We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the food but skip the wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Armenian Cafe

Armenian Cafe
3126 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008-2908
760-720-2233
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 259 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Greek, Armenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: INDOOR & OUTDOOR OCEAN VIEW DINING - HEATED OUTDOOR PATIOS - LIVE ENTERTAINMENT AND BELLY DANCING ON THE WEEKENDS
Manhattan Beach, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enjoy the food but skip the wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Would give this place a 3.5 if that rating were possible. We liked the lemon soup and the lamb shish kabobs were also good. The service was friendly and fast. On the down side, the house wine is not good and the wine selection is very overpriced.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    85
    19
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim Hills, California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We sat outside as the weather was beautiful. Had a seat overlooking the main street with the ocean in the background. My husband likes lamb so he ordered the lamb pita while I ordered the chicken pita. Taste is out of this world with their own house garlic sauce. We asked for the home fries as our side which is actually fried potato cubes but seasoned just right. Service has always been excellent on all our visits.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hmmm...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Either we did not order the right foods or this isn't what it appears to be. The Armenian coffee was either fake or just terrible in comparison to Turkish coffee, and the middle eastern breakfast items were not good. Eggs and potatoes were good and great value, I guess we should have ordered the Cinnamon roll, go figure it is an Armenian cafe ?

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pretty bad, actually”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This restaurant in Carlsbad offers Armenian and Mediterranean food with outdoor dining right across from the ocean beaches. Sounds great, but our experience was that it wasn't even good. The food was, well, odd tasting and since I'm half Greek it didn't have to do with any unfamiliarity with Mediterranean cuisine. Our dinner started with a soup that had a distant lemony flavor pretty much lost in the saltiness, and chunks of something that looked like it was curdled, followed by chicken kabobs (which were okay) and then the classic baklava dessert which looked like a few chunks of dried left-overs. The waiter, and presumably owner, seated us and gave us time to scour the menu. We both requested chicken dishes but after several seconds he informed us they were out of chicken. We both picked up the menus to try to quickly find an alternative and, after giving us a bit of time to look, he informed us he was just kidding about being out of chicken. It didn't come across as funny but weird. We ate the kabobs and pretty much left the rest. Everything had kind of a distant lemon, salty taste. There are a lot of decent restaurants, similarly priced, in Carlsbad and I would recommend any of them as an alternative.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Saturday Evening Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Had a lovely dinner here on a Saturday evening a couple weeks ago. I was quickly seated on the outdoor patio. Service was excellent and the food was delicious. I ordered a pomegranate martini and the beef kabobs. I also ordered the roasted smoked eggplant spread with pita bread which was also also delicious. The beef kabobs were cooked to perfection (med rare) and were served with a mediterranean pilaf, veggies and humuus spread. My meal was outstanding. The cafe has a great mediterranean vibe and that evening there was a belly dancer who was very entertaining and provided a festive atmosphere, from my seat it appeared everyone was enjoying the show - lots of smiles and laughter. The Armenian Cafe is a great way to spend a Saturday evening and after your delicous meal walk along the beach!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armenian Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Armenian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armenian Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.