We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home not a hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5010 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #23 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A home not a hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Excellent hotel. The staff and the facilities are just great. A must stay when you are in Carlsbad.
There is no other place one should think off. A short 10 min walk to the beach rejuvinates you.
Superb breakfast.Will like to stay there whenever I go to Carlsbad.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing the Ocean lets you see the amazing sunset every evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey. We are so glad to hear that you felt at home. We try each and every day to be sure each guest is taken care of. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you again for choosing Hyatt.
John Saunders
760-929-8200 x404
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    40
    12
    7
    14
See reviews for
86
13
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, Ca
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

3rd floor facing the pool. Nice staff, good breakfast is served and there are small kitchens in the room. Good location. 10 min walk to beach, 2 mile stroll to Village Center (bars), and a half mile to a few other good restaurants. Have stayed before and will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Hyatt House San Diego/ Carlsbad for your most recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Please feel free to contact me directly if you need any further assistance.
John Saunders 760-929-8200 x404
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nogales, Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went to LEGOLAND on a family trip and the hotel could not have been any more perfect. Had spacious rooms (big family), and excellent continental breakfast and a superb location (only 5 minutes (tops) away from the park and plenty of restaurants around the hotel. Right next to the freeway (though it did not feel like it) so we got on our way after the trip immediately. Very nice property had a heated Jacuzzi and pool, ice machine (very handy when traveling by car), laundry room, etc. Just about anything you need for a family car trip. Will definitely consider it again when traveling to LEGOLAND next time.

Room Tip: Large room is better than two nomral size rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Please let me know if I maybe further assistance.

John Saunders
760-929-8200 x404
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a nice clean comfortable hotel close to Legoland. We stayed here a few times during weekend trips to Legoland and we've never been disappointed. Each time we had a room with a king bed and a sofa sleeper (a sectional) and were pleased with all amenities.
The hotel is right on the side of the freeway but inside, there is no freeway noise, occasionally could hear the train whistle going by and that is more like a big bonus on our books since our 5 year old boy is much into trains.
The hotel has free breakfast in the morning and a free shuttle to Legoland which could save you $15 in parking fee.
We're pleased with the hotel, every time had good experiences and we will stop by again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Everything about this hotel was just great, in mines and my wife experience it was more than what anyone will expect, about what a hotel is like. From the time we checked in to our checked out time the experience was overwhelming, great job to all the staff that works there, you make anyone's stay a pleasant and wonderful stay..... Sincerely the Rodriguez family from LA California

Room Tip: The place to stay whenever visiting Legoland, CA......
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, california
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We spent one night on the third floor facing the highway. It was very comfortable. Noise was not an issue (we kept the window closed, a/c on).
The breakfast was very nice. The pool and jacuzzi look great too (although didn't use).

Location is 2 blocks from a great surfing beach - Terra Mar - which was our main reasons for being in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you again for choosing Hyatt House Carlsbad. We thank you for taking the time to write your review. We try to be sure each and every guest is taken care of. We hope you enjoyed your vacation and look forward to seeing you again soon.

John Saunders
760.929.8200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The property its well maintain, and the rooms smelled clean and were functional.
However , the staff were rude and unprofessional.
You can hear the train all night long, people on the pool yelling and unattended kids running on the hallways late at night.Overall the experience was bad.
As a Hyatt frequent guest ,wont recommend to stay in this Hotel.
Management should give" Hospitality" training to the staff.

Room Tip: Not sure if you pic one side you have the highway, the other side you can hear the train horn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear valued guest:

I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad

Address: 5010 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#23 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the coast of beautiful Carlsbad, California and conveniently situated only 2½ blocks from the beach, Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad is surrounded by the area’s many great attractions. Enjoy a five-minute shuttle ride to Legoland or the Village of Carlsbad or travel a short 35 miles to the San Diego Convention Center, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, San Diego Wild Animal Park, Old Town or the San Diego airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Hotel Of America Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.