We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and beautifully kept grounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara to your Saves list
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7210 Blue Heron Place, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect location and beautifully kept grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Close to beach and sightseeing. The staff is very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    14
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
48
32
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

awesome....great rooms and staff. my only gripe is the pools are not kept as 83 as advertised and was tough to keep the kids in them as cold as they were.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I'm an owner at Four Seasons Aviara but we havn't stayed here in a while and we forgot just how really nice it is. We were a little concerned when the Hyatt bought the hotel but we found that we could still use the Hyatt Hotel facilities just as we did when the hotel was a Four Seasons. My husband and I were there with our son and daughter-in-law and our three grandchildren. Although the temperature was a little cool when we were there(in the 60s) the kids swam every day in the heated pool and the adults enjoyed the very hot, hot tub. The game room at the Hyatt was also wonderful for the kids. They had shuffle board and pool, air hockey and fuze ball, a variety of video games and that video dance game. Best of all there was no charge for using any of the games. We enjoyed the golf course and the spa and took the kids to the local sites, the Zoo, Legoland and Seaworld, as well as Carlsbad Beach Park . We were in a two bedroom, three bath unit and that extra bath room is really nice to have when you have 4 adults and 3 children sharing a suite.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. We always prefer to be on the ground floor. It's just easier bringing in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I'm a Marriott Vacation Club owner and have a week in Oahu at the Mariott Ko'Olina Beach Club. We traded our week for a week at the Four Seasons in Carlsbad. We don't typically trade outside of Marriott but I had heard good things about the Aviara and was willing to give it a try.

All I can say is everything about the Four Seasons was Top Notch! Beautiful grounds, High end rooms, great service, pretty much everything you would expect from the Four Seasons name. I'd rate this resort above any of the Marriotts time shares that I have stayed at and I have been to a bunch of Marriotts.

I was traveling with the Family (Wife and two kids 5 and 7). We spent most of our time at Legoland but wish we had spent more time at this resort. The pools were heated to a comfortable 82 degrees. The food at the pool restaurant was very good. There were activities for the kids.

The Beds were so comfortable it's the best I've slept in years. We were in a smaller room with kitchenette so we didn't eact much in the room. It was nice that they had maid service every day which we never see when staying at the Marriott properties. Overall it was just a great vacation all around.

The only negative I could find was that the main Hotel was purchased by Hyatt so it is no longer a Four Seasons. They now charge to use the Hyatt kids club so we didn't spend any time up there.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so if you don't get at room at street level you will have to lug your lug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed at the Four Seasons Aviara as an extended family of four adults and two small kids in a two bedroom, three bath unit. This was our second time at this property, and it was again a great stay. We are not owners at this timeshare resort, but rather two-time renters. And I'm positive we will be back.

The Aviara is located in Carlsbad, which is easily 30-45 minutes north of San Diego and its primary attractions such as SeaWorld, and the San Diego Zoo. If you want easy access to San Diego, this is not a good place to stay. However the Aviara is great for relaxing by the pool, spending quality time with family on premises, and visiting Legoland (great for smaller kids!) which is 10 minutes away. The resort is also located in easy proximity to a variety of restaurants, grocery stores, and even a Costco, so you really won't have any trouble getting what you need as long as you have a car.

This sprawling resort property consists of this Four Seasons timeshare resort and a Park Hyatt hotel. The amenities are impressive ... tennis courts, multiple pools, gamerooms with a pool table, barbeque grills, even a huge play structure for younger kids. Dining options at the Four Seasons are limited ... poolside dining is the extent of it. For a real dinner, you will have to visit the Park Hyatt, go offsite, or cook for yourself in your kitchen or outside on the community grills. The property is big ... so there's a shuttle bus that runs between the major attractions. There are also many planned activities ... movie nights, different classes, making smores by the fire. They are fun ways to socialize with other guests ... I've met many interesting people at these events.

Our room was very nice, with a very pleasant, high-quality feel. The room had a full kitchen plus a kitchenette in one of the bedrooms. A typical timeshare "lock-out" layout. The kitchen is fully stocked with nice appliances ... refrigerator with ice maker, dishwasher, etc. The master bedroom has a separate soaking tub and a shower, and the second bedroom has a tub/shower combination. There's a third bathroom adjoining the living room with just a shower stall. And the baths all have L'Occitane bath amenities. The room was spacious ... even with six people we never felt crowded.

So far, I've written primarily about the physical aspects of the resorts. But what sets the Four Seasons apart and why we will come back is the service. From check-in/front-desk, the staff at the pool, the people who run the different events, everyone seems genuinely committed to ensuring that we have a great stay. What is also great is that the staff treat children as people, interacting with them in a very positive way.

In summary, the Aviara is a lovely timeshare resort community adjacent to San Diego, with great rooms, amenities, and activities, staffed by people who work hard to make sure that all guests have a great experience.

Room Tip: I recommend the "Summits" section of the Four Seasons. There are three distinct sections...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed here on an incentive trip for my work and wow was it an incentive. The golf course close by is amazing and you are only 20 min from Torrey Pines. An absolute beautiful place and setting

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Very spacious, clean and excellent customer service. They have beach umbrellas, toys that they rent free of charge. They also gave my toddler a welcome snack, toy, and toiletry upon our arrival. During check in, they served my family with welcome juice and wet hand towels. There was light rain and they prepared an umbrella in the closet for us to use. Self parking was very convenient. Heated pool was nice. The Hyatt is right next to the Four Seasons, and we went there for breakfast buffet. They had the best lox and bagels I ever tasted in my life, excellent quality home made vanilla bean yogurt. But the hotel is far away from San Diego and its attractions. If I visit San Diego, will likely stay in a San Diego hotel rather than in Carlsbad.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara

Address: 7210 Blue Heron Place, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.