We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bra boende till billigt pris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
751 Raintree Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Karlskrona, Sweden
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bra boende till billigt pris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were realy satisfied with this hotel, would have stayed longer if we knew it was this nice.
The personal was pleasant and helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious with comfortable beds.
Good breakfast with many choices

Also recommended for families with older children.

Room Tip: Be personalen direkt om era önskemål. De är oerhört hjälpsamma
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRManager751, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Gripentekla-

Thank you for selecting this hotel during your recent visit to Carlsbad...

We appreciate your feedback and are pleased you had a wonderful stay.

We wish you would have stayed longer and are welcome back the next time you visit Carlsbad.

Our mission is to provide excellent service and value to our guests and we are delighted that staff service, room condition & cleanliness, and the ExpressStart breakfast all exceeded your expectations.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

Sid Gandhi
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    5
    6
    8
See reviews for
36
13
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trabuco Canyon, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Good amenities and convenient location at the right price! Location was very convenient to my conference that was being held at a higher priced resort nearby. This fit my budget nicely. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRManager751, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for selecting this hotel during your recent visit to Carlsbad. We are excited that you had a great time at the hotel and appreciate your review.

We learn from our guests suggestions and critiques as we want to offer the best service and product in the market.

If you visit the area again, we do hope you will choose the Holiday Inn Express Carlsbad Beach again!

Thank you,

Sid Gandhi
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had a great experience here! From the free breakfast to the clean rooms, this hotel was more than adequate. The staff was helpful and the check in and check out process was simple and easy. We were able to purchase an extra discounted Legoland ticket at the front desk. All in all, a great stay. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRManager751, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Serendipityetc-

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Carlsbad. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you had a wonderful time during your time at the hotel and visiting the local attractions.

We are thrilled that all aspects of your stay at the hotel were great! If there is anything you would like us to improve on, please let us know, as we rely on guest feedback more than anything else.

We look forward to hosting you and your family the next time you visit Carlsbad!

Thank you,

Sid Gandhi
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here during spring break. A farely new hotel that seemed unorganized as they were short on staff at our arrival, or at least that is what we were told. When we arrived, we could not check in early- but they did swipe my cc. We had to sit out in the parking lot for 3 hours, since the room wasn't ready and we were not allowed to use the pool while waiting. I thought this was strange and inhospitable... so we waited. Then, when check in time came, we approached the front desk to officially check in, where they asked AGAIN for our cc. What we didn't know, was that we had been charged twice for our 2 night stay.... that would lead to many hours of me being on the phone to my bank- so that we would have enough money to finish the end of our vacation. Like I said, the rooms were very clean and nice. Very small, but the modernness and cleanliness made up for the size. But, although the room was nice- we were so frustrated about our bank situation from being double charged- that we decided to leave early and check into the buena park location for our second night. I will say that this hotel did what they could to try to get our funds back on our account, once everyone was checked in and the business died... but the hospitality at this place was still missing. I am hoping that once they hire a few more people and are trained more, that they do not make mistakes (like checking in someone twice) and offer a bit more hospitality, like offering use of the pool when a room's not quite ready. every little thing makes a big difference.

Room Tip: do not plan on showing up a minute early for check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRManager751, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Jhmom-

Thank you for selecting our new hotel during your recent visit to Carlsbad.

You are 100% right that you and your family should have been granted pool access while waiting for your guest room to be ready. We apologize for that and also that you had to wait some hours to check in until check-in time, which can be the case when we are sold out the night prior.

Also, the double billing was an error that should have never happened. The staff is being trained on a continual basis and these type of errors will be eradicated with experience or re-hiring. This should not have happened to you and result in the inconveniences that you incurred during your stay and we apologize for this as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My family and I thought that this hotel, due to its location close to the beach, would have to host excellent service to beat all the competition. Unfortunately, I was wrong. The cost was high for what I recieved. The staff was rude, unhelpful, and more interested in socializing with their friends than staying alert on their job. My room was small and equipped with the worst furniture. The drawers always stayed open and would not close. The fridge had no temperature control and was freezing all the food. I complained, but the front desk did not respond to my request. Though my visit was riddled with errors, my room was clean and sanitary.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRManager751, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Klara K-

Thank you for staying at our new hotel during your recent visit to Carlsbad.

We apologize that you did not have an exemplary stay at the hotel. We are continually training the front desk staff and believe we now have a staff that is 100 percent guest-centric. We also have found a solution to the drawers opening. We do apologize for that inconvenience and also the fridge being set to cold. Maintenance is now being trained to make sure room fridges are not set beyond "normal" settings and to replace fridges if need be.

Without your valuable feedback, we cannot grow as a hotel. We take your comments seriously and will tackle the problems you mentioned until we get it right. I do hope that you can give us another opportunity to provide you with an excellent stay.

Sid Gandhi
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My family and I stayed here for one night on our way to Legoland. It is in close proximity to the park so this is a plus
We arrived late and were given a room with a king-sized bed, rather than the two-room suite that we had reserved by phone. When we called the front desk they said that our room reservation came through their system as a regular room. They said the hotel was sold out and they could not change our room. This was frustrating for us.
The room was average but the bathroom was disgusting! The baseboards were covered in dirt and filth and the shower had mold and mildew around the shower door. The wall around the outside of the shower had water stains. The whole shower area needed to be scrubbed and painted.
Breakfast is average. Very crowded in the dining area with limited seating. We had to take our food back to our room.
I was glad we only stayed one night. I would have changed hotels if we were in the area any longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRManager751, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for selecting our hotel and we apologize for the unsatisfactory visit you had with us. We will make sure that staff pays more attention to details in the bathroom and will continue to work on easing the traffic flow in the breakfast area due to the very busy nature of the hotel. Thank you for your feedback and we will work to rectify these and any other issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 7 days while attending the San Diego Jazz fest at the Omni La Costa Resort. The location of the hotel was great for easy access to the freeway. We stayed in room 217 which was quiet and comfortable . I had to call maintenance due to sink stopper not working and it was quickly repaired. For some unknown reason our shower door came off the track a couple of times, I guess we are stronger than we look. It is within walking distance to beach. I'm not a huge fan of hotel breakfast but did use it to grab some coffee. The room did have a window that opened slightly for safety concerns, but we found if necessary to keep air on. If in the area again I would most definitely stay again

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRManager751, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for selecting our new hotel and for your feedback. We are delighted that our location was near the resort you needed to go to.

We do apologize for the inconvenience you incurred with the shower door and we will work to make sure this issue gets resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach

Address: 751 Raintree Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.