We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craftsmanship Museum

Craftsmanship Museum
3190 Lionshead Avenue, Carlsbad, CA 92010
+1 760-727-9492
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 54 things to do in Carlsbad
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum features wood and metalworking craftsmanship at the small end of the size scale. Exhibits include running internal and external combustion engines, model ships, aircraft and autos, tools, clocks, jewelry, guns and dollhouses. Small Engines are run in our working machine shop each day at 10, 12 and 2 PM. Admission is free, and regular hours are Tuesday through Saturday 9 to 4. The museum is sponsored by the non-profit Joe Martin Foundation for Exceptional Craftsmanship and partially funded by Sherline Products Miniature Machine Tools.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

What a treasure! Just go. It seemed like only nerds would like this place- but that is not true. I am a spouse of a nerd and this place rocks. The docents and machine shop were so cool! Once again. Just go!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Unusual and interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I enjoyed the exhibits and the live demonstrations. The volunteers are dedicated to their craft.

Allocate about 1.5 hours.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A small gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

One of the items on my husband's bucket list was to visit this museum. We were amazed at the quality of the display items and the hospitality of the staff. The recent addition of the 1932 SJ Duesenberg is well worth seeing. We spent two half days enjoying the displays as well as watching several of the models operate.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Free museum thats a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a craftsmans, hobby showcase museum that was a nice stop in for us to explore. We enjoyed that displays of intricate work that people have put their passion into. Truly is a nice home for peoples works of art that they've created. It was free to enter and explore and it doesn't have a lot of advertisement so you have to seek it out.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

just a small museum but well worth a stop. Men would probaby enjoy it more then ladies but still take a look!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craftsmanship Museum also viewed

 

Been to Craftsmanship Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craftsmanship Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.