We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Vacation Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resoirt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resoirt to your Saves list
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resoirt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Easy Breezy Beach Package
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Vacation Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was a great getaway for couples or families. We very much enjoyed our stay and would return again. Food at Chandler's on site was also top notch. Room was nice and spacious, and the staff was friendly. The location is in North County San Diego, so it is a bit away from the action, but it was extremely relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    146
    47
    14
    8
See reviews for
266
206
16
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This hotel is in a residential area close to nearby restaurants and directly across from the beach. The room was updated and felt fresh. I loved the refrigerator and microwave. I hated the fact that it did not have a tub- so much for soaking after a long day at the pool or beach. We enjoyed the onsite restaurant. Everything tasted good. This is a nice hotel. It's a short drive from the San Diego airport and it was easy for us to stay at this hotel even though we had an early flight out. Incidentally, we stayed at this property after staying at two Hilton resorts in Hawai'i. This is really more of a hotel than a resort (no sprawling acres likes the Hilton Waikoloa), but it's a nice, clean, and comfortable hotel. The customer service set this place apart from others. Josh at the valet, the check in staff, and staff at the restaurant were all great and memorable. I would return because of the customer service alone.

Room Tip: Request a bath tub if it's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resoirt, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Nedradc, thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate the gracious comment about the staff and Josh in particular. As you mentioned , it really is about the service in any great hotel or resort. In addition, your feeback about the feel of the property being more of a hotel than a resort in terms of the sprawling grounds is something we are taking to heart as our goal this year is to supplment our activities program to really position the property as a vibrant resort with a lot of options for adults and families. We hope to see you on your next visit to Carlsbad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Wonderful location, directly across from state beach, attentive and friendly staff, music by poolside, fire pits, excellent on-site restaurant and bar, shuttle service provided to nearby restaurants, can't go wrong here for a great get away!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resoirt, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Nancy S, thank you for your recent note posted on Trip Advisor. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed your Valentine's get away . I hope that this becomes an annual tradition !! Having said that, please stay connected to us through our Social Media channels and our newsletters so that we may keep you informed about some unique offers for the upcoming holidays in the Spring and Summer. We would love to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Very convenient location across the street from the ocean. We could watch the sunset from the hotel swimming pool. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast buffet was high quality but not worth price. I would order from the menu next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resoirt, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Nancy S, thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed your Valentine's get away . Please stay connected to us through our Social Media channels and through the website for some special offers for other holidays as we would love to see you again well before next Valentine's Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My reservation was on a corporate account, and the stay was paid in full as the daytime staff reassured me (not only on the first day, but the second and third day as well).

The daytime & nighttime staff were never on the same page, and my experience was haunted by a nighttime manager charging us for expenditures that were already paid for.

When my wife and I came back to our room after spending over $200 in their attached restaurant (with my monies, not charged to the room), the night manager called the room repeatedly, back to back to back calls every 30 minutes.

After being harassed for over an hour, I finally answered informing the night manager his actions were unacceptable. Long story short, my wife and I ran out of patience and decided to leave two days early, even though the hotel reservation was paid in full.

When I tried to leave (at 10:30 PM), the manager threatened to call the police! I told him to follow through with his hollow threat, considering he charged my personal card without consent. I figured I had a case worth representing to the police. He sheepishly changed his tactics and told us he would be in contact with our corporate office.

I will never stay at this Hilton again, and I would highly recommend you to do the same.

Room Tip: The Garden Hilton in Carlsbad was a much more pleasurable experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resoirt, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Mr. Bridges,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the way in which this situation was handled. Our goal is to be the hotel of choice in the Carlsbad area, but we'll never make it there without learning from our mistakes. Please contact me at the resort so we can discuss the details and make this right.

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
760-602-0800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was the friendliest, most relaxed and comfortable personal travel experience that I have ever had. I would stay here again and again. The only negative at all was that Google maps isn't sure how to get there, but once we were there we did not want to leave.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resoirt, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Andy J, thank you for your very positive review on Trip Advisor. It was great to hear that this was one of your best travel experiences at a resort property. The leadership team here feels very fortunate to have some really amazing personalities on our staff who care deeply for our guests. I hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Sure, it's not a real "resort". But, it's very, very, nice.
The service is impeccable; from the valets, to the front desk, to the restaurant Chandlers. Even the housekeeping staff was great.
We have stayed here twice now, and plan to stay here whenever we are in the area. Great pool area coupled with outdoor dining.
This is an unusually good destination. Great location, close to many great restaurants and attractions.
Give it a try; you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resoirt, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Bobert2412, thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor. It was really terrific to read your comments about the service team in Housekeeping, Valet, and the Front Office. As a relatively new property we have worked very hard to ensure that each guest leaves feeling as if they have arrived in their second home. We hope to see you on your next visit to Carlsbad .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resoirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resoirt

Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resoirt 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping views of crystal beaches and the Pacific Ocean atop a series of gently rolling berms in sunny Southern California, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is the destination for luxury. The Resort features 215 expansive guest rooms and suites, the full-service Ocean Crest Spa and world-class dining at Chandler’s Restaurant & Lounge. Guests can enjoy a variety of amenities including an ocean view swimming pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, and over 25,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor banquet facilities. With easy access to miles of beach, recreational activities like surfing, fishing and water sports are readily available. For families, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is a short drive to LEGOLAND California, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo Safari Park and Disneyland California. As well, the resort is minutes from Palomar Airport and less than a 45-minute drive from San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resoirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resoirt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.