We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don's Country Kitchen

Don's Country Kitchen
2885 Roosevelt St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-1620
760-729-2274
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 265 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $8
Cuisines: American, International, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Kids (3&5) ate all of their meal, what more can I say. The wife and I had trouble deciding because everthing sounded great and we were not disappointed.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    30
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We found this restaurant on Yelp while vacationing in Carlsbad. It had great reviews so we decided to skip the overpriced hotel breakfast buffet and check it out. I'm so thankful we did because our family loved the food and the prices! The biscuit's and gravy are fantastic. Everything was fresh and the staff was friendly. We liked is so much we went back the second day.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Best Local Eatery for Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a local hangout for a good hearty breakfast. Nothing fancy. Just good home style cooking. If you're a tourist and are looking for good value and good food -this is a great place. Expect to wait for a seat during tourist season.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We ate here twice for breakfast while vacationing in the area. This is a small family owned restaurant that is a nice change of pace from the "chain" breakfast restaurants. The food is great and you get very generous portions. The staff is also very nice and courteous.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I recently spent a week in Carlsbad and ate breakfast at Don's three times. The Zorba Scramble was excellent with lots of feta, spinach, tomato and onion. It's a local version of a Greek omelet and I loved it. If you're looking for a very casual local diner with good service and great breakfast selections make sure you visit Don's.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don's Country Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Don's Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don's Country Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.