We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chandler's Restaurant at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Super Beach Package!
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
San Diego, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Chandler's Restaurant at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We are locals and have been here many times since opening. We eat on the patio and all the food is great, thanks Chef! We time our dinner to watch the sunset setting on the Pacific Ocean which is a nice treat. Big firepit on the patio if you just want to enjoy a glass of wine at sunset.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear WhereIsKA,

Thank you for the great review of our signature restaurant Chandlers! With its delicious cuisine, attentive service and panoramic ocean views, Chandlers is quickly becoming one Carlsbad's most popular dining destinations. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    128
    38
    13
    6
See reviews for
234
180
14
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I'm a pretty frequent Hilton Honors member and our family of 4 were looking for a place to vacation. We were having a tough time making a decision between this Hilton and the Hilton Garden Inn down the street.

After being here 6 nights, I have concluded that I should have looked at the weather and booked this place for the nice days and moved over the HGI for the not-so-nice days.

Pros:
Very nice amenitities. The Pool area is AWESOME. Really nice furniture and plenty of towels. The pool walks in at zero inches all the way to 5ft. There is a kiddie pool and a hot tub as well. There is also a waitress who comes out eventually to take orders (recommend the fish tacos - REALLY Good, margarita pizza, fries, lemonade, and margarita). The pool is maintained at 82 degrees.
There is also a Spa and a large gym.
Chandlers is supposed to be great (didn't do it - but the food at the pool was GREAT), there is room service, a really nice business center.
Outside fire pits are lit at night and I saw many people enjoying this.
Service - ALL the people are super nice. They make a point to say hello. Front Desk, Housekeeping, Managers, etc. The valet people are THE friendliest (with the biggest smiles) I have ever encountered. We were given some waters when we checked in. May I say that when the service is uber-friendly, it spreads to the guests and makes the environment very happy.
Fridge and Microwave in the room. We stopped at a CVS and Wal-Mart during our stay to pick up water/soda/juice box/snacks while we were here.
Free Internet (shocking.... I know)
Location - Across Street from Ocean. View from pool is beautiful. we did not have a nice view room - but there are rooms available (for an upgrade)

Cons:
Feels like you nickel and dime from all the expensive meals, tipping, valet, etc. Likely we are just the frugal type - but it wears on us. But we will never skimp on a tip because we respect people trying to make a living and it was our choice to stay.
Valet $16 vs Self Park $12.... we chose Valet since the incremental wasn't enough to walk to the parking garage.
Wish all rooms had a view... :/
Except Chandlers, there are no restaurants to walk to. You need a car... but within a few miles there are lots of options. Plus Ralphs, CVS, Wal-Mart, etc.

As a FYI - we were originally given a room with a shower only when we checked in. We had 2 little kids and that should have been something asked about when we checked in...... but we asked for a tub room and they changed for us and brought us keys in about 20 min. Not a complaint but fyi.

So back to the top, I think if we had split this with the HGI (that would likely be very nice too with free breakfast and less expensive parking, etc.), we would have been more happy.

BUT STILL - you won't go wrong here if you are aware and okay with all the above!!

Room Tip: An "Even" room should have a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear fhalter,

Thank you for recently staying with us at the new Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort and Spa. I'm glad to see you enjoyed the amenities of the resort. Most importantly, thank you for the kind words about our staff. We have an exceptional team waiting to make your stay with us a memorable one.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I went here directly after we got married for one night stay. I loved the local pictures in the rooms that was a nice touch. The view was great. We were greeted with a free battle of champange which really made us feel special on our special day. Parking was good. One main reasons why i gave this 4 stars

1. The next morning we were rudely interrupted by a maid around 8:30 am asking us when we are leaving. Check out was noon. I was more than unhappy with this. After all we pain over $300 for one night, shouldn't we be able to enjoy our room with out a maid asking us when we are leaving??

The price is high but if your from out of town the view might be worth it to you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear nikelca2001,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and congratulations on your marriage! We are delighted that you were our guest on such a special night. My apologies for the disruption the next morning. I will be reviewing your comments with Housekeeping so these types of situations don't happen moving forward. If I could ask you to please call me at the resort to discuss the details, I would appreciate it. Again, thank you for staying with us and your valuable feedback.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

While there, we had a liitle excitement because of rowdiness-not the hotel's fault; I can't say enough about the hotel. It trully is worth the money, if you're looking for location, cleanliness, beautiful surroundings, but most importantly, the staff., look no further than the Hilton in Carlsbad.
The staff especially was charming, willing to go the extra effort for your comforts--fine people--management and especially Irwin--an employee with exmplory care -- they were all great.

The scenery is georgous from the ocean side view, the grounds are meticulous and Hilton needs to be commended.

Thanks Hilton

Room Tip: Oceanside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear JRI646,

Thank you for recently staying with us at the new Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to sharing your kind comments with Irwin. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Carlsbad.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 wonderfully bliss nights here.We had a room facing directly on to the big pond and watching the sun set in the evenings was a real delight!
The staff here are refreshingly friendly and every time we arrived back to the hotel the valet attendants would great us with big welcome backs along with the staff inside at the reception area's.
The room while not really big is very comfortable and has a desk and really user friendly reading chair with otto that I claimed for myself most evenings.Although we didn't use it much (cool outside) the deck was also a nice addition to our room that had two chairs and table.
We never ate at the on site restaurant but did order room service after returning later one day and the soup and sandwiches were only awesome...I don't think I have had a better chicken noodle soup!
The pool is resplendent,its warm and large..Its heated to 83-84f and it dosen't matter if its 55-60f outside because the water is so warm.
We also used the workout room most days and it face's out to the pool and is well equipped with one exception..They need to put some wipes out and about to clean the equipment before use.
The hotel has a 2-3 level parkade directly adjacent to the property and has many areas that are covered from the above tier.
We spent a lot of time touring the area and we both looked forward to coming back to this clean and comfortable Hilton on the ocean.

Room Tip: They have rooms facing directly on the ocean, but I suspect any room in this hotel is all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Trailblazer44,

Thank you for the great review of your recent stay with us! I am proud to see that our staff made such a positive impression on you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort the next time you are visiting North County San Diego. Until then...

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Visiting friends in Carlsbad, originally we booked a hotel downtown San Diego. So glad we changed our minds. This hotel is beautiful! Wonderful fire pits to enjoy out at the pool area. Complimentary coffe and Tea each morning in the lobby. A very lovely full service restaurant.
And of course the exceptional service. From the friendly helpful valet - front desk personnel to the restaurant staff, every employee treated us as honored guests. That is what one would hope for when staying at any hotel yet, it so rarely happens. Hilton should be very proud of their staff. I commend them! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear justvisitingkids,

Thank you for the great review of your recent stay at the new Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa. It sounds like you had a very enjoyable stay. We do hope to welcome you back as our guest again soon.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed four nights and were very impressed with the atmosphere in the public spaces, the service and food in Chandlers restaurant, and the size and appointments of our room. In short everything was great! It doesn't hurt that you look out your balcony at the Pacific every day. Close to the highway and all that Carlsbad and North County have to offer. Pool area especially nice. Not directly on beach, but short walk to beach access. Although we had a car and didn't make use of the shuttle service, nice to know there is a free shuttle anywhere in the vicinity of the hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Brian S,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the new Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay, especially Chandlers. With delicious cuisine, top notch service and sweeping views of the Pacific, how could you not? We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping views of crystal beaches and the Pacific Ocean atop a series of gently rolling berms in sunny Southern California, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is the destination for luxury. The Resort features 215 expansive guest rooms and suites, the full-service Ocean Crest Spa and world-class dining at Chandler’s Restaurant & Lounge. Guests can enjoy a variety of amenities including an ocean view swimming pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, and over 25,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor banquet facilities. With easy access to miles of beach, recreational activities like surfing, fishing and water sports are readily available. For families, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is a short drive to LEGOLAND California, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo Safari Park and Disneyland California. As well, the resort is minutes from Palomar Airport and less than a 45-minute drive from San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.