We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful special occasion dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vigilucci's Seafood and Steakhouse

Vigilucci's Seafood and Steakhouse
3878 Carlsbad Boulevard, Carlsbad, CA 92009
760-434-2580
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vigilucci's Seafood and Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 282 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Tamarack Ave.
Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful special occasion dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The food was excellent, very well prepared,and beautifully presented. We had a terrific server, who accommodated our special requests. I had the risotto special, with blue nosed sea bass-- superb! This was a celebration dinner in honor of our granddaughter's engagement, and the whole evening was perfect. The filet mignon was cooked to perfection, and extremely tender. Both pasta dishes got rave reviews as well. We will definitely return, perhaps for lunch, to enjoy the ocean view.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    57
    17
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“OK place but too many other options to exhaust before returning (if ever)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Mahi Mahi was NOT fresh. Salmon was a very small portion. Ahi Poke salad was not as stated on the menu. Misleading!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not an enjoyable evening”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Arrived at about 7:00 PM and asked to be seated. We were informed that there are not there are not any tables available for that evening without a reservations. Although, I noticed that throughout the evening there were several empty tables which remained emty the rest of the night. The hostess suggested that we can try the bar area wich was not large enough to accomodate 3 of us specially at a very small table not even large enough for two. We were in the way of servers and could not sit in the bar area.

We were then offerred to sit outside in a patio in a cold night. Although patio heaters were on it was not much of a help; specially the unit for our table shut off and it took 20 minutes to light it back up. This was after notifying our waitress, busboy and hostess.

Food was nothing special either. Lobster and crab was over-cooked and required quite a bit of chewing. Meatballs were hard and over-cooked.

The price were high specially for the quality of food served

Overall, display of attitude is as such that they are doing you a favor if they by offering a mediocre food at high prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Dinner with a view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The food was excellent and the location was beautiful. Maurizio was a great server. We booked our reservation thru open table and received a couple extras.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE SKILLS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

There was like 7-8 vacant tables inside,we expected to be seated. Hostess, and manager prompted us in back room or patio. Unable to sit outside, room in back like closet . We informed staff we know all these empty tables couldn't possibly be reserved, and that its more important to accommodate a customer, than for them to walk out and loose the business, and get a bad rap. Staff and manager rude,inconsiderate, said NO, so we left. Guess we deserved that treatment, since we never heard that many good things about a overpriced restaurant . Encourage owner, management to learn skills , how to deal with the public

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vigilucci's Seafood and Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Vigilucci's Seafood and Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vigilucci's Seafood and Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.