We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - No Problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad to your Saves list
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5010 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
Billings, MT
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - No Problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Carlsbad Hyatt House. We grabbed the room off of Hotwire for $97 plus taxes. The free breakfast and light dinner were a nice treat. It's right off of the 5 (west of), but we were not bothered by any vehicle noise. The kitchen features were helpful and convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete a Trip Advisor rating regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing your survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404.

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    46
    12
    7
    15
See reviews for
99
14
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We only spent one night on this trip to visit mom in San Marcos but this will be the go to hotel for future visits. Clean, spacious, modern rooms with kitchen facilities, comfortable beds with nice linens and couches and comfortable chairs. An in room breakfast bar with stools was a surprise as was the beautiful Mexican painted ceramic bathroom sink. Well equipped exercise room and even a tube of toothpaste included among bathroom amenities. All in all a great experience at a reasonabley priced hotel. Even the free breakfast was fresh and tastey at 10am closeing time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete a Trip Advisor rating regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing your survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404.

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Being my first visit to the Carlsbad/San Diego area I looked for a hotel that seemed central to multiple attractions. Hyatt House was a nice surprise with it's ease of location, plenty of parking, full sized kitchen & full breakfast included. We stayed in a King standard suite. It was very roomy and comfortable. Large bathroom and dressing area. Nice sitting area as well. The staff was extremely friendly & helpful. Overall, it was a very nice place to stay. However, if you are looking for a very quiet hotel this may not be your option as it's proximity to Legoland means lots of families with children running the halls.

The only reason they didn't get a 5 star rating was the fact that their "full" breakfast was a bit of a cattle call. And while the menu of hot offerings changed each day it seemed a bit limited. Also, while the location was easy to find, it is in a business park with little around it within walking distance. Yes, the beach is only 2 & 1/2 blocks away but there is not parking in that immediate area so if you are driving be prepared to search for somewhere to stop.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404.

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed just one night, but would have been happy here for a week. Location was excellent. The hotel and room was suited just right, especially for the business traveler. Everything looks new and updated. They had a sofa/sectional that was just like being at home. Even the bathroom sink was this cool/southwest colored mosaic bowl. Breakfast was hot and plentiful. Overall, just a good value.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be equal in amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404.

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We loved this hotel. Clean, comfortable, only blocks from beach, lots of amenities for the price. When we arrived, our reservation wasn't in the system. The front desk staff and manager were so helpful and kind helping us get things straightened out. Customer service at its best. Breakfast is very nice. Not the high fat Costco fare that you get at other chains. Coffee tastes good. Great OJ. Good selection and choices. Plus, there are evening snacks on weekdays that are hearty enough to be your dinner. A calendar in the suite indicates what is being served everyday of the month. The fitness room had good quality equipment. There is a pool but we didn't go there. Beds were very comfortable with soft pillows that I prefer. Bath is roomy. Sink is in bedroom with long counter. Kitchen is well equipped. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: The regular suite is ok for one or two adults. If you have more, get the two bedroom suite. Very spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404.

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Our room was very comfortable for our family of 5. Rooms were new, bright, very clean. Beds and even sofa bed were very comfortable providing a great night's sleep for all. Free parking was so nice. Breakfast was ample offering so many hot and cold choices. A nice touch was the dining area with a fire place and the insulated to-go coffee cups for coffee fans. The location was safe, good-looking, and central for tourists wanting to venture any either direction for a Southern California trip. We loved this hotel.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has coin operated washer/drier if you need that service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404.

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My sister and her son were visiting from Italy, so having two children under the age of three ourselves we decided to go to Legoland for Halloween. The hotel is really nice, a bit pricy, the room was great and big, enough for three adults and three children (2 queen beds, 1 sofa bed). We arrived late evening (around 9.30pm), check-in was easy, got a late check-out so we could enjoy the pool the day after.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404.

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad

Address: 5010 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the coast of beautiful Carlsbad, California and conveniently situated only 2½ blocks from the beach, Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad is surrounded by the area’s many great attractions. Enjoy a five-minute shuttle ride to Legoland or the Village of Carlsbad or travel a short 35 miles to the San Diego Convention Center, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, San Diego Wild Animal Park, Old Town or the San Diego airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Hotel Of America Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.