We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spa and Stay Package!
Ranked #5 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Orange County, United States
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Came down for a weekend away with my husband. The hotel is beautiful, front desk staff very nice. In fact, all staff members we came in contact with were extremely courteous and welcoming. We had an oceanfront room, which was really pleasant (other than the fact that PCH runs between the hotel and the beach--a little too much road noise).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    106
    29
    11
    5
See reviews for
194
150
13
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, United States
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We visited this property for my wife's birthday. The hotel staff was great and provided an unsolicited birthday surprise for my wife! She really enjoyed the hotel spa amenities. By the way, if you like to surf, you'll really appreciate the artwork the hotel has displayed throughout as well as the break right out front! We will definitely be returning for another weekend stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, United States
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

went to spend a couple of nights to run the marathon (carlsbad) and they have everything ready for the runners, from shuttle to maps, the staff extremely helpful and nice. The view to the ocean is excellent,when you eat at the restaurant you enjoy the view and the food was delicious! The poll is huge at a very nice temperature and they have two beautiful fire pits that welcome you to enjoy the night!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

With a staff that is amazing, your stay here can't go wrong. Very helpful top notch. Access to beach right across street. So peaceful. Not busy when I was there. Relaxing & calm. Stayed in an ocean front suite with a deck. Perfect place to have a cup if coffee & read. The road noise CAN get a little overwhelming, but you're unable to hear from inside road.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Land, South Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a business trip to carlsbad and stayed at this hotel! What an amazing place nestled nicely in a small residential area. Walk across the street to the ocean access. BMW shuttle will take you 5 miles around if you need a trip to store or in/out burger. Rooms are very clean and large. Nice large standing shower with beautiful subway tiles. The restaurant has amazing food! Try the fish tacos.... Large outdoor fireplaces make for a great place to hang at night with a cocktail. Large heated pool that has a view of the ocean.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel staff was awesome upon check in, very courteous and helpful. The room was clean and the view was amazing. If I am going to visit Carlsbad again, I would definitely stay here again. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Just after Christmas we had a chance to sneak away for a few days together as a couple, our first kid-less vacation in two years. The resort was exactly what it claimed to be, quiet, beautiful and oceanfront. We paid the few extra dollars for an ocean view room, which was well worth it. There is a stoplight at the intersection of the hotel, so crossing the street was easy and safe. The crosswalk led to a path with stairs down to the ocean. The landing in the middle of the stairs with benches was a perfect spot for us to catch a sunset the second night we were there. The location provided fun shopping and eating just North in Oceanside and just South in Encinitas. We were willing to drive some so we enjoyed a sea cave kayak tour of La Jolla and Whale Watching from Point Loma. Although we were out most days, not interacting much with the staff, the desk agent in the very late night/early morning was delightful. Some hotels we stayed at leave a grouch out front during the graveyard shift, so I was pleasantly surprised to be greeted warmly and genuinely. Overall, this Hilton made the perfect home base for our trip.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are worth the upgrade charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping views of crystal beaches and the Pacific Ocean atop a series of gently rolling berms in sunny Southern California, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is the destination for luxury. The Resort features 215 expansive guest rooms and suites, the full-service Ocean Crest Spa and world-class dining at Chandler’s Restaurant & Lounge. Guests can enjoy a variety of amenities including an ocean view swimming pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, and over 25,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor banquet facilities. With easy access to miles of beach, recreational activities like surfing, fishing and water sports are readily available. For families, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is a short drive to LEGOLAND California, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo Safari Park and Disneyland California. As well, the resort is minutes from Palomar Airport and less than a 45-minute drive from San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.