We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlsbad State Beach

Carlsbad State Beach
Carlsbad Blvd. and Hwy 101, Carlsbad, CA 92008
760-438-3143
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 Attractions in Carlsbad
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This nearly five-mile stretch of beach is popular with families but also draws surfers and skin divers to the water and runners and cyclists to the boulevard bordering the beach.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

our hotel/resort is right across the road. Sandy, lots of space and clean. no rocky shoreline but great to play in the surf

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    137
    27
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Clean beach. Hard to find parking though. I didn't see any bathrooms, but my dad found some not too far away.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful, lovely walk.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Long, great waves, many places to park. Close to town and easy to drive to from Carlsbad. Fairly clean. No concessions thought, and restrooms are a long distance apart. But at least they have some!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“January at the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I only wanted to walk a few minutes at the beach they let me park for free it was 84 in January--the beach is beautiful, lots of stairs to get down to it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

i go to this beach often its one of my favorite spots. Good swell for Surf, Boogie boarding or hanging out.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlsbad State Beach also viewed

 

Been to Carlsbad State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlsbad State Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.