We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice happy Hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karl Strauss Brewing Company

Karl Strauss Brewing Company
5801 Armada Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92008
17604312739
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Bars & Pubs in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
San Marcos, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

They have a nice varity of appitzers for happy hour. And don't for get the beer. Red Trolly is my favorite!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun to try different brews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Loved sampling many of their brews. Happy hour is til 6:30 and we took advantage of this 2 out of the 4 days we were in the area. The hummus as well as the wings were very good. We also had the Beermister burger and the NY cheesecake. I would recommend both.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dix7616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
256 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Need a nap now...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We're owners at Grand Pacific and were in Carlsbad for a day of shopping and relaxation. Had lunch at Kar Strauss as we've done before. Julian waited on our table and was very friendly, knowledgeable about the menu and beer, and more than happy to give us samples of several brews before we ordered. She had the Tower 20 IPA on tap and I had a bottle (22 oz.) of the Boardwalk Black Rye IPA. Very fresh, lots of flavor if you like hops.

She had the chipotle pastrami sandwich which was spicy but not too hot and came with a mountain of fries. I had the portobello sandwich with sun dried tomatoes and mild onions on a bun that was almost too big. The side was some interesting home made chips.

Lotta food, lotta beer. Wandered over to Grand Pacific and took a nap by the pool. The flower fields have been plowed and offer nothing but a large expanse of tilled earth this time of year.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 65oski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

This brew pub / sports bar is very popular addition to the Grand Pacific Palisades resort location. A good variety is specialty beers are available for on site or to-go consumption. The burgers are terrific but beware of the Fuego burger - it's HOT! A walk along the promenade in front of the resort will help work off the calories while you enjoy a great view of the Carlsbad flower fields.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SMikeCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch without question”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

friendly atmosphere, lively servers, and the best food and beer always hits the spot after a long financial session...we go twice a year.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank judynic-lud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karl Strauss Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Karl Strauss Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing