We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
751 Raintree Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
OK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a great new HIE for the area. It is directly off I5 & Poinsettia, it is brand new construction not a remodel. It is walking distance to the beach. I am a business traveler so I have stayed in hundreds of hotels, this is the nicest HIE I have stayed in, in a long time. I was traveling with family and stayed for a week. They have the standard breakfast but with more tables and booths to sit down so you are not waiting for a table. They have a nice pool which is not heated but was warm enough to swim in. They have a Jacuzzi, very nice outdoor seating, a cabana, way more upscale than that of any other HIE's and it is on the south side of the building so the sun hits the pool all day. The staff (Amber and the daytime staff) went out of their way to make my stay great. The city turned off the water for a few hours but the hotel offered to buy a room elsewhere just so I could shower for an important event. We stayed in an executive 2 bed suite which was spacious enough for 6 people. The sleeper sofa has its own tv and space. very nice.

Room Tip: easy access to highway, about 20 minutes north of San Diego. Easy travel to Oceanside, Encinitas, Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sid g, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your week-long stay at the new hotel.

When designing the property, we definitely wanted there to be more than sufficient space for our guests to enjoy breakfast and to avoid overcrowding.

We are pleased that you enjoyed relaxing out by the pool area

We are fortunate to have Amber as part of our team and she goes all out to make sure every guest enjoys their stay.

Thank you again and we hope to see you the next time you visit Carlsbad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    22
    6
    6
    8
See reviews for
39
14
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

During my recent stay I did encounter a few challenges. The staff members Karen and Amber were exceptional in handling the glitches with my room type and amenities. They were exceptional
In working together to make things right. Upon my departure the fire alarms were going off and the
fire department had arrived. Some guests were concerned and again these staff members handled
It in a calm and professional manner to ensure each guests safety. This hotel is really nice and in a great location. I hope to return soon!!

Room Tip: I saw a few different rooms and they were all very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sid g, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for the review.Also, thank you for understanding that there are always minor glitches that can occur upon opening and for keeping patience during the time when the fire alarms went off.

We are extremely lucky and pleased to have Karen and Amber among our team.

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Gabrielle took such good care if my every need in a friendly and professional manner. Printed off specific directions, assigned me to an executive king instead of doubles, acknowledged me as a platinum guest, arranged late check out. Welcomed my visiting local family as they wanted to see me before I left. All with a smile. Oh yes, I lost my key twice. No problem.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sid g, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words....We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. I have relayed your kind comments to Gabrielle and she is very thankful.

Thank you again and we hope to see you next time your are in Carlsbad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a trip to Lego Land. Great area, walk to the beach and shopping. Great happy hour at the Benehanas next door. We were the first ones to stay in their new rooms and it was very well done. Would recommend it to anyone coming to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sid g, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your comments and feedback. We hope to see you next time you visit Carlsbad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

A few glitches aside (this is a brand new hotel), this is an excellent place to stay. The staff is excellent...friendly, helpful, etc. Location is great, just off I5, with nearby shopping and restaurants. Good pricing too!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sid g, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your valued response and feedback. Also, thank you for understanding that with the opening of a new property, there are some small items to iron out, which we are diligently working on resolving.

Nonetheless, I am pleased that you and your traveling party enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you next time you visit Carlsbad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach

Address: 751 Raintree Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Despegar.com, IHG, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.