We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful European Market and Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tip Top Meats

Tip Top Meats
6118 Paseo Del Norte, Carlsbad, CA 92008
760-438-2620
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 276 restaurants in Carlsbad
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Delicatessen, German, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Dessert
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful European Market and Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

They have many European meats and items for sale in the Market. We love the restaurant and all of the foods are very good. Especially the Big John Breakfast which includes all of the breakfast meats you want,eggs, potatoes and toast. We love the Brakwrust and sausages and usually get seconds on those, but the ham and bacon are also great.

We have had sandwiches from there and also the lunch and dinner plates are very large for the price and we can never finish them so we take leftovers home for the next day.

Good food, great place to eat, but you might have to wait in line to get in and get a table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    152
    71
    23
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“St. Patrick's Week Specials”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Realizing that St. Pattys is nearly here, went to Tip Top's to have their special - a substantial helping of corned beef, new boiled potatoes, baby carrots, a wedge of cabbage and a rool for $9.98. Loved it all. everything was tender, but not overdone. I'll be back to try the other specials including Irish stew and corned beef sandwich. Loved that corned beef.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossian, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This little place is a must! The employees are so friendly. The food - delicious and what a value! We actually ate there on three different occasions during our 10 day stay. Loved it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Classic German Food and More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal, with all the sides you would expect in Munchen. Huge portions, not for those who aren't hungry. the store has the best selection of German dry goods and meat that I have seen in the US.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Center, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique, authentic German restaurant and store”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Been going here forever. The best dinner plates... Sausages, prime rib, burgers, sandwiches are fantastic. Don't forget to buy some German chocolate on the way out and a bone for the dog,♥

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tip Top Meats also viewed

 

Been to Tip Top Meats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tip Top Meats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.