We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying here with hilton miles” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spa and Stay Package!
Ranked #5 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Staying here with hilton miles”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

They took 100,000 miles for two nights and it is a poor value
They gave us a room and the view is the air conditioners on the roof
I am canceling my hilton honors membership and donating the balance of 40,000 points to charity
I will also cancel my American Express card linked to hilton as this is not a special hotel and poor value and definitely not worth even half of these points
I am done with hilton
Sheraton has better value for way less points

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    107
    30
    11
    5
See reviews for
194
152
13
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orem, UT
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This property lived up to my expectations and beyond. I will definitely stay there again and plan on taking my family next time!
Positives
- VERY close to the beach. It is right across highway 1. You literally cross the street and walk down the stairs and you are there
- Sunset views are amazing. You can see them from the pool or if you have a balcony room
- Hotel is very clean, well lit, nice furniture, etc. It is a very comfortable place to be.
- Hotel staff is nice and helpful
- Conveniently located to lots of places like restaurants, mall, beach, Carlsbad village, etc
- Pool area is perfect. Great pool and hot tub, also has chairs by the fire place and close to the bar to get drinks. Towels were always available
- Rooms were quiet. We stayed on the side facing the highway and still slept just fine
- This hotel has the BEST curtains for blocking out light which may not seem like a big deal but is huge to me

Negatives
- The only reason this is not rated excellent is because of the resort and parking fees. I hate when hotel properties do this. We had pre-payed to get a better rate. When we left, we still had a bill for $34 a day for the parking and resort fees. I'm sure we were told about these when we pre-booked, but still annoying. Just include it in the fees.

That being said, I would still stay here again. It was a great place and we really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Book a 3rd floor balcony room if available. DEFINITELY WORTH THE EXTRA MONEY
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We are spoiled because we really enjoy getting away to Carlsbad and this is one of our favorite places. The hotel is very modern, the pool is gorgeous and the service is excellent! Since we are Gold members we get the breakfast buffet in the morning and eating eggs and sausage while staring at the ocean is priceless. The rooms are a little pricey but try to upgrade to a full ocean view. Also the street noise is loud during the day but it really quiets down in the evening so you can sleep with your door open.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Very clean, new Hilton property. Service is excellent, especially Danielle in the restaurant. She made the three of us feel very welcome, suggesting places to go for dinner and even calling ahead to ensure they'd be open.

Location is close enough to Disney, Legoland and Sea World to use as your scenic home base. Laguna Beach is close by if you want to see how the 0.001% live. Wow.

Rooms are big with great beds. Housekeeping does an excellent job. P&G products on the cleaning cart. The restaurant offered a great breakfast. Dinner looked good but we didn't eat there.

Saw both business travellers and families with kids.

The beach is across the street in a beautiful setting. Really nice hotel. You should try it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Jonathan, at the front desk, made our first impression of the hotel an excellent one. He gave us suggestions for eating and helped with many questions. The facility was great. We ate the complimentary breakfast, which was excellent, and had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant that evening. We were celebrating a birthday and a retirement and for our dessert the waiter wrote in chocolate on the plates "happy birthday" and "happy retirement"! We were impressed!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Very nice hotel. Lived up to all that is expected from a Hilton property. Convenient to the beach. Pool was comfortble even in 50 degree weather. Front desk staff was very helpful. Grounds were beautiful. Restaurant was nice but menu seemed limited.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middleton, wisconsin
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We enjoyed 4 nights at the Oceanfront resort. My husband stays here frequently for business and is sometimes offered an ocean view room at no extra charge. We were hoping for that upgrade while traveling for spring break but since we would have been charged an additional $40/night for the ocean or pool view, we chose to keep the room with a courtyard view (parking lot). The room was very comfortable, extremely quiet, and conveniently located near the exercise room, pool, and hotel lobby. The hotel has a beautiful lobby, very nice business seating area with 3-4 Mac computers available for guest use. Complementary coffee is available each morning. There is a hotel shuttle available to drive guests within a 10 mile radius of the hotel (Lego Land, Carlsbad Village, Encinitas). The resort charges $15/day as a resort fee in addition to your room charge but if you take advantage of the shuttle, it seems reasonable. The hotel has a lovely saltwater pool heated to 83 degrees which we enjoyed as the outdoor temp was in the low 60s. We also enjoyed sitting by the out door fire pits located around the pool. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. They accommodated us eating lunch out by the pool one day even though there was no outdoor server scheduled. The restaurant staff took care of us and we enjoyed some yummy fish tacos. Breakfast at the hotel was also good. The beach across the street was beautiful and we enjoyed morning walks and playing in the surf.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping views of crystal beaches and the Pacific Ocean atop a series of gently rolling berms in sunny Southern California, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is the destination for luxury. The Resort features 215 expansive guest rooms and suites, the full-service Ocean Crest Spa and world-class dining at Chandler’s Restaurant & Lounge. Guests can enjoy a variety of amenities including an ocean view swimming pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, and over 25,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor banquet facilities. With easy access to miles of beach, recreational activities like surfing, fishing and water sports are readily available. For families, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is a short drive to LEGOLAND California, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo Safari Park and Disneyland California. As well, the resort is minutes from Palomar Airport and less than a 45-minute drive from San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.