We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karl Strauss

Karl Strauss
5801 Armada Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92008
760-431-2739
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 277 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We got into the hotel late and this was convenient, so we ate here--three adults and a child. The food was very good, service was okay. We'd do it again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    124
    45
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The bacon was awesome!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The bacon was awesome- unlike anything else I've tasted. Otherwise, pretty average place. The breakfast buffet was very convenient and I appreciated the omelet station and the waffle makers that were available. For lunch/dinner, nothing really stood out.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Isand, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice dinner at Karl Strauss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This restaurant was on our resort property(Grand Pacific Palisades Resort). It was convenient to walk to. We each had something different and we all enjoyed our meal. For appetizers we shared the hummus which was delicious. One of us had the new england clam chowder and said it was very good. All in all, a convenient and enjoyable dinner. The big attraction here is the beer but since none of us are beer drinkers, we couldn't comment. I would definitely recommend it, especially if you are staying at this resort.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hondo, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast Buffett Was Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were ten, six adults and four children. The breakfast buffett was just what we needed with our group. They have a discounted price at the buffett for the children so that was great. We went on Saturday and Sunday mornings and it was not crowded early. Make your own waffles was a hit with the kids. The omlet bar was where the adults headed. The kids in our family love bacon, but Karl has peppered bacon so that was a dissapointment to them. Fresh fruit, pastry, biscuits and sausage was good too. The buffett had milk and oj, but of course our kids wanted apple juice. The service staff was great and they provided. Got in and out in an hour, then ready for the day at Legoland.

My daughter and her husband went back at night for beer tasting. They sat at the bar and had a really nice time visiting and learning about the craft beers. Wish we had eaten dinner there, but decided to try out other places. Maybe not so smart on our part.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Good rehearsal dinner spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Large heaters on the ceiling made the outdoor patio a nice space for a rehearsal dinner. Everyone enjoyed their food and the service was great. Please note this was a catered buffet and we did not order from the menu. Restrooms were clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karl Strauss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karl Strauss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.