We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Super Beach Package!
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were on vacation for spring break the first week of april and absolutely enjoyed our stay! As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Steven (bellman) very friendly and courteous!The entire staff is awesome! I always look for cleanliness..(bed sheets,bathrooms,carpet) this hotel definitely scored an A PLUS! However, it is new and extremely comfortable. Their breakfast buffet is pricey but delicious!! Yummy homemade granola! Overall, I had a Awesome experience and i plan to visit this place soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear chihuahuabeauty,

Thank you for the great review of the Oceanfront! I am glad to see that Steven set the tone for a wonderful stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again soon.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    128
    38
    13
    6
See reviews for
234
180
14
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

As a newish hotel it was very clean. The pool was heated so the kids loved it. Food was excellent and so was the service. I am unable to fault this hotel in any way. I would stay there again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Ubangy,

What a great review! Thank you. We are happy to see that you and the family enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to the Oceanfront again soon.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over Spring Break and had a wonderful experience. The hotel was new and I loved the decor - lots of natural wood, blown glass accents and modern ocean prints and photography. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant was good, a bit overpriced, but nothing unexpected while staying at a hotel/resort. As a hilton honors member we had free breakfast AND free small bites during happy hour everday (NICE!). The pool was heated and my 8 yr old loved it. I really enjoyed the fire pits around the pool area where you could have a drink/snack while taking in the view.
The rooms were nice with very comfortable beds and a beautiful view - we had a 'partial ocean view' and it was great when it wasn't foggy.

Being near Legoland and the beach makes it a great choice for families, but the hotel wasn't overrun with kids either (even during Spring break). The bar seemed pretty full during happy hour so I think with the trendy decor and location it would be attractive to couples as well. We went to Legoland, San Diego Zoo,Torrey Pines state park and LaJolla cove during our stay and the drive into San Diego wasn't bad at all. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are planning on going to Legoland and/or San Diego.

Room Tip: The 'partial' ocean view room we stayed in pretty much had a full view of the ocean. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Sarala_11,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Oceanfront. It's great to see you and the family had such a great experience. You are right, with our location, amenities and services; we are a great option for families and couples alike.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was first class form the start to finish. The view of the ocean across the street with all the bicyclists and runners was very nice.The room was very large and the beds were very comfortable. I would come back and stay here if I ever travel to Carlsbad again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were there during a Legoland trip and we are so glad we tried this new property. We had a gorgeous 1 bedroom suite overlooking the ocean. It was funny though, when the bellman pointed out the ocean to our kids they said " what ocean?". We were there when it was very overcast so the sky blended with the ocean. That didn't sour our mood because we loved our room and the fact that the pool was heated made all the difference. Food was good, but service could have been nicer at their restaurant. We ordered appetizers to eat outside by pool and it was no problem. Then a few hours later I ordered some more and they denied our service to be brought out to us. So we placed our order anyhow and took our wet kids inside to sit at the first available booth. No water, or anything was offered to us to drink. Finally, I had to get up 10 minutes later and go to the hostess who had taken our order to ask for water. Despite the snobby service at the restaurant, I am giving this hotel a great review because of the nice bellman who greeted us and took us to the outlets in the shuttle and of course our beautiful room.

Room Tip: Get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here, from the live music during dinner( reccomend sitting outside, inside chatter is actually louder than music and much less enjoyable) to the beach access just across the street. Kids in pool can get unruley if parent don't monitor, but that never changes. Nice pool, hot tub is okay, nothing fantastic. They do need to clear room sevice trays and towels from hallways a bit quicker, but that is really our only gripe. Going to bring kids next time

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful Spring Break stay at this great resort! We had a great room, very clean, nice finishes, very comfy beds, great view. The staff was overly friendly and extremely helpful. The dining room was clean, food was good, and the staff was very attentive. We will return here and would highly recommend this for any family vacation. A++

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping views of crystal beaches and the Pacific Ocean atop a series of gently rolling berms in sunny Southern California, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is the destination for luxury. The Resort features 215 expansive guest rooms and suites, the full-service Ocean Crest Spa and world-class dining at Chandler’s Restaurant & Lounge. Guests can enjoy a variety of amenities including an ocean view swimming pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, and over 25,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor banquet facilities. With easy access to miles of beach, recreational activities like surfing, fishing and water sports are readily available. For families, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is a short drive to LEGOLAND California, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo Safari Park and Disneyland California. As well, the resort is minutes from Palomar Airport and less than a 45-minute drive from San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.