We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad to your Saves list
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5010 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Everett, WA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“An unexpected Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

My wife and I spent six wonderful and pleasant nights at this hotel located in Carlsbad. This property has undergone a renovation and rebranding as a Hyatt House. The design is oriented towards longer term stays, business travelers and families. This property offers a wide range of amenities and studio and one bedroom suites. This property has interior corridors. What follows is a summary of the key areas of the hotel from my perspective.

Room

We stayed in studio room located on the 2nd floor which included a small kitchen, king bed, sleeper sofa and shower/tub combo. The kitchen located just inside the door included a sink, two burner flat top stove, full size top freezer/refrigerator, small dishwasher, microwave convection oven, toaster and coffee maker. Dishes, silverware, pots and pans are provided. The room had a small desk, breakfast bar, three drawer dresser and large closet. The bathroom has a sink outside of the toilet and shower/tub. There was a 32 inch flat screen TV (with about 24 channels), DVD player and high speed wireless (no wired connection). There is also a box that allows connecting a laptop via HDMI or VGA cable to the TV. Heating/cooling was controlled by programmable thermostat on the wall (just like the kind in many homes). Overall the layout of the room was very functional. There could be a bit more counter space in the kitchen for food prep. The TV could be swiveled to view from the bed or sleeper sofa.

Interior

The hotel has a nice layout inside. It is three stories and there is an elevator. The first floor contains the fitness room, common area, business center, conference room, guest market and front desk. The interior was well maintained.

Exterior

Parking is all surface and there were security cameras in use. The exterior grounds were well maintained.

Amenities

This hotel has an outdoor pool and hot tub. The pool area is fenced and has chairs, chaise lounges and tables with umbrellas. We did not use the pool so I can’t comment on the how warm the water was. The hot tub was great! Great as in it was hot, the way it should be. Pool towels were always well stocked. The pool area faces the west which was perfect for afternoons and evenings. They even had some outdoor speakers playing music though not too loud.

The fitness center was outstanding with top of the line equipment. There were two treadmills and one elliptical, all had television screens. There was also a weight machine, hand weights, and bench. Rounding out the facility was a water cooler and bathroom scale.

The guest laundry (which we used twice) was on the second floor. There were two washers (one front load) and two dryers. Cost was $1.25 each for the washer and dryer and $1.00 for soap. There was a table for folding. The dryers actually dried the clothes. What a concept!

The business center included two computers (with MS Word and Excel) each with their own black and white laser printer. Each compute had a USB to plug in a flash drive. There was also a copy machine.

Dining

This hotel provides a hot breakfast included in the room rate. They rotate through eggs (scrambled or omelets), meat (bacon or sausage), hashbrowns and cinnamon french toast). Cereals included corn flakes, raisin bran, cheerios, fruit loops and frosted flakes. Bread choices were white and wheat, english muffins, bagels along with mini muffins on certain days. There was fresh fruit (apples, bananas and oranges) and cut fruit (melons, pineapple grapes). Beverages included OJ, apple, coffee, tea, skim and 2% milk. Lastly there was yogurt and instant oatmeal (original only). The food was hot and good, though some items could have been refilled a bit faster on Saturday and Sunday when it was busier.

On Monday through Thursday there is a complimentary evening social (5:30-7:00). There is a menu of the night’s food in the room. They rotate through salad, pizza, nachos, and other light fare. There is always a soup. Beverages include beer, wine and soda. The food can be a meal or an appetizer. It was good, but by no means gourmet.

Surrounding area

This hotel is located right off of I-5 (though noise was not an issue) at the exit for Legoland (within a mile). In fact the hotel offers a free shuttle to the park and surrounding area. To the north of the hotel across a main arterial are a gas station/mini mart and two nicer restaurants (which I can’t comment on because we did not patronize them). To the west are railroad tracks for Amtrak and the Coaster, though no station (there’s one in downtown Carlsbad). To the south are numerous office buildings. A state beach is about ¾ mile to the west and is a very easy walk. There is also a city park with playground in the same direction. The area felt safe during the day and night. Downtown Carlsbad is located about a 10 minute drive to the north.

Staff

All of the staff was pleasant, helpful and smiled! We had no problems with customer service. Check-in and check-out was a breeze and efficient.

Bottom Line

We would definitely stay at this hotel if we are in the area. We got a lot of value for the money spent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield1, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear valued guest:

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on our hotel. We truly value your feedback and the information you provide to us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our property and hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    51
    13
    7
    15
See reviews for
106
15
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Upon first glance, I was impressed with my room. It's nicely decorated, has a nice comfortable bed and a nice kitchen and living area. However, if you are not on the top floor you will likely hear your neighbors above you, especially if there are children playing. I couldn't hear voices, but I heard pounding footsteps my entire stay. The train tracks are close by and you'll hear them as they go by. If you're a light sleeper, I don't recommend this place. Between the trains and the neighbors above me, I had a very short night. I slept with a/c on to help with the noise and two times during the night, I woke up to find my room over 80's. Because of it's close proximity to Legoland, the units are all suites and there's breakfast included, this hotel is ideal for families.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor and away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield1, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your feedback. We are please to hear that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the nicely decorated rooms. We apolagize for the nopise in the evening and are working on ways in which we can provide a better experience for our light sleeper guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,

John Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I hate to say anything bad about this hotel because it is a fine place to stay depending on where your room is and what time you take advantage of their evening happy hour. This new "Hyatt House" is very clean and new. Upgrading to a one bedroom is well worth the money for the extra space and full kitchen.

This is a family hotel, so there are families running around at all hours and unfortunately, we heard every step and conversation around us. An upper floor room might be a better way to go. We picked a 1st floor room right next to the pool for what we thought was our own convenience. Big mistake! We had to call the front desk at 9pm one night. I could not get my kids to sleep because a very LOUD family was in the pool playing marco polo.

When it came time to enjoy the evening happy hour, we walked into the eating area (only 30 min into service) to find grumpy hotel quests irritated that the hotel could not keep up with the demand of the appetizers and soup being offered. In the hotel's defence, it seemed as though some families thought of this happy hour as dinner hour. And whenever they came out with the very small pieces of pizza, one person at the front of the line, would pile up their plate and not leave any for the people waiting behind them. We eventually gave up on snacking before our fantastic dinner at the West Hotel next door. But not before we enjoyed a few of the complementary Sierra Nevada beers. They also had some nice wine. You can't beat that! The staff was very nice in the dinning room. I felt bad for how angry people were at them over not having enough food.
There was no problem with the free full breakfast the next day. There was plenty of food for everyone.
We will probably try another hotel in the area on our next trip to LEGO land.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a 3 day visit to Legoland on the recommendation of friends. It was a great experience. The shuttle to Legoland (or anywhere we wanted) was great (we had a rental car but too expensive to park there!). Kids loved the room -- full size refrigerator for their snacks. Layout gave everybody enough space of their own (chairs, couch) as you could get in a hotel room. Breakfast buffet was fine, the afternoon happy hour was great for us parents (free beer & wine! ). Location was sort of isolated -- we could walk to the beach but not any shopping or downtown Carlsbad. Noise wasn't a problem. Staff was pleasant and helpful to direct us to local stuff. Pool and hot tub were fine. Liked Best: Legoland shuttle (our whole reason for being there); Liked Least: ravenous guests at the free food breakfast and happy hour....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Please note, this hotel is now called Hyatt House. Also, I'm a Hilton Diamond member so maybe I get better service than most at Hilton.

This hotel is so disappointing. The front desk clerk, Trisha, is extraordinarily unpleasant (I'm almost shocked,) the rooms are awkward, the floor is like cardboard (try, if you can, to get on the top floor...,) the hallways and check in are dark and uninviting, the elevator is really slow, and the gym room is a joke. I thought I would try Hyatt since Southwest isn't a partner with Hilton anymore. I think I will go back to Hilton properties - the people seem so much nicer, the rooms are better with white duvets, etc..., and at least the gym rooms have TVs.

I don't usually use the kitchen part but if you are self catering it does have a full fridge, stovetop, microwave, sink, etc...

Wish I didn't stay here this time - it's pretty much ruining a great week. At least now I know to never stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Try to get the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield1, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear valued guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is truly important to us. We are extremely sorry for the way that you were treated at check in. Please know that we have addressed the issue with the front desk host. We pride ourselves on providing good customer service and it is unexceptable that you don't feel you were treated this way.

We are currently utilizing your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmslatts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This was our first visit to the Hyatt Summerfield, but we will certainly return. We were visiting our son, daughter-in-law and new granddaughter for Chritmas and found our stay very pleasant. The breakfast buffet was wonderful with many items to choose from. It allowed us to have a leisurely breakfast before heading over to our son's house. Very convenient location also. My husband is a runner and liked the short block walk to the beach were he could get in a good run.

Close to the highway and commuter train, but we did not find it noisy. The train stops around 10pm so it did not bother our sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further from the train tracks, and run the room fan when in the room to drown out any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

Our family spends New Years Eve at Legoland every year since our children were born. We have stayed at the Pacific Palisades, Holiday Inn Express and Homewood and West Inn in recent years. We made last minute hotel arrangements this year and decided to give the Hyatt Summerfield (emphasis on Summerfield) because of what seemed to be a good value for our money. We booked a studio suite with dual queen beds for 2 adults and 3 kids (10, 3 and 1). My wife was a bit hesitant because our GPS guided us to this same hotel when it was an Inns of America (IIRC) instead of the West Inn. It was empty last new years eve and reminded us of the Tower of Terror lobby. Forward to 2011 and we were pleasantly surpirsed with new decor and amount of cars parked outside. Check in was easy and we were assigned room 236, which faces the highway and near the train tracks. This room is close to rear guest entrance. When we first walked in the highway noise was very noticeable. I thought "oh oh, the reviews were right on?" After closer inspection I noticed that the window was cracked open. After closing it was quiet. I did not notice the train during our stay. The room was nice sized and the fridge and microwave were put to good use. So did the some of the bowels, plates and glasses. The walls are thin and you sometimes feel like the sounds are in your own room. Breakfast was just ok. By 9:30 food was almost all gone and it was difficult to find clean utensils, bowls, cups and dishes.

Overall the hotel was good. I may not stay here in the future only because we eneded up paying just a few bucks less than the West Inn, which is my wife's favorite in the area. We could have booked this hotel for just over $100 a night two weeks ago. We laggged and paid $140 a night. During a busy holiday weekend the parking was a little tight in the evening but cleared out early.

Just remember that you are near Legoland and expect families with small children. Also, that this Hyatt's version of a Holiday Inn Express not the Hyatt or Hyatt Regency.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad

Address: 5010 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the coast of beautiful Carlsbad, California and conveniently situated only 2½ blocks from the beach, Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad is surrounded by the area’s many great attractions. Enjoy a five-minute shuttle ride to Legoland or the Village of Carlsbad or travel a short 35 miles to the San Diego Convention Center, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, San Diego Wild Animal Park, Old Town or the San Diego airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Hotel Of America Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.