We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Front Desk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort to your Saves list
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
So Cal Staycation Package
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Helpful Front Desk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Jonathan, at the front desk, made our first impression of the hotel an excellent one. He gave us suggestions for eating and helped with many questions. The facility was great. We ate the complimentary breakfast, which was excellent, and had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant that evening. We were celebrating a birthday and a retirement and for our dessert the waiter wrote in chocolate on the plates "happy birthday" and "happy retirement"! We were impressed!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    166
    55
    16
    10
See reviews for
310
222
18
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Very nice hotel. Lived up to all that is expected from a Hilton property. Convenient to the beach. Pool was comfortble even in 50 degree weather. Front desk staff was very helpful. Grounds were beautiful. Restaurant was nice but menu seemed limited.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middleton, wisconsin
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We enjoyed 4 nights at the Oceanfront resort. My husband stays here frequently for business and is sometimes offered an ocean view room at no extra charge. We were hoping for that upgrade while traveling for spring break but since we would have been charged an additional $40/night for the ocean or pool view, we chose to keep the room with a courtyard view (parking lot). The room was very comfortable, extremely quiet, and conveniently located near the exercise room, pool, and hotel lobby. The hotel has a beautiful lobby, very nice business seating area with 3-4 Mac computers available for guest use. Complementary coffee is available each morning. There is a hotel shuttle available to drive guests within a 10 mile radius of the hotel (Lego Land, Carlsbad Village, Encinitas). The resort charges $15/day as a resort fee in addition to your room charge but if you take advantage of the shuttle, it seems reasonable. The hotel has a lovely saltwater pool heated to 83 degrees which we enjoyed as the outdoor temp was in the low 60s. We also enjoyed sitting by the out door fire pits located around the pool. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. They accommodated us eating lunch out by the pool one day even though there was no outdoor server scheduled. The restaurant staff took care of us and we enjoyed some yummy fish tacos. Breakfast at the hotel was also good. The beach across the street was beautiful and we enjoyed morning walks and playing in the surf.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

If you are looking for a great place for a couple or for a family with kids to enjoy a pool, the beach and great service, the Hilton Oceanfront in Carlsbad is a great choice. It is close to San Diego and close to great places such as San Juan Capistrano as well as attractions in Los Angeles.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I have to say, I don't normally wrtite reviews unless the experience was a negative one and I don't want anyone to experience something negative. But I was compelled to write about my recent stay there with my daughter last week.

I stayed there last week one night with my daughter for Spring Break. I never had heard of the hotel but knew the area a little so I wanted to stay in the city. This hotel popped up as a choice and with the price/reviews I saw, decided to book it. I'm glad I did.

The staff was very courteous and polite. Ron greeted us in valet and was professional and enjoyable to talk with. Even though I did not use the valet, when I would walk by to get something out of my car in self parking, he remembered my name and said hi each and every time. He offered some great suggestions for local family fun. Ron was a great first impression of the hotel.

Raj greeted us at the check-in desk. Very friendly and courteous. Said the hotel was not a full capacity so upgraded us at no cost to ocean view room. Never asked him to, but he did it beacuse he wanted our first experience at the hotel to be a great one for my daughter and I.
Thank you Raj.

The room was big and clean. Everything was tidy, re-stocked, and organized. Great hotel!!

Room Tip: Get pool view for sure. Ocean room would be the best. Those rooms had balconys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel was conveniently located across from a fun and beautiful beach. The decor was contemporary. The room was ample sized and clean. Everyone was friendly and accommodating. I had an excellent time.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here last weekend for a birthday celebration with a large family and we couldn't have been happier. The property has a terrific view of the ocean, everything is clean and modern, the food in Chandler's was great, and the rooms were spacious & comfortable. Parking was free and conveniently located right next to the hotel. The pool area was clean and the firepits around it made for a charming atmosphere at night.

As others have stated, what will really leave an impression on you is the staff. Each one of them seemed genuinely interested in making sure we were enjoying our time at the hotel. Randy (bartender) and Tamara (waitress at breakfast) were top-notch. Well done, Hilton.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
2.7 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4.7 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#1 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#28 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#4 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.