We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt at home from the very start” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spa and Stay Package!
Ranked #5 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Felt at home from the very start”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Arriving from a long drive late afternoon the night before St Patricks Day I waw welcomed by the hotel staff at the entrance. Everything was very professional, everyone was very alert, helping out with everything from parking to bringing in the luggage. Hotel lobby is fantastic, everything is new, the color combinations and details a pleasure to look at. There are many leather chairs and sofas, nice lamps and decor, and it just makes the whole experience really great. Check-in was fast, and the front desk receptionist gave us valuable information about all we needed to know about the Carlsbad area. The hotel even has a complementary bring and pick-up service, so if you like you can hit town and return back for free. Mike was the driver for the night and he gave great advice about dining options in Carlsbad. When you stay at this hotel you feel that everybody takes care of you in a special way, so I would really recommend a stay here. If you do not want to go far this hotel has all you need for dining, wine cellar and bar. Outside there are cozy tables with heaters installed in the ceiling, and there is also several fire places you can sit around. The weather was hazy, so I did not see the sunset, but the location is perfect for this, so I have to come back later another time.. Just across the street you get access to the beach, and here you can walk for hours, look at the surfers, waves, pick nice pebble stones or just relax and listen to the waves. Before leaving I had a great breakfast, and I felt so at home that I did not want to leave yet. I really recommend this hotel. The people working here are fantastic!

Room Tip: I jhad a room facing the pool and the ocean and I would recommend that as I had a great view and I s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear travelingtheworld201,

Thank you for the great review of your recent stay at the Oceanfront! Making you feel at home is our goal and it's great to see that several of our team members were able to connect with you and make your stay a better one. We hope to welcome you back again the next time you visit Carlsbad.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    101
    29
    11
    5
See reviews for
186
148
13
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I did not love this hotel, but it is a good option while staying in Carlsbad. Pros: new, clean, great pool area, great restaurant, friendly service, nice gym, really comfortable bed/pillows. Cons: room was basic & bland, hotel was in the middle of a remote area of Carlsbad, parking either valet or garage...had to pay either way. I found the hotel to be a confusing maze, but that is probably because our room was in the farthest corner away from the lobby. It is a pretty hotel, I just prefer to stay directly on the beach and not across a major road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear NJBetsy,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us here at the Oceanfront. I'm glad to see you enjoyed the services and amenities of our new resort. We are located on a quiet part of the coast in South Carlsbad, but still close enough to all the action North County San Diego has to offer. We hope to welcome you back again the next time you visit Carlsbad.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a wonderful hotel this is.

Set right across the highway in front of the hotel, this Hilton is the finiest we have stayed in. It is a low rise condominium like structure with exceptional amenities. Most suites face the ocean, the pool and a wonderful area beside the pool where one can relax poolside or stay warm in from of the gas heaters located around the pool and deck.
We stayed there on Superbowl weekend in a wonderful decorated room with a beautiful view. The room was decorated with much taste, restaurants were inviting, however kudos go to the employees at this hotel, who went out of their way to make the stay comfortable. As this is a fairly new hotel, there was a learning curve and the staff proved up to the task.

We recommend this hotel much and enjoyed the weekend stay. The hotel is expensive but well worth the price.

Jerry

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Jerry,

Thank you for the great review and your recommendation of our new resort. It's great to see our guests write about our wonderful team members, who really do go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Carlsbad.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed with my husband for a romantic weekend, and was not disappointed. The hotel itself is not on the water, but rather across the street, with stair access. Our room was in the center of the well-designed U-shaped building, giving us a fantastic view of the pool, palm trees, and the ocean beyond. Rooms and common areas were spotless. Sunset on the patio of Chandlers restaurant was spectacular, as is the inviting rock fire sitting area near the pool. Hotel is not walking distance from any shopping or restaurants and is isolated enough to make you feel that you are indeed getting away, but in reality, just a short drive from anything you could want.

Room Tip: Spend the extra to get an oceanview room on a high floor...it;s worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Krista_jklm,

Thank you for the great review of your recent stay at the Oceanfront. We are glad to see your romantic getaway was a relaxing one. Thank you also for posting those beautiful pictures from your balcony. We can't wait to welcome you back as our guest again soon.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A hard-working small business owner, I splurged on 7 nights at the new Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa. Overall it was an ideal choice for me, just 10 minutes from my long-time friend and her family who I was spending time seeing. The real plusses of the hotel for me were: the beautiful decor, particularly the pool deck with fire pits blazing every night; the pool & jacuzzi; the delicious homemade soups, fresh salads & fresh-baked French pastries; the genuinely friendly & helpful staff including housekeeping. The minuses were fewer but were a hefty parking fee with no free parking alternative; not really being on the oceanfront (it is actually across a busy highway); and extra surcharged added onto the standard room service fees. Other than that, a beautiful week.

Room Tip: I splurged on a full ocean view and got a second floor room and was happy. There are three floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Kerry S,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us here at the new Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort and Spa. It is great to see that you enjoyed your week off with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon to our home by the sea.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My family and I really enjoyed our time at this Hilton. The hotel is very new and the amenities are great. The pool, hot tub and fitness center were all in excellent condition. I really could have stayed longer and I don't usually feel that way about hotels. The staff, especially the valet staff, were all exceptional. They were very helpful to my family while I was work and they took them in the shuttle to local attractions so they weren't stuck on the hotel premises all day.

I would recommed this to anyone traveling to the area. It is also right across from the beach and next to a beautiful neighborhood for walking and jogging.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear hollijs01,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the new Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort and Spa. The valet team will be proud to see your comments about them. We hope to welcome you and the family back again soon.

Best,

Scott Wall
Direcot of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here over Thanksgiving and we went to Legoland for the holiday. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. Nice pool, decent breakfast. The room was big enough for two queen beds and our playpen for the baby to sleep in. My six year old loved the pool. The fitness room was nice too.

The hotel is very near Legoland. It's right across the street from a campground and nice walking/running trail also. Very relaxing weekend. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear mm1970,

Thank you for your recent stay at the new Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort and Spa. I am glad to see that you and the family had a nice vacation. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping views of crystal beaches and the Pacific Ocean atop a series of gently rolling berms in sunny Southern California, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is the destination for luxury. The Resort features 215 expansive guest rooms and suites, the full-service Ocean Crest Spa and world-class dining at Chandler’s Restaurant & Lounge. Guests can enjoy a variety of amenities including an ocean view swimming pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, and over 25,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor banquet facilities. With easy access to miles of beach, recreational activities like surfing, fishing and water sports are readily available. For families, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is a short drive to LEGOLAND California, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo Safari Park and Disneyland California. As well, the resort is minutes from Palomar Airport and less than a 45-minute drive from San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.