We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Super Beach Package!
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We really enjoyed the hotel with it's pool and hot tub. The property is almost new and the rooms are very comfortable. The pool area has fire pits making it really comfortable to just hang out and visit with friends and family. The restaurant there was a little pricey, but there is free shuttle service to other restaurants in the area. I guess the only other issue is the parking situation. If you decide to self park be aware that the structure is behind the hotel and it's a little trek if you have bigger bags. It's worth going with the valet service! We can't wait to come back and visit both of the Hilton properties in Carlsbad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    127
    38
    13
    6
See reviews for
234
179
14
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here for a 3 day weekend with some girlfriends. The hotel lobby is beautiful, with a relaxing beachy vibe. We were warmly greeted and allowed to check in early. We upgraded to an ocean front room on the third (highest) floor. Given the beauty of the lobby, my expectations were high. The room was pretty ordinary and a little on the small side. The balcony was similarly small and overlooked a campground near the beach. Functional, but no wow factor. The beds/pillows were comfortable enough. The shower was fine but had this weird phenomenon where it would occasionally turn to pure hot or pure cold water for a few seconds for no apparent reason.

The pool was really warm and nice, but if you're hoping for solitude, this isn't the place - the Legoland set is here and they bring their enthusiastic children.

The gym is one of the better gym facilities I've seen in a hotel. The equipment was new and has good cardio and free weight equipment. They even offer free iPod headphones if you forgot yours.

We had poolside lunch at Chandlers once. It was decent. I had fish tacos and there were several bones in the fish. When I mentioned it to our server, he seemed unmoved. We paid and left it at that.

A really nice perk of the property is the shuttle service. The valet guys will take you or pick you up anywhere within a 10 mile radius of the hotel on a first come, first serve basis. Nice service - especially because its in a sweet 7 series BMW. This is a great service because there is nothing within walking distance.

Lastly, the spa was pretty disappointing. The area is pretty and beachy, but the services were very generic and unimpressive. Very ordinary and expensive - I'd save your money and go off property if you want to be pampered.

As for the "ocean view" keep in mind that the campground facing the property has LOTS of camp fires. Be prepared to smell like smoke and s'mores if you have your balcony door open.

To summarize, the property is very pretty - trying to be a little too upscale for what it offers for the price in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a new property just over 1 year old. It is beautiful with it's large outdoor heated pool, fire pits near pool. Rooms are spacious, with the largest clear glass shower. Comfortable beds.
Hotel staff very friendly. Hotel has a very luxurious vibe to it and yet very laid back and comfortable. I will definitely be back to stay here again on the next visit to this area. I highly recommend this to any couple or family with teenage kids. Beach access just across the street and easy to get to.

Room Tip: Parking garage across the street, guest charge $12.00 per day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We celebrated our grandson's 5th birthday here. Not only did we receive a fabulous ocean front room, but every person in the hotel greeted us kindly. The service was prompt and courteous and the pool was perfect for children. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

From beginning to end I was treated with the upmost respect with the immediate initiative to make sure I enjoyed a relaxing vacation. I was impressed with serene views along with the character of the entire staff. thier knowledge of the area greatly enhanced my stay. Most importantly I alway felt safe never questioning their level of security. The interactions were very pleasant with housekeeping personnel, room service, front desk, The Chandler Restuarant staff and the bell team. Janea, Mike, Steve, Zachery, Sales Cordinator Mr. Manners, and their managers deserve a great compliment in customer relations with their ability to communicate in an authentic and professional manner. I don't remember all the names of those I encountered; but I will always remember the quickness and overall phenomenal customer service. Job well done!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel is by far the most luxurious and comfortable one that we stayed during our long holiday in California in May 2013. The room was extremely comfortable, clean and spacious. The hotel even provides in-room slippers, something which I don't see often in a US hotel. The other plus point about the hotel is the staff. They are very genuine in their service and are ever ready to assist. This hotel is also very child friendly. The complimentary ferry service that provides two-way transport to any where within 10-mile radius of the hotel is extremely helpful. we made use of this service to go to Legoland and also to nearby mall to do shopping. Definitely a hotel that you must stay in his you ever visit the area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have stayed at this property several times and would recommend to anyone. Perfect rooms, spa was amazing, beach access was easy but not the best part of the beach in this area but you are not that far from driving to access better beach. Oh and did I mention that they have the best mattresses.....ahhhhmazing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping views of crystal beaches and the Pacific Ocean atop a series of gently rolling berms in sunny Southern California, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is the destination for luxury. The Resort features 215 expansive guest rooms and suites, the full-service Ocean Crest Spa and world-class dining at Chandler’s Restaurant & Lounge. Guests can enjoy a variety of amenities including an ocean view swimming pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, and over 25,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor banquet facilities. With easy access to miles of beach, recreational activities like surfing, fishing and water sports are readily available. For families, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is a short drive to LEGOLAND California, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo Safari Park and Disneyland California. As well, the resort is minutes from Palomar Airport and less than a 45-minute drive from San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.