We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Seaside Wedding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
San Marcos, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Seaside Wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We hosted our June wedding at the new Hilton, and could not have been more pleased with the experience! From the moment we chose them as our venue, the Hilton's catering dept., under the direction of Susan Khania, went every extra step to ensure that our Big Day was one to remember always.

The entire planning process was smooth and exceptional. Any request or minor detail was addressed and accommodated with utmost professionalism and attentiveness. Susan is a particularly amazing advocate, and lends both a professional and personal touch to everything involved with making the day that much more special.

The catering, through their own in-house kitchen at Chandler's, provided incredible food! We had salmon, chicken, and vegetarian main dishes with composed salads, appetizers, and signature cocktails...our guests could not stop complimenting on the food and drink! Service was top-notch and timely, and each member of the staff was wonderfully personable and at peak performance.

The grounds are gorgeous, and well appointed. Our ceremony took place on the north lawn adjacent to the main Shearwater Ballroom, and was separated from the rest of the resort. There is a beautiful view of the ocean, with occasional noise from traffic on Carlsbad Blvd. The ballroom itself is beautiful, spacious, and wonderfully appointed. The bridal suite was HUGE and lavish; everything about the resort is a treat. It was just a perfectly composed afternoon and evening. THANK YOU TO ALL!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Justin, thank you for your posting about your wedding at our property and congratulations again from Hilton Oceanfront family. Your note really made our day !! I was particularly pleased to hear about your experience with Susan our Director of Catering during the planning stages and during the event. I will be sure to recognize her for her efforts and have already shared your note with the team at the property.

Regards,

Vikram Sood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    117
    37
    12
    5
See reviews for
218
161
13
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at this hotel. We loved being right across the street from the beach, and hearing the waves at night from our balcony. The restaurant was terrific. The breakfast is exceptionally good and the lobster and shrimp tacos from the Small Bites menu should not be missed. The artwork in the halls only adds to the beach experience. The music by the fire pit is a relaxing experience. Special thanks to the Front Desk Manager who was especially accommodating to our requests. Another bonus is that the hotel is close to the Town of Carlsbad, so it's an easy drive to shops and other restaurants, and Legoland, but yet the hotel is secluded enough that you feel like you've gotten away. We look forward to visiting this hotel again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Mekeyser, thank you for your recent positive posting. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed the restaurant , location, and access to the beach. On a side note , I agree that our lobster tacos are addicting !! We hope to see you again very soon so you can try our new Fall and Winter offerings in Chandlers.

Thank you again for choosing us as your home away from home. We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,

Vikram Sood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very nice hotel with clean, comfortable, contemporary rooms. Staff is friendly and helpful. We hadn't stayed in Carlsbad before and wanted a hotel with an ocean view. This hotel is across the street from a campground which is oceanfront. Our "oceanfront" room overlooked the campground across the street with the ocean in the background. The hotel offers a shuttle into town because the hotel is quite a bit south of the town of Carlsbad. Nice hotel but next time we will probably find something in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear DM, thank you for your recent Trip Advisor posting. It was nice to hear that you liked the property. On the other hand, I wanted to acknowledge your concerns about our location away from the Village . We provide the shuttle service to ensure that guests have easy access to the attractions and surrounding beach communities and feel connected to the restaurants and area shopping. We have recently supplemented the service due to popular demand. As for our Oceanfront location, it is a short walk through the Campground across the road as you noted. I will take a look at the verbiage being used through our reservations team to ensure that our location is clearly communicated.

I hope that we do see you again as we are working on some new Fall and Winter programming to keep our guests on property and not give them a reason to leave !!

Regards,

Vikram Sood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Customer service from the whole staff is exceptional! Everyone is friendly and always offering additional assistance. Facility is beautifully decorated and just a minute from the beach. Wonderful experience to sit by the pool and watch the ocean. I would highly recommend this. Also, if you are traveling with children, this is the place to be, not to mention that it is very close to Legoland. You won't be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Lorena N,

Thank you for you recent posting . I was particularly pleased to hear about your experience with the staff at the property. As you know, it is really the service that makes a property special thus we are committed to always working towards providing a warm and caring environment for our guests . I hope that you will choose our property again on your next visit to the area.

Regards,

Vikram Sood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was the first Hilton that actually got the Jacuzzi tempreature right. When we checked out the Valet staff had 2 bottles of cold water waiting for us, something no other Hilton has ever done.
Great breakfast, wonderful spa. When we checked in housekeeping stopped by our room to see if we needed anything. If you are a family with young kids you will want to stay here because of the close beach access.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Breacaty, thank you for your positive review and compliments about the staff , location, and Spa. It is the special touches that make the experience memorable so it was nice to hear that you appreciated the service that you received. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Carlsbad.

Regards,

Vikram Sood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Were not given the room we reserved and asked for ( oceanview with balcony) but rather a room to the back overlooking a loud parking ! Although we complained, the only given alternative was a suite with a known noise nuisance problem due to an adjacent pool pump ! That made it impossible to sleep and we had to move back to the old room overlooking the parking with permanent car alarm noise, among others...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Michelle B, thank you for your posting on Trip Advisor. My apologies for the challenges that you faced with the placement of your room after you booked it some time ago. As our Front Office manager outlined, the room type that you needed does not exist with a pool/ocean view thus we offered a suite as a complimentary upgrade. In reviewing your file further, your reservation was made through our Central Reservations office in Dallas which may have been a part of the miscommunication. Either way, your initial experience was not positive thus I have reached out to you via the email address provided to discuss this in person to see if we can come to some resolution and gain back your trust. I look forward to speaking with you .

Vikram Sood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My room was top floor, King with balcony over looking the ocean. Beautiful room, definitely worth the money. The hotel is beautiful and very clean. The spa is just a plus to have on this beautiful resort, and the ocean is phenomenal!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping views of crystal beaches and the Pacific Ocean atop a series of gently rolling berms in sunny Southern California, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is the destination for luxury. The Resort features 215 expansive guest rooms and suites, the full-service Ocean Crest Spa and world-class dining at Chandler’s Restaurant & Lounge. Guests can enjoy a variety of amenities including an ocean view swimming pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, and over 25,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor banquet facilities. With easy access to miles of beach, recreational activities like surfing, fishing and water sports are readily available. For families, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is a short drive to LEGOLAND California, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo Safari Park and Disneyland California. As well, the resort is minutes from Palomar Airport and less than a 45-minute drive from San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.