We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
Sun Lakes, AZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Everything was outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel opened two weeks ago and they really had their act together. We had a beautiful oceanfront room, enjoyed the pool and hot tub. The entire staff was amazing. Ernie, in maintenance, was a wealth of information about the area, etc. What an incredible person!
Everyone smiled, was helpful and made us feel like our visit there was the most important thing in their lives. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner in Chandlers restaurant. We were never disappointed. They have a breakfast buffet, you can dine inside or out on the patio. They have a light fare pool menu as well. The beet salad was incredible.
We were visiting friends in Escondido and they thought we'd enjoy staying in Carlsbad near the ocean. We were very lucky that the Hilton opened there!!! We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Since we live in AZ and there are no oceans there, it was very important for us to have an oceanfron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    117
    37
    12
    5
See reviews for
217
159
13
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had a great two night stay at Hilton Oceanfront. I loved the walk -in pool for my 4 year old. It was perfect since she is still learning to swim. We order several items off the pool side menu and my kids loved the gourmet mac n cheese. I was hooked on the sweet potato fries with the pomagranate/ ketchup. Yummy !The staff was very accommodating and the rooms were lovely.
I wish I was by the pool right now!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had such an outstanding time during our stay this brand new hotel. The staff was friendly and catered to our every need. The pool was relaxing...with fire pits...and great food and drinks poolside. The rooms are super clean with extremely comfortable beds. Loved the restaurant "Chandlers": We will definitely be planning a return trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

this is a beautiful hotel. we would like to give the hotel staff and the customer service we received an outstanding A+. the rooms are well appointed and have all the amenities you would expect from a luxury hotel. the pool area was very modern and was very peaceful. we ordered drinks and food poolside. the food and drinks were delicious and the service was outstanding. dining at CHANDLERS is a must with it's modern california cuisine and excellent wine list , you won't be disappointed. we will be back. thank you again to all the HILTON STAFF for making our stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: ask for an upper ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Just got back from staying at the brand new Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa! The Resort was fantastic. We stayed in the 2 Queen Bed room, and it was very large and spacious. The 400 plus thread count sheets made you fall deeply asleep. Each room includes a Microwave as well as a Refridgerator and a laptop safe. We had an Oceanfront room which provided a small balcony and an incredible view of the Pacific Ocean. The Bathrooms were very large, with a very large walk in shower. Great lotions and soap amenities were included in the bathroom as well. Brand new state of the art Fitness Center with all of the excercise equipment that is needed. The fitness Center overlooks the Pool area. The pool is quite large and has many options for the adults with Cabenas and lounge chairs, as well as a pool for the children. At nighttime, the outside is lit up with fireplaces with lounge chairs to enjoy the evening. We ate at the indoor Restaurant Charlies, which has a great Breakfast buffet as well as many dinner options. The Hilton also has a complimentary van that can take you within a 10 mile radius. We hopped onto the van for a drop-off at one of the local beaches. The Hotel also has many great meeting rooms, that overlook the Pacific Ocean.

I would definetely consider this Hotel Resort in your itinerary to Carlsbad. You will be greatly impressed as I was, and will definetely return back!

Room Tip: Make sure to book a full ocean view room with the Balcony. It is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Hilton for six nights, beginning just four days after the hotel opened, and we were thrilled with our experience. The staff was relaxed, attentive, and accommodating for our entire stay. Since my husband is a Hilton Honors member, we were upgraded to an ocean-view room, and I can't say enough about the gorgeous view! The room was spacious, with a great TV, two comfy beds, and a balcony to perch on and appreciate the view. The bathroom was great, but there was no bathtub- only a shower- in our room. Parking is $12/day, or valet can be chosen for $16/day. The restaurant, Chandler's, has a beautiful breakfast buffet that runs around $25/person. The pool area is fabulous, with luxurious chairs to relax in while the kids splash in the heated pool. There is also a hot tub, and in the evening, a firepit is lit near the pool area to relax around with a cocktail and listen to the waves roll in. The hotel was still working on a few things...the interior was complete, but workers were finishing sprinkler systems, landscaping, and a crosswalk to the public beach. Beach chairs and umbrellas can be rented for $5/day from the front desk to take with you on your beach excursion. I cannot say enough about this wonderful resort! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms, with a balcony, are PRIME.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I just wanted to thank the staff at the newly opened Hilton. We made a last minute decision to stay in a hotel after a long day at the Del Mar fair. We live in San Diego so packed our bags and figured it would be easy to get a reservation. It was more challenging than we thought! I heard that the new oceanfront Hilton had opened. I believe it was only the second night it was open. They were very busy and the hotel manager Bob Moore walked up to us and asked if he could help us in any way. Within 5 mins we had an oceanfront room with a balcony! We also ate at Chandlers, the food and service was outstanding! We ended up staying two nights, got to hangout poolside and had a great overall experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping views of crystal beaches and the Pacific Ocean atop a series of gently rolling berms in sunny Southern California, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is the destination for luxury. The Resort features 215 expansive guest rooms and suites, the full-service Ocean Crest Spa and world-class dining at Chandler’s Restaurant & Lounge. Guests can enjoy a variety of amenities including an ocean view swimming pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, and over 25,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor banquet facilities. With easy access to miles of beach, recreational activities like surfing, fishing and water sports are readily available. For families, Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront is a short drive to LEGOLAND California, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo Safari Park and Disneyland California. As well, the resort is minutes from Palomar Airport and less than a 45-minute drive from San Diego International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.