We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carlsbad Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spa and Stay Package!
Ranked #5 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Carlsbad Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I recently took my family to Carlsbad to go to Legoland and decided to come back to the Oceanfront Hilton. Once again we had a great time. The pool is heated to 83 degrees and we got to enjoy a beautiful sunset. We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    351
    115
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
210
157
13
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

For the money, this hotel is fabulous, great fresh decor, awesome restaurant and bar with a million dollar view. By far my favorite hotel in Southern California. Breakfast was delicious, with great options, creative cocktails at night. Rooms are super comfy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Excellent hotel located a crossed Pacific Coast highway from Carlsbad state beach. The ocean view rooms with balcony are the only option in my mind. We had a non view room and as soon as we got into the room realized that we needed to upgrade. The pool is very family friendly. The breakfast at the hotel is worth skipping unless you just need a bowl of cereal and bacon. Hampton Inn gives you that for free. Overall we loved this place and would come back for sure.

Room Tip: Ocean view room is well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My daughter deserved a much needed break from college and I from the cold. First, let me just say how helpful, professional and kind all of the staff is. We were there during one of the busiest three day week-ends and never had to wait long for anything. Check in and check out was smooth and a shout out to Raj for helping me with my discounts and credits that didn't show up at first on the bill. Food at Chandler's is very good and a pleasant atmosphere. The chefs really know their stuff. Our breakfast waiter is one of the nicest people we've ever met. The dinner menu is expensive but the meal and service is worth every penny. So splurge. The hotel is located next to highway 101 and we had a ocean view room which the balcony is right above this highway. I was concerned that it would be noisy but with the door closed, it was very quiet and I would not trade the sunsets for a different location. We treated ourselves to a massage which was most relaxing and the spa is immaculate. As with most resorts, you will pay dearly to use the spa facility. The ocean is cold and you will want to wear a wet suit this time of year. If you choose, you can walk for miles both direction on the beach, however, in some places, the beach is very rocky so wear good water proof walking shoes. Or take the path provided next to the highway above the beach. This is a beautiful, relaxing and safe place to vacation. Everyone is so nice.

Room Tip: Second and third floors are better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Horrible smoke smell coming threw the vents very early in the morning. If you have allergies beware the smoking rooms are too close to the regular rooms. The view of the ocean is amazing. You have to pay more to get a view of the ocean not all rooms face the water. The ocean is not directly near the hotel it is located across of a busy highway. Rooms were well furnished and the beds were comfortable. Took a very long time to get our room there was a check in time of 4pm and we did not get a room until 6pm. The maid staff was behind.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Our first time to this part of the USA & we could not of chosen a nicer Hotel.
All the staff were as helpful as could be.
A great location to use as a base for exploring the coastline.
Excellent restaurant/bar area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was a great getaway for couples or families. We very much enjoyed our stay and would return again. Food at Chandler's on site was also top notch. Room was nice and spacious, and the staff was friendly. The location is in North County San Diego, so it is a bit away from the action, but it was extremely relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping views of crystal beaches and the Pacific Ocean atop a series of gently rolling berms in sunny Southern California, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is the destination for luxury. The Resort features 215 expansive guest rooms and suites, the full-service Ocean Crest Spa and world-class dining at Chandler’s Restaurant & Lounge. Guests can enjoy a variety of amenities including an ocean view swimming pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, and over 25,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor banquet facilities. With easy access to miles of beach, recreational activities like surfing, fishing and water sports are readily available. For families, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is a short drive to LEGOLAND California, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo Safari Park and Disneyland California. As well, the resort is minutes from Palomar Airport and less than a 45-minute drive from San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.