We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome for a trip to Legoland!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad to your Saves list
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5010 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome for a trip to Legoland!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt House in Carlsbad during our trip to Legoland. It was fantastic for our family of 5. Loved their free shuttle to Legoland and it saved us $15/day on parking. The breakfast was also very good although CROWDED most mornings. There are a lot of families that take advantage of this places proximity to legoland and the value that it offers them so if you don't want kids around this is not the place for you! We didn't really get to take advantage of their happy hour on the weekday afternoon but that would have also been an awesome moneysaving thing for families. Our room was very clean and much larger than the one we stayed in at disneyland which cost about $100 more per night. It had 2 queens and a pull out full sofa sleeper. It also had a full kitchen with a little bar to eat at. We spent very little time in the room but it was very nice. The pool was small but my kids really enjoyed it too. It isn't a luxury resort but offers very good value to families visiting the san diego area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to leave a note regarding your recent stay.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and input and we hope next time you’re in the Carlsbad area you choose Hyatt House Carlsbad for your hotel accommodations.
Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
760-929-8200 x404
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    46
    12
    7
    15
See reviews for
98
14
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were disappointed with our experience here, especially since most Hyatts have been exceptional. Nestled between I-5 and a busy set of train tracks, this property could use some TLC:

* The air conditioner in our King Suite would turn off in the middle of the night, causing us to get up and turn it back on.
* The exercise room was minimal - the equipment was not fully functional and there were no cleaning wipes.
* The main men's restroom was posted as out of order - It will be fixed tomorrow (which tomorrow, we don't know).

Thought front desk staff was helpful and friendly, the posted hours for both breakfasts and happy hours were cut short by 15 minutes. The food served was institutional, at best.

The postage stamp sized pool was filled with tired,cranky Legoland visitors - as were the hotel halls. Not the quietest place we've stayed.

We won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Elevators were crowded during high season
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear valued guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to leave us a note. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is wonderful. We stayed here in March for a family vacation. The hotel his above and beyond to satisfy their guests...... not customers, guests. That's how we felt. We were more than just another dollar going in their pockets. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. The shuttle driver, Tom; I can't say enough about that gentleman. He is such a nice gentleman; just an honest to God, down to earth nice person. You don't meet many people like him these days. He was just so awesome to my family and my friend's family that traveled with us.
The prices are fair. The rooms are spacious. They have full kitchens. They have complimentary hot breakfast every morning with week night happy hour drinks and appetizers. I could go on and on. Here's the bottom line; when return to the San Diego / Carlsbad area, the Hyatt House is where we will always stay.
Keep up the good work, folks. We look forward to our next stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to send us a note regarding your recent stay with us. I'm so glad to hear that Tom took such great care of you during your stay. We are very thankful to have him be a part of our Team.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. If I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404.

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I just took a job with a company based in Carlsbad and they booked me here because it's 3 minutes from the Office. I'd request to stay here again. The room had lots of space so would be great for families. There was also a pool and I saw lots of kids in suits looking happy coming and going from the pool. The complimentary breakfast is nice and the evening social with complimentary beer, wine, and appetizers was really nifty as I got back from the office and needed to unwind. I felt the hotel was very neat and clean. It's right near the Ocean and Legoland so great location. Here are my only suggestions:
1. The hallways were really warm and stuffy like they needed some air circulation.
2. Some of the staff were incredibly friendly and warm such as the 2 young men who run the evening social and I also ran into a maintenance guy who said something like, "good morning Sir, have a great day!" Some of the other staff seemed uncomfortable with eye contact and smiles. So, maybe just a "first impressions" In-service for the staff would likely do the trick to resolve that.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to send us a note regarding your recent stay with us.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future. Please feel free to reach out to our sales department at x406 to set up a preferred rate for your corporation.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404.

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Pros - full kitchen, plenty of room in our one-bedroom suite (we slept 2 kids, 3 kids- 13, 11, 5), < 10 minutes to Legoland.

Cons - something about this hotel bugged me. It didn't feel as clean as it could have but it wasn't dirty. The carpet had that cleaning chemical feeling. The hallways seemed narrow ( not that that should matter). It reminded me of Circus Circus in Vegas.

Bottom line - Under the same circumstances - traveling with kids, going to Legoland, a budget - I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you again for taking the time to give us feedback. We appreciate it and will look into making sure our Hotel is always up to standards. We are glad to hear that your Family enjoyed Lego land and the Full Kitchens in our suites. We hope next time you’re in the Carlsbad area you will stay with us again.

Thank you again, enjoy the rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My family of 5 recently stayed at the hyatt house and really enjoyed it. The staff was friendly and helpful. Offering great suggestions for near by places to eat. When any extra..such as towels had been requested the item was at our door within mins. They had a nice variety for the free breakfest. .which included hot food. They seemed to always have.scrambled eggs. During our stay there was french toast/pancakes and fried potatoes. There was also yogurt, fruit, oatmeal, bagels, mini muffins, bread for toasting, oj/coffee/milk. The spread was very good and included in the stay. There are highchairs (plus for familes with littles). Only down side can be finding a place to sit to eat. But we always did. Also this room is very cold.always put my littles in long sleeves for breakfest.

The rooms are very large/ warm decor with a full refrigerator, microwave, sink, two burners, dishwasher and coffee maker. Kitchen with small breakfest bar and open living area with dvd player. Loved the space great for a family stay. Tv in living area and bedroom.Hotel also provided a portable crib. (More room for luggage yay)

Truly worth the price when travling with kids. No parking chrg, free breakfest, maybe a mile or less from the beaches, 1 mile from outlets and costco, close to leggo land and not to far of a drive to seaworld.

The hotel is close to train tracks and the train can be heard but didn't bother us. Car needed. The hotel is on a business road so really not a walking location.

Overall great price, good service, nice family hotel. Would definitely recommend to families for a nice comfortable stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

We are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit to the Carlsbad area. Thank you again for choosing Hyatt House Carlsbad. We always strive to be the best and we are so glad to hear that the staff took great care of you and your family. We hope next time you’re in the area that you choose to stay with us. Thank you again, enjoy the rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This Hyatt House went beyond my expectations. Excellent location next to the freeway and sound proof rooms. Kids have fun in the swimming pool. Barbecue area to prepare your steaks. Walking distance or short drive from Legoland® (the hotel has a limited hours courtesy shuttle to/from this thematic park). Definitely I will go back for another weekend!

Room Tip: If you get a lower floor room be prepared for the people walking on the upper floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and the BBQ and Pool Area. We hope next time you’re in the Carlsbad area you will stay with us again. Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad

Address: 5010 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the coast of beautiful Carlsbad, California and conveniently situated only 2½ blocks from the beach, Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad is surrounded by the area’s many great attractions. Enjoy a five-minute shuttle ride to Legoland or the Village of Carlsbad or travel a short 35 miles to the San Diego Convention Center, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, San Diego Wild Animal Park, Old Town or the San Diego airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Hotel Of America Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.