We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Super Beach Package!
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa was amazing! From the location, to the staff to the hotel, this was a great experience! The front desk staff was very helpful with whatever I needed during my stay. The staff at the pool was GREAT, service was great & the pool was perfect! The rooms were very clean, room service everyday and responded quickly. The fire pits at night were perfect, great place to relax and enjoy the cool evenings. The hotel has a great location and is close to lots of things: food, shopping and the restaurant at the hotel Chandler's was great! The food at Chandler's was just amazing and service is wonderful!

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Linda A,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the new Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa. We are thrilled that the service, offerings and location were everything you expected. I look forward to welcoming you back as our guest again soon.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    128
    38
    13
    6
See reviews for
234
180
14
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The hotel is brand new and nicely decorated, but there are big "buts"...
1) Even though the staff was friendly, they were for the most parts clueless! One staff member would tell you one thing, another completely different one, contradicting the first one!!!
2) It seems that the quality control commission slept during the final walk-through.
***The door key that uses a magnet does not work consistently. Staff members or I could never open the entrance to the pool and the stairwell with mine. I had it changed once to no avail and then gave up. (talking about clueless staff: one of them said the stairwell was for staff only, and I had used it for a day, and it turned out he was wrong!)
***The water stopper in a bath tub was leaking. Common, the hotel is only a month old!!!
***The shower regulator is awful. It took us several minutes to regulate the water to correct temperature, but it kept changing while taking the shower.
3) Here is one of the worst things that could happen when you travel with little kids: I asked for two cribs for my three and one year olds (because they slip at home in their cribs) and was shocked to see the smallest cribs ever. They were good only for newborn - 6 months old. Plus, they did not provide any crib sheets. Needless to say, my children ended up sleeping with us!!! And the reason I paid for the suite is to have them sleep in a separate room!!!! I could have paid three times less to get this arrangement!
==============================================
If any of the hotel managers is reading this, pay attention:
==============================================
STANDARD Size Crib Mattress:
Though some crib mattresses vary slightly in length and width, the majority of mattresses on the market are manufactured to a standard size that corresponds to standard-sized cribs. Standard measurements are 51 5/8 inches long and 27 1/4 inches wide.
********************************************************************************************************************
The pluses:
The pool was warm and nice.
The food at the restaurant was good.
The proximity to the ocean and fresh ocean air was nice.
It was relatively quiet inside the rooms compare to some hotels when you can hear slamming doors, or beeping elevators, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear NOName12,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your stay was less then perfect and apologize for the shortcomings mentioned above. The cribs used are beautiful wood framed ones, measuring 26.7" W by 42.5" L. The design of them is to make our smallest guests feel right at home. We do hope to welcome you and your family back as our guests again in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly to find the perfect accomodations for you!

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutto, Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The hotel/resort was Fantastic starting with Steven (sp) at the reservations group. He put us in an oceanfront room w/balcony. The total experience from breakfast to our departure the next day was top-shelf all the way. The whole staff was so pleasant and always greeted us professionally. We will return again the following month again! Thanks Hilton!

Room Tip: Get the ocean view w/balcony! See the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Cowgirl509,

Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us! We are proud to have such a wonderful team in place to take care of our guests. Your positive comments are appreciated and we look forward to your return next month.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel just opened in June 2012 and has already raised the bar for the competition in terms of location, luxury and service...not to mention Chandler's awesome food! Beautifully designed property with interesting art by local artists throughout adding a nice touch of elegance. We had to keep stopping on the way to our room to admire the sculptures and paintings. Our oceanfront room was beautifully appointed with all the goodies expected of a luxury property--an more. Loved the gorgeous bathroom, lighted make up mirror and huge shower. Valet, front desk service and restaurant service was impeccable all around--helpful, friendly and knowledgeable--amazing for a hotel that has only been open a short time. As a frequent business traveler it's a delight to stay in a hotel that is so comfortable and makes you feel very special. The Apple computers in the lobby business center was an added plus. Can't wait to stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear JulianneA74,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for the amazing review! I am glad you enjoyed the service, amenities and special touches throughout the resort. Our art collection by local photographer, Aaron Chang has been a real hit with our guests. I look forward to welcoming you back as a guest again soon.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We booked this hotel in Carlsbad for our weekend family getaway. We have a small child and the plan was to spend some time at Legoland, the beach, and a quick trip to San Diego. On our arrival we were greeted with complimentary water for the room. Once we checked in the room it was nicely appointed and very clean. We drove and there is a charge for parking of 12 for self and 16 for valet per day. We were going to drive to Legoland but the staff notified me that the hotel had complimentary car service to many of the sites close by. This was very nice as we were dropped off at the park and called when ready to return to the hotel. The hotel is just across the street from the beach, but the beach is rocky. You have to walk a few blocks to get to a beach with nice sand. (The hotel will drop you off if you wish). The pool was nice as well and not really crowded during our stay. Plenty of pool towels and lounge chairs with poolside service. There were only a few drawbacks here. First, our room was not cleaned until really late in the day...... We had to contact housekeeping because by 3pm we felt that our room should have been nice and tidy by then. Secondly, the hotel charges for beach towels etc. I think it was a small charge maybe $5 for 4 towels and additional for beach chairs, umbrella etc. Again, the charge was not much, but charging for towels seems a bit like "nickel & diming" to me. I would return again as the positives outweigh the negatives and the hotel is new and improving.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We were excited to book 4 nights in this new hotel and for the most part it was good. Lobby is very nice, staff was warm and welcoming. A little surprising to have to pay for self-parking, but I realize it's one of those things hotels do for extra revenue. On the plus side, free Internet!

Our king room with hide-a-bed was a good size for our family with two young kids, but we were surprised that for a place that had so many families the bathrooms have showers and not tubs (nice shower, though). Our 3 year old wasn't impressed.

Possible growing pains- our room wasn't cleaned until late afternoon (5ish) most days, and one day we had to go without because we needed to be in the room at the time ( but had been gone between 8am and 4pm).

Really poor experience the one time we went to the restaurant. We wanted to order off the menu instead of paying for the overpriced breakfast buffet, but no one came to our table to greet us for over 10 minutes. Unfortunately for the manager, she was the first one to approach us, so we kind of lit into her. She tried hard, but the whole experience was underwhelming.

The beach across the freeway is fine... A little rocky but the girls had a great time building sand castles.

The pool is spectacular. We could have spent all day there. Good service poolside. Girls loved the shallow areas for playing.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights. Arrived on Saturday at 9 pm. and found out they over booked and we were going to need to move. Lucky they could not accomdate our family at other hotel so we took the last room at this hotel. The manager was very accomodating so we did not have to move. I would advise you to call ahead if you are coming on a weekend to secure your room. We loved the buffet with fresh blueberries, raspberries, blackberries and the breakfast breads were very good. The view was great. We love the access to the beach. My husband ran every day and enjoyed the view. We like being in this location away from the busy town. Not a vacation if we are in a busy area due to us living in Vegas. We will be back. Thx

Room Tip: Book a ocean view near pool. Great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping views of crystal beaches and the Pacific Ocean atop a series of gently rolling berms in sunny Southern California, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is the destination for luxury. The Resort features 215 expansive guest rooms and suites, the full-service Ocean Crest Spa and world-class dining at Chandler’s Restaurant & Lounge. Guests can enjoy a variety of amenities including an ocean view swimming pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, and over 25,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor banquet facilities. With easy access to miles of beach, recreational activities like surfing, fishing and water sports are readily available. For families, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is a short drive to LEGOLAND California, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo Safari Park and Disneyland California. As well, the resort is minutes from Palomar Airport and less than a 45-minute drive from San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.