We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort to your Saves list
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Easy Breezy Beach Package
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We really enjoyed the hotel with it's pool and hot tub. The property is almost new and the rooms are very comfortable. The pool area has fire pits making it really comfortable to just hang out and visit with friends and family. The restaurant there was a little pricey, but there is free shuttle service to other restaurants in the area. I guess the only other issue is the parking situation. If you decide to self park be aware that the structure is behind the hotel and it's a little trek if you have bigger bags. It's worth going with the valet service! We can't wait to come back and visit both of the Hilton properties in Carlsbad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    158
    51
    15
    10
See reviews for
295
217
16
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a 3 day weekend with some girlfriends. The hotel lobby is beautiful, with a relaxing beachy vibe. We were warmly greeted and allowed to check in early. We upgraded to an ocean front room on the third (highest) floor. Given the beauty of the lobby, my expectations were high. The room was pretty ordinary and a little on the small side. The balcony was similarly small and overlooked a campground near the beach. Functional, but no wow factor. The beds/pillows were comfortable enough. The shower was fine but had this weird phenomenon where it would occasionally turn to pure hot or pure cold water for a few seconds for no apparent reason.

The pool was really warm and nice, but if you're hoping for solitude, this isn't the place - the Legoland set is here and they bring their enthusiastic children.

The gym is one of the better gym facilities I've seen in a hotel. The equipment was new and has good cardio and free weight equipment. They even offer free iPod headphones if you forgot yours.

We had poolside lunch at Chandlers once. It was decent. I had fish tacos and there were several bones in the fish. When I mentioned it to our server, he seemed unmoved. We paid and left it at that.

A really nice perk of the property is the shuttle service. The valet guys will take you or pick you up anywhere within a 10 mile radius of the hotel on a first come, first serve basis. Nice service - especially because its in a sweet 7 series BMW. This is a great service because there is nothing within walking distance.

Lastly, the spa was pretty disappointing. The area is pretty and beachy, but the services were very generic and unimpressive. Very ordinary and expensive - I'd save your money and go off property if you want to be pampered.

As for the "ocean view" keep in mind that the campground facing the property has LOTS of camp fires. Be prepared to smell like smoke and s'mores if you have your balcony door open.

To summarize, the property is very pretty - trying to be a little too upscale for what it offers for the price in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a new property just over 1 year old. It is beautiful with it's large outdoor heated pool, fire pits near pool. Rooms are spacious, with the largest clear glass shower. Comfortable beds.
Hotel staff very friendly. Hotel has a very luxurious vibe to it and yet very laid back and comfortable. I will definitely be back to stay here again on the next visit to this area. I highly recommend this to any couple or family with teenage kids. Beach access just across the street and easy to get to.

Room Tip: Parking garage across the street, guest charge $12.00 per day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We celebrated our grandson's 5th birthday here. Not only did we receive a fabulous ocean front room, but every person in the hotel greeted us kindly. The service was prompt and courteous and the pool was perfect for children. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

From beginning to end I was treated with the upmost respect with the immediate initiative to make sure I enjoyed a relaxing vacation. I was impressed with serene views along with the character of the entire staff. thier knowledge of the area greatly enhanced my stay. Most importantly I alway felt safe never questioning their level of security. The interactions were very pleasant with housekeeping personnel, room service, front desk, The Chandler Restuarant staff and the bell team. Janea, Mike, Steve, Zachery, Sales Cordinator Mr. Manners, and their managers deserve a great compliment in customer relations with their ability to communicate in an authentic and professional manner. I don't remember all the names of those I encountered; but I will always remember the quickness and overall phenomenal customer service. Job well done!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel is by far the most luxurious and comfortable one that we stayed during our long holiday in California in May 2013. The room was extremely comfortable, clean and spacious. The hotel even provides in-room slippers, something which I don't see often in a US hotel. The other plus point about the hotel is the staff. They are very genuine in their service and are ever ready to assist. This hotel is also very child friendly. The complimentary ferry service that provides two-way transport to any where within 10-mile radius of the hotel is extremely helpful. we made use of this service to go to Legoland and also to nearby mall to do shopping. Definitely a hotel that you must stay in his you ever visit the area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have stayed at this property several times and would recommend to anyone. Perfect rooms, spa was amazing, beach access was easy but not the best part of the beach in this area but you are not that far from driving to access better beach. Oh and did I mention that they have the best mattresses.....ahhhhmazing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.7 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
4.7 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#1 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
4.6 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#4 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
1.8 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#27 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.