We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT AND NOSTALGIC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don's Country Kitchen

Don's Country Kitchen
2885 Roosevelt St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-1620
760-729-2274
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 282 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Price range: $8 - $8
Cuisines: American, Diner, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT AND NOSTALGIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

What a great breakfast at this small "diner" that evoked memories of the 1960's I thought I had stepped back in time.

Sat at the counter on a busy New Years Eve morning and was served a mountain of food that was literally falling off the plate. The waitresses were efficient and oh so friendly. From the old time waffle maker to the spinning order ticket holder on the kitchen shelf this place was homey and fun.

Lest I forget, the food was fantastic.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    29
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bloomington, IL
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“So glad to see comfort food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We usually go to the Village Grille, but decided to stop here instead (heard is owned by same people?) and were so glad we did! We were craving "comfort food" after being on the road for 1 1/2 weeks. We sat at an outdoor table and loved watching the activites of Carlsbad go by. I ordered turkey, mashed potatoes, gravy, bread, salad (with iceburg lettuce - I love the "greens" we had eaten everywhere else, but nice to have some iceburg for a change!). It was soooo good and lots of food - doggie bag! My husband opted for breakfast food and had the french toast and red potatoes. Said they were excellent as well. We will definitely be putting this little restaurant on our list of places to go each year for a reminder of home.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Found an open table outside and were greeted by a busboy right away. Place was crowded but our waitress was attentive. Food was cooked just as we asked, and the pancakes were especially good. Will definetly return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We spend a month every year in Carlsbad and this is the first place we go. The breakfast is delicious, old favorites plus several out of the ordinary selections and the hash browns are crispy on the outside and creamy tender on the inside. Their salsa is homemade, biscuits are light and fluffy, and they use quality sausage and bacon.

If you aren't in the mood for breakfast, I would suggest the hamburger, diner style, cooked perfect and juicy. The wait staff is amazing and you can tell they love what they do. Go to Carlsbad Village and check it out. I promise you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous for Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stopped here for breakfast and glad we did! Their biscuits & gravy were delicious, pancakes made my mouth water for more, and I never saw the bottom of my coffee mug. Service was friendly and fast. We'll definitely stop here again. Come early to beat the line!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don's Country Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Don's Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don's Country Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.