We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, very nice staff and venue!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Super Beach Package!
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, very nice staff and venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

i stayed for 1 night, wanted to stay for a week! the property is new and very high tech and high touch. if your staying in the area, then this is THE place! Front desk personnel was great and everything from free wifi to free coffee in the lobby was excellent!

Room Tip: they are all great, if you want to spend a little bit more, try a suite-it's really worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Dr. Dubious, thank you for your recent posting. It is unfortunate that you were only here for one day, but I hope we have enticed you enough to come back soon and stay for a week as you have mentioned. I have shared your feedback with the team which was much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    128
    38
    13
    6
See reviews for
234
180
14
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This beautiful hotel blends with the landscape so well, you don't even realize it is a hotel as you arrive. The rooms overlook the ocean and the resort itself has all the amenities anyone could ask for. I was there for 3 days at a business function so was not able to enjoy everything this hotel had to offer.

The staff was exceptional! All members of the staff were more than accommodating. This is a hotel I am planning to take my family to in the near future.

I highly recomment this hotel!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Mike D2, thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor. It was very nice to read your comments about the staff at the property. Please be sure to come back when you have some time to enjoy the property for a short vacation or getaway as there is a lot to explore in the area .

We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Not much to fault here. Nice location, might not be exactly on the beach but certainly oceanfront with fantastic sunset views. Nicely appointed bedrooms with great beds for a good nights sleep. Good restaurant, well cooked food and friendly service. The only poor point is the breakfast buffet, that could be much improved. Nice grounds and good staff. We've been staying in Carlsbad for a few years now, it looks like we've found a new home!

Room Tip: Part ocean are as good as full unless you need a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Shrop, it was terrific to hear that you have found a new home at the property after spending some time with us. As a relatively new property, our objective has been to create an experience akin to staying in a home where there is a high level of warmth and sincerity . Thank you for your note about the buffet. We are working on some additional options which will roll out in the next month or so which should greatly enhance the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

If you are looking for a full service hotel on the beach in San Diego, this is a solid choice. It's across the street from the beach and very close to lots of great shopping/restaurants/activities. The common areas are modern and comfortable. However the hotel itself is a generic mid-tier Hilton and, other than the ocean views, does not distinguish itself from any other Hilton I have stayed in. I will say that the staff is very nice and accommodating. We did have plumbing issues in our room during our stay and it was addressed promptly. The pool area is attractive and they have a live band and fire pits lit at night - which is great if you are staying up late but less great if you're in an ocean view balcony room as I was, and trying to turn in early. I understand the restaurant has a good reputation - we only ate there for breakfast and found it quite pricey. I would return again, but not if I was looking for a special atmosphere or romantic occasion.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Texas Traveler Austin, thank you for taking the time to write a review . I was disappointed to hear that you felt that the decor and general feel of the property was generic. The design team and the owners worked very hard to create a sense of being on the beach in California. Along those lines we continue to look at ways to improve the physical environment ( Guest Rooms and Public Spaces) so that guests enjoy spending additional time at the property.

Please come back and visit and I am sure you will see some positive changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Very clean comfortable, Beautiful setting and views. Staff pleasant and efficient. I liked that the beach was a quick walk (just across the street. We went out for dinner and the hotel drove us and picked us up. IWould stay here again without question.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Eileen D, thank you for your most recent review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you mentioning the staff as they are the heart and soul of the property. I am glad you took advantage of our shuttle service as Carlsbad Village and the other beach communities have a lot of offer and are really special. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Get taken away by the great sunset, great food and amazing staff. My wife and I stayed there for one night and had a wonderful time. We ate in the Chandler's Restaurant, swam in the pool and enjoyed live music on the poolside patio. Carlsbad Hilton is right across the street from the ocean. The sunset stopped us in our tracks. We were able to wash off the daily routine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Dennis B, thank you for your recent posting regarding your stay with us. You are right in that the Sunset's are really special here and truly add to the experience. It was also nice to hear the comments about Chandler's and the music in our Fire Lounge. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guests on your next visit to Carlsbad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Excellant location and views. Excellant staff, very friendly, accommodating and willing to go above and beyond for your comfort and pleasure. Highly recommend this resort to anyone interested in a pleasurable vacation experience.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite on the third floor that had excellant views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Mabs 126, thank you for sharing your experience at the property on Trip Advisor. While we have many nice amenities, it is really the dedicated team that makes the property special and leaves a lasting impression on our guests. Thank you again and we look forward to being your home away from home on your next visit to Carlsbad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping views of crystal beaches and the Pacific Ocean atop a series of gently rolling berms in sunny Southern California, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is the destination for luxury. The Resort features 215 expansive guest rooms and suites, the full-service Ocean Crest Spa and world-class dining at Chandler’s Restaurant & Lounge. Guests can enjoy a variety of amenities including an ocean view swimming pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, and over 25,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor banquet facilities. With easy access to miles of beach, recreational activities like surfing, fishing and water sports are readily available. For families, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is a short drive to LEGOLAND California, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo Safari Park and Disneyland California. As well, the resort is minutes from Palomar Airport and less than a 45-minute drive from San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.