We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop in for a treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlsbad Chocolate Bar

Carlsbad Chocolate Bar
2998 State Street, Carlsbad, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 282 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stop in for a treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very cute place for a coffee break. Enjoyed the atmosphere and my kids loved picking their own mix of candy. My chocolate covered pretzel was mediocre, I should have tried something else. Prizes are high.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    15
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Chocolate Ecstasy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The Carlsbad Chocolate Bar was an unexpected discovery on our trip to downtown Carlsbad. It is the perfect spot for dessert and has a large selection of chocolates to delight the palate. We savored the Dark Chocolate Raspberry Cake along with the house blend coffee and tea.

Be sure to sample the variety of chocolate truffles, chocolate covered pretzels, milk chocolate sea salt caramels, nonpareils, dark or light chocolate peanut butter cups, etc. Each provides a true chocolate ecstasy.

The location on State Street is easy to access and close to nearby restaurants, making it the perfect after dinner dessert spot. The venue is comfortable and spacious with adequate seating.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“week in Carlsbad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Chocolate bar had lots of choices in candy both individual and in boxes and bags. They also serve coffee. As usual the prices were a bit high so we only got a small bag of selected items but what we got was very good. Cute little place to sit and have a muffin and coffer if you like.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cute name and good chocolate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

This has a good spin on the two best things in life, but really they are merely a nice chocolate shop combined with some wine. We are from the east coast where there are plenty of good confectioners like this establishment, so it was the name that pulled us in. However the offerings are fairly standard, albeit tasty. One unique candy they had was the Pepperidge Farm Milani cookie and also an Oreo cookie, dipped in different chocolates. We weren't overly impressed with the wine portion, but again, it is a cute schtick with the wine, chocolate and pastry and coffee drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delight your sweet tooth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stopped in for a nice bite of chocolate and a coffee after our meal. Good feel and a wonderful selection.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlsbad Chocolate Bar also viewed

 

Been to Carlsbad Chocolate Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlsbad Chocolate Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.