We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Mexican Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garcia's Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Garcia's Mexican Restaurant
2968 State Street, Carlsbad, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 260 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kuna, Idaho
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice Little Mexican Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The food was moderately priced and tasted authentic.The atmosphere was nice as we ate out on the patio in 70 degree weather. Located near lot of other neat shops you can check out before or after you are done eating.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“The real thing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

In a town full of "Mexican" food, it's a thrill to know where to find the authentic restaurants. Garcia's is small and sparse (although interesting photos all around). The food more than makes up for the "not so fancy" ambience, and the pricing makes it even more enjoyable. When shopping Carlsbad, it's fun to sit outside on the sidewalk, but be aware that they can't serve alcohol out there. This place has been around forever, in the same family, and their formula for success has apparently been to keep it real. A good choice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Mexican in Carlsbad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a great local spot for dinner or lunch. The staff is friendly ans informative. The pricing is moderate the portions on the large side. The menu is filled with traditional foods not always found in local restaurants.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awesome Mexican experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I found the menu overwhelming but I'm told that it was a smaller menu in comparison to other restaurants, the waiter was however patient and helpful. There were four of us so we shared 4 plates and a salad. We all came away with a takeaway container as there was SO much food. It was all tasty and delicious, even the seafood dish (I'm always suspect of ordering seafood). If you're a Mexican food fanatic you may not love this place, but as someone who hasn't experienced much Mexican it was a perfect introduction.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good But Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife & I had dinner with a friend who likes this place. When the waiter came for our food order I said I was thinking of trying something with mole sauce and he immediately left and returned with a small bowl of it for me to sample. Both the wait service and food service were very prompt. Our food was good, but not exceptional. The Margaritas were good, bordering on very good.

I should point out that living in New Mexico my wife & prefer the New Mexican style of Mexican cooking and that may affect my perception of other styles of Mexican food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garcia's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Garcia's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garcia's Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.