We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel for a romantic getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spa and Stay Package!
Ranked #6 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“lovely hotel for a romantic getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Just after Christmas we had a chance to sneak away for a few days together as a couple, our first kid-less vacation in two years. The resort was exactly what it claimed to be, quiet, beautiful and oceanfront. We paid the few extra dollars for an ocean view room, which was well worth it. There is a stoplight at the intersection of the hotel, so crossing the street was easy and safe. The crosswalk led to a path with stairs down to the ocean. The landing in the middle of the stairs with benches was a perfect spot for us to catch a sunset the second night we were there. The location provided fun shopping and eating just North in Oceanside and just South in Encinitas. We were willing to drive some so we enjoyed a sea cave kayak tour of La Jolla and Whale Watching from Point Loma. Although we were out most days, not interacting much with the staff, the desk agent in the very late night/early morning was delightful. Some hotels we stayed at leave a grouch out front during the graveyard shift, so I was pleasantly surprised to be greeted warmly and genuinely. Overall, this Hilton made the perfect home base for our trip.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are worth the upgrade charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    353
    116
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
212
157
13
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Enjoyed the experience. Excellent location near the beach! Had breakfast with ocean view at their restaurant. There with family and was very low key. Will think about making this a vacation getaway with more friends and family. Would have liked a lower price but overall, but it was perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Highly recommend this hotel for family or business trips. It is very clean and spacious. The staff is helpful and you can't beat the view. Don't skip the pool at sunset. It's amazing. I will be back there in three weeks on a business trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, IA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel located across from the beach with lots of options for walking and easy access to the beach. It was very nice and I would love to come back. On the ocean side there is traffic noise, but the view makes it worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Despite an initial odd impression caused by our navigation system bringing us to the service area of the hotel, our stay left me wanting to return. We were greeted with smiles as we drove up to the entrance. After checking in, I asked directions to a hardware store. The front desk clerk not only knew where the closest (just opened) one was, but rapidly gave me printed directions. The artwork in the hotel was worth a careful look; they should offer the photographs for sale. The bathroom amenities included "after-sun cooling gel" for the insufficiently sun-blocked guest. In the evening there was a live classical guitar trio playing in the lobby, which filled the scattered chairs and couches. Breakfast in the restaurant was good and reasonably priced. The only negative is that there is a $14 charge to self park and there's no street parking around the hotel. As anyone staying at this hotel is going to be arriving by car, the price of the room looks lower than it ultimately will be. This is a very minor issue weighed against the service and ambiance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have had several occasions for business and pleasure, to stay at The Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort and Spa. The Amenities have always been ample, clean and top quality. The Spa is well appointed and the staff is exceptional. The Ocean Views are the best in town. If you're looking for a beautiful hotel at a reasonable value, then you will be pleasantly suprised.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My family group of 5, in two adjoining rooms, enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is very nice, quiet, across the street to the beach, 85 deg heated pool, and more. The hotel restaurant (only one around within 2-3 miles) was fortunately very good as well. Since we arrived via train, the valet shuttle service made every transport just fine. Rides from the train station to/from hotel, daily rides to Lego land and Aquarium, all went well, with some advanced planning. The spa massages for the ladies were enjoyed. The restaurant staff were especially friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the ground floor and were very quiet and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping views of crystal beaches and the Pacific Ocean atop a series of gently rolling berms in sunny Southern California, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is the destination for luxury. The Resort features 215 expansive guest rooms and suites, the full-service Ocean Crest Spa and world-class dining at Chandler’s Restaurant & Lounge. Guests can enjoy a variety of amenities including an ocean view swimming pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, and over 25,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor banquet facilities. With easy access to miles of beach, recreational activities like surfing, fishing and water sports are readily available. For families, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is a short drive to LEGOLAND California, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo Safari Park and Disneyland California. As well, the resort is minutes from Palomar Airport and less than a 45-minute drive from San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.