcoal grill. My husband loves the scallop rumake and the salmon and orange ruffy is great for me (and I'm not a big seafood fan)! With fresh warm rolls and salad, I always take home left-overs.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentone, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A highlight of our visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We are in our 70's and have traveled many places the last 35 years. We live 100 miles away, and when in town last Sunday and Monday visited the FISH HOUSE VERA CRUZ. It is one of the better restaurants we have eaten at in some time. Our waitress Jeane, made us feel like old friends, and went out of her way to accomodate our every wish.

I had a 1/2 order clams and oysters as an appitizer. They were just pefect and seved on ice bed super chilled.

My wife had the Northern Halibut and I had the Tombo. Both were fixed to perfection. We look forward to returning to the Fish House next trip to town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle,Ca
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“price gouger”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We own a timeshare in Carlsbad and have been going to fish house vera cruz every time we come down. This year was different as we always went for lunch and now they have a whole new menu and the price on what we used to order has doubled in one year. They used to have paper menus and fair prices. I guess they want to be known now as a pricey restaurant. This year we went in for lunch and after looking at the menu and the doubled prices we got up and walked out. The place hasn't got fancy and I am sure the fish remains high quality, but when one doubles their prices in one year I can find good fish at a fair price at many restaurnats up and down the coast. This isn't inflation it is plain gouging and we refuse to be a party to it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Seafood Always Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've eaten here several times, but this is the first review. Overall, the food is always great. Love the shrimp, perfect everytime and the selection of fish is always good. I keep going back because of the food. The interior is getting a little older, but not bad. The service could be better at times, but the servers always know the current menu. The food is worth any dissatisfaction you may have with the place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish House Vera Cruz also viewed

 

Been to Fish House Vera Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish House Vera Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.