We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Disneyland hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LEGOLAND California Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added LEGOLAND California Hotel to your Saves list
LEGOLAND California Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5885 The Crossings Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Family Packages!
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than Disneyland hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Just finished a three night stay. We stayed on the third floor -an Adventure themed family suite ( room 3056). I can't begin to say how amazing! The room was spacious, well appointed, beautifully cleaned each day and above all a blast for our four kids! The hotel has a yummy buffet with a section at kid-level so they can serve themselves. The adult section was great too with plenty of variety. Our favorite part was the elevator! I won't tell you why so it can be a great surprise. The kids also had a blast at the pool. During an afternoon break from the park we went down to the pool. The pool is filled with floating Lego bricks so you can make a raft. If that's not fun enough the lifeguards were great too. They played red light/green light and lifeguard "says" plus other fun pool games with all the kids. If I had one thing I could change it would be the pool hours. It is open until 10 pm. With a room right above the pool and two babies who go to bed at 8:00 it was exhausting at times to hear screams and lifeguard whistles until then. This hotel is so worth the money. Would go back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    267
    81
    30
    26
See reviews for
599
Couples
0
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Family day vacation. The hotel is very nice decorative, but very small. The night entertainment was so-so. The premium room nice decoration, but very expensive. The pool is very small. My 10 year old and 7 year old loved there own room space with TV.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed at Leggoland Carlsbad on 9th July, 2013. Booked a Pirate theme room for $450. Room comprised a Double and bunks which were clearly not made. The treasure hunt has still not been fixed by Hotel which has been a problem for some time. Room was overall neat however there appeared substantial wear and tear for the age of the room. Our Autistic son locked his bag in a safe on the floor which required Hotel assistance as he was very distressed. This took 45 min and a number of phone calls which seemed unreasonable. Our room was at least a 5 min walk from the Elavator which was very cool. Upon checking out we waited 51 minutes for the Bell Hop which never arrived so we dragged our own bags down to the lobby. Complained about a number of issues and had some money reimbursed for our unsatisfaction. In hindsight wish we had never gone here and spent the cash at DL. Leggoland feels like Disneys poor cousin....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Spent three nights at the Legoland hotel with my sister and her two 4-year-old boys. We had a blast, and can't wait to return. But we will wait until the off season when it's not so crowded and pricey, and to give the hotel's staff a chance to improve.

First pro: a really high fun factor: The kids were thrilled with the pirate-themed room, particularly the separate kids' area with bunk beds and their own TV. They never got tired of running through the hallways, riding in the disco elevator, and playing in the Lego pit in the lobby. Honestly, I think they would have been happy spending all day at the hotel.

Second major pro: the convenience of being steps away from the Legoland entrance and getting early access to some of the rides was huge. This allowed us to maximize our time enjoying the attractions and minimize our time waiting in line. The hotel's location also made it easy to return in the afternoon for a nap, then go back to the park later for a few more hours. (We returned each day around 5 p.m., just as the crowds started leaving.)

Some cons: the price is steep (we paid over $300/night). But for us, it was worth it because we wanted to go to the hotel during its first season. Another con is that the rooms are small and feel a little cramped. That queen bed seemed particularly small, so much in fact that I chose to sleep on the trundle bed and let my sister have the other bed to herself. We also had some issues with the front staff. First, during check-in the receptionist said she'd give us our park vouchers, but when we got to the room we realized they weren't there, so we had to make another trip to the front desk. Then, on our last night, we called to get our safe opened, after my nephew accidentally locked it. The first time we called, they said they'd send someone right away. After 45 minutes, we phoned again and were told a manager would be notified right away. About 20-30 minutes later, we made a third call to tell them to forget it, that we were going to bed and would take care of it in the morning. When we called in the the morning, a staff member responded within minutes. Not sure why the evening staff was so unresponsive.

A few more comments: We had the breakfast buffet every morning and always found something we liked. Even though it was crowded, we never had to wait in line. In the evening, we ate in the Skyline Cafe, which had a fun atmosphere, but was hit or miss both in terms of service and food. Sometimes the wait for the elevator was long, but we just took the stairs instead. If you're looking for Lego souvenirs, skip the hotel's store and go to the ones in the park.

Room Tip: Some other reviewers complained about the long walks down the hallways to their rooms, but the farth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My 10-year-old son & 8-year-old daughter loved it here! They were so sad to leave, that they asked me to take lots of pictures of them in the hotel, so they could remember it. The breakfast and dinner buffets were amazing! Even better than the Embassy Suites buffets... and those are great! The kids loved the separate Kids Explorers room with bunk beds and their own TV. They have breakfast and theme park packages available with your hotel reservation that are good deals... be sure to ask about them. And the staff were very helpful and friendly. And the air conditioning was quiet... most hotels have loud fans that blow when the A/C comes on. But here, it was quiet and cool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel is the place to go for a family vacation. The attention to detail is amazing, we did a 13 day road trip and I think the best food, best time and best family fun was at the Legoland Hotel.

We had the bad luck of our AC going in the car and had to take it in to the local dealership to get fixed. The concierge at the Legoland Hotel went out of his way to help me get back to the dealership and pick it up which was fantastic.

The room was clean, and incredibly decorated. The shower was great!

Room Tip: The buffet and the Skyline Cafe are both incredible, I can't wait to go back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I have to say we had a wonderful time during our stay at this hotel. Thank you so much Rebecca Hackney for all of your help with our reservation. You added so much to make our family vacation perfect. We cannot wait to go back again next year.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.6 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#28 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
3.5 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LEGOLAND California Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LEGOLAND California Hotel

Address: 5885 The Crossings Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — LEGOLAND California Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've always wanted to spend the night at LEGOLAND. Now you can. Treat your family to the ultimate LEGO(R) experience - a day at LEGOLAND(R) California Resort and a night at the LEGOLAND Hotel! From the moment you arrive at the spectacular dragon-guarded entrance, you'll be delighted by interactive LEGO features, themed play areas, family pool and kid's entertainment! Located right at the main entrance of LEGOLAND California, a stay at our LEGO themed hotel will turn a day you'll always remember into a night you'll never forget! All 250 guest rooms are themed, so your family can choose from one of three popular LEGO lines - Pirate, Kingdom or Adventure. Rooms include two separate sleeping areas, with a king-size bed for grown-ups, and a separate area for up to three little ones, complete with a bunk bed, pull-out trundle bed and their very own TV! As a special privilege, LEGOLAND Hotel guests will get entry to select LEGOLAND rides and attractions before the Park officially opens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TravelClick and getaroom.com so you can book your LEGOLAND California Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LEGOLAND California Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.