We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic rooms and employees” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Super Beach Package!
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic rooms and employees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Rooms were extremely comfortable. All the employees we encountered were very nice. Restaurant recommendations, free stuffed animal for our granddaughter, just kind people. Stayed at multiple hotels during our California site seeing trip, and this was by far the best

Room Tip: Check out various websites for best prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Kerry LP, thank you for your recent review. It was nice to hear that our property was your favorite place during your recent trip to California. Also, a special thank you for mentioning the staff at the property. They are a special group who care deeply about our guests. Be sure to come out again this summer to enjoy some of our seasonal offerings .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    125
    38
    13
    6
See reviews for
230
176
13
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My family and I stayed here during a recent visit to Legoland. It was ideal for us because we weren't too close to the park, so when we came back to the hotel, we felt like we had a resort-like experience and were able to escape the craziness of the legoland. However, they did offer us a free shuttle to and from the park each day. The pool was beautiful and the beach across the street was one of the most gorgeous I've ever seen. You will love it here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel after a day at Legoland, but the kids enjoyed being at the hotel so much we could have just spent all of our time there and they would have been just as happy! It is ideally located directly in front of the ocean, while still being close to attractions and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The pool area is nice and clean, and the icing on the cake was the "movie on the lawn" they provided on Friday and Saturday night with blankets provided and all! We had a great time here and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Carlsbad last week during our Spring Break vacation to Southern California. It was our first time staying at the resort and we absolutely loved it! As frequent travelers, we've stayed all over the world and this hotel really impressed both my husband and I. Our kids loved the hotel and heated saltwater pool and the restaurant. We requested an upgrade to a full ocean view suite and the hotel provided a complimentary upgrade. The suite was absolutely beautiful and included two sleeping areas, two bathrooms, a refrigerator, and a full balcony. It was LOVELY! The Chandlers restaurant had great food too. I have never written a review of a hotel but I had to write one about this hotel. We loved it and we will definitely be back but to stay even longer! Thank you Hilton.

Room Tip: Ask for the upgrade -- you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

They took 100,000 miles for two nights and it is a poor value
They gave us a room and the view is the air conditioners on the roof
I am canceling my hilton honors membership and donating the balance of 40,000 points to charity
I will also cancel my American Express card linked to hilton as this is not a special hotel and poor value and definitely not worth even half of these points
I am done with hilton
Sheraton has better value for way less points

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, UT
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This property lived up to my expectations and beyond. I will definitely stay there again and plan on taking my family next time!
Positives
- VERY close to the beach. It is right across highway 1. You literally cross the street and walk down the stairs and you are there
- Sunset views are amazing. You can see them from the pool or if you have a balcony room
- Hotel is very clean, well lit, nice furniture, etc. It is a very comfortable place to be.
- Hotel staff is nice and helpful
- Conveniently located to lots of places like restaurants, mall, beach, Carlsbad village, etc
- Pool area is perfect. Great pool and hot tub, also has chairs by the fire place and close to the bar to get drinks. Towels were always available
- Rooms were quiet. We stayed on the side facing the highway and still slept just fine
- This hotel has the BEST curtains for blocking out light which may not seem like a big deal but is huge to me

Negatives
- The only reason this is not rated excellent is because of the resort and parking fees. I hate when hotel properties do this. We had pre-payed to get a better rate. When we left, we still had a bill for $34 a day for the parking and resort fees. I'm sure we were told about these when we pre-booked, but still annoying. Just include it in the fees.

That being said, I would still stay here again. It was a great place and we really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Book a 3rd floor balcony room if available. DEFINITELY WORTH THE EXTRA MONEY
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We are spoiled because we really enjoy getting away to Carlsbad and this is one of our favorite places. The hotel is very modern, the pool is gorgeous and the service is excellent! Since we are Gold members we get the breakfast buffet in the morning and eating eggs and sausage while staring at the ocean is priceless. The rooms are a little pricey but try to upgrade to a full ocean view. Also the street noise is loud during the day but it really quiets down in the evening so you can sleep with your door open.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping views of crystal beaches and the Pacific Ocean atop a series of gently rolling berms in sunny Southern California, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is the destination for luxury. The Resort features 215 expansive guest rooms and suites, the full-service Ocean Crest Spa and world-class dining at Chandler’s Restaurant & Lounge. Guests can enjoy a variety of amenities including an ocean view swimming pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, and over 25,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor banquet facilities. With easy access to miles of beach, recreational activities like surfing, fishing and water sports are readily available. For families, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is a short drive to LEGOLAND California, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo Safari Park and Disneyland California. As well, the resort is minutes from Palomar Airport and less than a 45-minute drive from San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.