We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location for Southern California vacationing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad to your Saves list
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5010 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
Frisco, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Central location for Southern California vacationing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Our room was very comfortable for our family of 5. Rooms were new, bright, very clean. Beds and even sofa bed were very comfortable providing a great night's sleep for all. Free parking was so nice. Breakfast was ample offering so many hot and cold choices. A nice touch was the dining area with a fire place and the insulated to-go coffee cups for coffee fans. The location was safe, good-looking, and central for tourists wanting to venture any either direction for a Southern California trip. We loved this hotel.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has coin operated washer/drier if you need that service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404.

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    47
    12
    7
    15
See reviews for
99
15
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My sister and her son were visiting from Italy, so having two children under the age of three ourselves we decided to go to Legoland for Halloween. The hotel is really nice, a bit pricy, the room was great and big, enough for three adults and three children (2 queen beds, 1 sofa bed). We arrived late evening (around 9.30pm), check-in was easy, got a late check-out so we could enjoy the pool the day after.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404.

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The staff was rude, when I tried to check in, although there was no line, I had to wait 15 minutes for the staff member to finish a phone call; the entrance was jammed with parked cars; it seems that only one small elevator services the entire property, and is constantly in use by staff; it was incredibly loud, like a frat party; the temperature in the room was unbearable, with the heat off it was sweltering in late December; we gave up on the free breakfast because there was a mob of people fighting over what was left of the breakfast food, I would have settled for coffee, but there was also nowhere to sit and no coffee cups; the staff also chose this time when the breakfast was busy to clean the bathrooms; there was also no face cloths in the room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear valued guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Carlsbad is not one of the busier areas of southern California that I've visited, though it is extremely picturesque and of course there is always the wonderful weather. Hyatt House was a great place to stay - check in and check out were seamless and very quick. Front desk staff was friendly and accommodating, as were the dining room staff. The hotel is located adjacent to I5, and surrounded by numerous restaurants within walking distance.

Room was clean and very large; nice comfortable bed, sectional sofa, and work station. The kitchen was AWESOME, having 2-burner stovetop, microwave, full size fridge wih ice-maker, toaster, sink with disposal, fully equipped with utensils, dishes, etc... The magnetic bulletin board posts information about off-site room service and a calendar of "evening social" menu. Bathroom was spacious, towels were nice and tp was 2-ply :) . Temperature control was very easy to use and responsive. Shower pressure was good. Television was on swivel which made it easy to view from bed or from sofa/workstation.

Ammenities included full breakfast (eggs, bacon, waffles, breads, fruit, cereals, yougurt, juices, coffee and tea), fitness room - which was small'ish but efficient, pool, free wi-fi (fast), and free parking.

The property was well worth the $125 rate, and I definitely plan to stay here on future visits.

Room Tip: Rooms in the upper 20s and 30s are closest to traffic...noise was NOT an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404.

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Our family of 4 ( two boys 5 and 3 years old) stayed here two times this and last summer for our weekend trips to Legoland. Pros: Compares to the price and distance, this is really a good value hotel. We also like very much of their complimentary breakfast buffet and transportation services back and force to Legoland. Very friendly staffs and clean rooms with full kitchen. The cons: It could get very crowded during summer, the breakfast buffet area was packed and we had to sit in the conference area to eat. We also had to wait for over 20 minutes for the ride to Legoland because one of the two vans was not working. The room was small, for a family of 4, remember to get double queen instead of king, because if you pulled the sofa bed out for the studio king room, there is literally no room to walk.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will return for its convenience to Legoland.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404.

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

stayed 1 night to visit legoland. all staff were friendly and courteous. breakfast was adequate - nothing to write home about, but free and convenient with good variety and pleasant setting near pool area (scrambled eggs, sausage links, waffles. oatmeal packets, coffee, juices, cereal choices. the fresh cut fruit looked pretty mangled - i did not try it.)
our room was on 2nd floor and did not have noise issues.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404.

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Booked and pre-paid a 1-bedroom suite and when we arrived were told our reservation was canceled even though we had a confirmation number & never canceled. The front desk clerk was unapologetic and contacted the manager who simply told her to give us a lesser room for the regular price. We were not offered any discount or apology & were made to feel this was our fault even though the room was paid for in advance.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear valued guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad

Address: 5010 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#14 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the coast of beautiful Carlsbad, California and conveniently situated only 2½ blocks from the beach, Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad is surrounded by the area’s many great attractions. Enjoy a five-minute shuttle ride to Legoland or the Village of Carlsbad or travel a short 35 miles to the San Diego Convention Center, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, San Diego Wild Animal Park, Old Town or the San Diego airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Hotel Of America Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.