We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation condo convenience with upscale service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara to your Saves list
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7210 Blue Heron Place, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night Free
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver BC
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Vacation condo convenience with upscale service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really appreciated the uniqueness of the Aviara on a 9-night visit in February. The suites offer spaciousness and conveniences for a long stay that a typical hotel suite simply does not offer, along with high quality Four Seasons service.

If you are looking for a five star resort, this is not it. The grounds, villas and amenities are certainly top notch, but this is more like a luxurious private residence than it is a hotel. During our stay, part of the property was being renovated so the amenities were even further limited - that being said, we really enjoyed our suite and the property.

The staff were helpful, friendly and accommodating. They were not intrusive at all (we received twice daily cleaning of our room, and yet never saw anyone). The suites are incredibly spacious, although they do not afford much of a view or outside space. Linens and furnishings were tasteful, bright and crisp.

On the downside, we found our room to be fairly noisy, with a bank of air conditioners located beside our bedroom. If a quiet room is a concern, definitely ask to be located away from the air conditioners. The "free" wifi was pathetically slow.

The property is also very isolated, and not really within walking distance of anything. You absolutely need a car if you are going off property, and be prepared to walk / jog some serious elevation if you are planning to explore the grounds. However, we did find that there are lots of amenities within a short driving distance (good restaurants, beaches, grocery stores within 10-15 minute drive).

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    14
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
47
35
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Did a girls trip for a 50th birthday. The condos are very large and luxurious, the grounds are gorgeous, great service, the pool area was quiet and relaxing. The weather in the beginning of October was perfect. There was a great selection of restaurants, spas and shopping within a 20 - 30 minute drive in any direction. We liked La Jolla the best for shopping and walking around. Vigilucci's was the favorite restaurant on this trip. I would say the property and area is geared more for adults rather then children. The Hyatt hotel is adjacent to the property with a great restaurant you should do for dinner at sunset.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceClubAviara, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Four Seasons Guest,

It was so nice of you to share your recent experience at Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara. We are so pleased that your 50th birthday was a memorable one and that we were able to be a part of your special day.

Thank you for sharing with TripAdvisor how much you enjoyed our accomodations, landscaping & grounds, pool and most importantly the service. Our employees are our most important attribute and knowing that they made a difference in your stay means a great deal. Thank you!

I am very excited to share with you that we are in the midst of completing a renovation at the Residence Club Aviara. We will be opening our doors tomorrow, April 3 to the renovated Meadows Lobby and our newest addition... the Driftwood Spa. On May 5, 2015 we will have the grand opening of our new restaurant, Seasons and Barista. So many wonderful changes have taken place with more to come.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the residence club the next time your travels bring you to the San Diego area. Until then, have a happy holiday and all the best.

Most Sincerely,
Matthew Hoffman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Outstanding service...staff is so attentive. Food excellent. Room was very nice and up to Four Seasons standards. The bed was very comfortable. Linens were nice, bathroom was large and well stocked with amenities. The kitchenette in our deluxe was stocked well enough for just microwave use. We enjoyed the lovely grounds very much and they are very pet friendly.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceClubAviara, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, responded to this review, February 26, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your thoughful review about your recent visit to the Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara. I can't thank you enough for the outpour of compliments about the staff. Our employyees are committed to providing exceptional service, so feedback such as yours is always a great team booster.It will be my pleasure to share your feedback with the team.

We are so pleased that you had such a memorable stay and enjoyed the food, room accomodation and the beauty of the grounds.

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable experience with us. We hope that you will have another opportunity to stay at Aviara in the immediate future. Until then all the best.

Sincerely,
Matthew Hoffman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

we stayed here for a quick trip in December. the hotel is truly 5 star and it partners with an adjacent Park Place hotel that was decorated wonderfully for the Christmas holiday. Rooms and facilities are really first class

Room Tip: building close to the fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceClubAviara, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review about your stay at Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara over the holiday season. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the location of our property and found your accommodations to be "first class".

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Matthew Hoffman
Resort Manager
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

We stayed in a two bedroom/three bath suite; and, it sure was a sweet stay. There was not one distraction to take away from this excellent resort. There was a gas fireplace to share in the family room. There was a French door walk out patio. The bedrooms were of appropriate size as were the bathrooms. The facility included a 24/7 exercise room with the appropriate equipment. Some of us went swimming in the outdoor pool in January. There was also a hot tub and a group patio with gas fire pit in the pool area. The staff was not to be exceeded. If you're lucky, Manly will wait on you at poolside!

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceClubAviara, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Four Seasons Residence Club on TripAdvisor. What a wonderful review.

We can't thank you enough for mentioning how much you enjoyed Manley at the pool! We are very proud of our staff at Aviara and will be sure to share your kind words with him.

It was terrific to learn how pleased you were with your villa accomodation as well as the fitness/exercise room. In April we will have our grand opening of a new restaurant and boutique spa... so this is something you can look forward to during your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Until then, all the best

Sincerely,
Matthew Hoffman
Resort Manager
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Quite a few years ago we stayed at the *real* Four Seasons in Carlsbad, meaning the hotel, now a Hyatt, where both it AND the timeshares were managed by the renowned Four Seasons Management group. THAT was the time to be there to experience real first class service, the kind you find at a great hotel in Zurich, for example. Sadly the much of what the FS chain is noted for has vanished. The experience is VERY much like what happened to the old Ritz Carlton when the Marriott behemoth swallowed them up. The signs might read Ritz Carlton but the experience is decidedly Marriott, meaning cheap. Yes the grounds are nice, but I'm not planning a camping trip. And the villas nice as well but I didn't travel to be confined to a bedroom and my home is much nicer besides. And the staff, well most of them, are nice, but the grounds, villas, and staff are no nicer than what one would expect of a hotel charging a great deal less per night per room without the hassle of driving a fair distance to get to anyplace worth visiting in the area. What we found surprising was the LACK of staff, where once trained Four Seasons folks used to be positioned, e. g., at reception centers in all of the 'villages', in the gym areas, to answer questions, provide services and simply look attentive. And, no, I don't need or want someone to open a door for me. I'm perfectly capable of doing that and it adds no value to my experience. Actually it's sort of annoying to see 20something males getting paid to open doors when I worked - actually worked - to earn the funds to stay at this place. Put in automatic doors and send them on their way. I'd say the staffing has been reduced by half from what it used to be and those that remain seem to be unengaged for the most part. Does it matter? Yes if you want to think that your actually seeing where your money is being spend - on staff and the services they offer. Since many of the services formerly provided are now not, what can possibly explain the room rate??? At night the place is a ghost town and if you like seclusion bordering on remote then it's the place to be. Security seemed spotty as well in terms of the small number of unformed personnel we saw during our stay. For those saps who purchased 2 bedroom villas under the timeshare program, well that 50K 'investment' is now selling for about 3K and there is no line of buyers chomping at the bit to get a piece of the action, notwithstanding the glowing reviews posted here and elsewhere as a lure to attract those foolish enough to but into it. For my money there are much better places to stay in the San Diego area but if you want to feel superior sunning yourself in mid-winter under a cloudy sky while wearing sunglasses and looking chic, and ordering a tropical drink, by all means. Me, I've got better things to do and better places to stay. Doubtful we will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceClubAviara, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, responded to this review, February 4, 2015
Dear Four Seasons Guest,

We truly appreciate that you have shared your comments regarding your stay at the Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara. We are extremely sorry that your recent holiday did not reflect your previous experiences at our property.

I was so sorry to learn that you felt there was a lack of staff throughout the property, the cost of the room was over priced and that your overall stay was less then enjoyable. This is very disheartening and it would mean a great deal to me if I could personally speak with you. Please feel free to contact me directly at matthew.hoffman@fourseasons.com.

Again, than you for your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Matthew Hoffman
Resort Manager
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

The Four Seasons resort was rebranded as Park Hyatt a few years ago, but the Residence Club has remained under of the management of Four Seasons. Residence rooms and suites are located within three-story “villas” throughout the property. There are two neighborhoods where the villas are located: “the Summits” is up the hill by Park Hyatt, and “the Meadows” is down by the golf course and is closer to the Four Seasons lobby. We stayed here twice in 2014, one in each neighborhood. We were upgraded to a 1BR Residence Suite both times. The suites, measuring about 1,250 square feet, elegantly decorated and giving a warm sense of home, are identical except for different locations and views. Having stayed at the Park Hyatt before, I will have to say the rooms at the Residence Club are much nicer. There is a full kitchen with a full set of kitchenware. The living area is very comfortable and equipped with a fireplace. A sliding door opens to a balcony. There is a dining table for six in the dining area. A guest bathroom is on the right of the hallway connecting the living room to the bedroom, and washer and dryers are on the left. The upscale bedroom is also tastefully decorated and there is another small balcony outside the room. The master bathroom is spacious with typical Four Seasons styles, dual sinks, and separate shower and bath. The Residence Club has a small lobby and small pool, but has no onsite dining. We had room service for dinner and breakfast, and they were fairly good but not exceptional. We really can’t complain since the price is very reasonable. Four Seasons guests are welcome to use the pools and dining options at the Park Hyatt next door. We enjoyed the suite, which is one of the best suites I have ever stayed at, as well as the consistent service.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara

Address: 7210 Blue Heron Place, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.