We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad to your Saves list
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5010 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011 via mobile

This was or family's first time staying at this hotel and we loved it! We were skeptical at first because it was so close to the freeway, but the "noise" didn't bother us at all. Yes, you hear the occassional Harley passing by, but it was literally 2 seconds. Not loud enough or long enough to gripe over.

The hotel rooms are awesome! All the rooms had a kitchen with everything you needed; pots, pans, bowls, plates, measuring cup, actual utensils, full sized fridge, stove and even a dishwasher!

Beds were super comfy. There was a sectional sofa sleeper too! Flat screen LG TV - basically, all the amenities you need. They eem provide you with toothpaste! Decor was very modern.

They have a yummy continental breakfast every weekday morning and evening reception with appetizers, drinks, beer and wine.

Staff was very nice. Shuttle to Legoland was awesome and never busy!

Carlsbad outlet, beach and many eateries less than 2 miles away

For being a 2 star hotel, this place was awesome for the price. I'm a hotel snob and this hotel definitely exceeded my expectations! Don't let the 2 star hotel class rating deter you! This is the hotel I will be stayin at on all my Carlsbad trips!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    50
    13
    7
    15
See reviews for
105
15
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
GV
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Excellent place to stay - very clean and accomodating. Pool and hot tub both very nice though both close at 10 which is a little early when you are on vacation. Fabulous breakfast served everyday. Rooms were clean and beds are very comfy. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed at the Hyatt Summerfield Suites for a 2 nights stay to visit Legoland. Overall our stay is very average and it's nothing like the Hyatt properties we have stayed at before. Goods points are:
- they let us check in early
- Free shuttle bus to take you to Legoland, grocery stores, shopping outlet etc. The wait is never long. Drivers are very friendly
- Comfortable beds
- kitchen facility in the room so you can cook your own meals


Disappointing areas include:
- right next to highway and railway. Can hear the train blowing the horn while passing through rail crossing. It goes till probably 10pm at night and starts at 7am again
- breakfast choices are acceptable but the kitchen was totally not coping with the crowd. We were there for a Sat and Sun stays so I guess it's the busy time of the week but there are consistently shortage of food. I had to stand there for 15 for 2 piece of plain bread.
- reception staff does not look as if they want to be there. No smile, no welcome. Simply just do their job. When we check out, we requested to have our luggages stored so that we can visit Legoland and come back and pick them up (given we have medicine and other items in the suitcases). Didn't get a very nice response - " So how many luggages have you got?!!".... they did not looks as if they want to store our luggages at all so we decide to put the suitcases in the car and park under a slightly shaded area
- walls are paper thin. I can hear kids running around at 7am and can also hear the conversations between a little girl and her mum next door. You can also hear the noises of shower and toilet flushing from next door in the morning.
- rooms around swimming pool can be noisy
- cleanliness in the room - when I pulled out the hairdryer, I see a bunch of blonde hair falling out

I believe this property was recently taken over by the Hyatt group and I do not feel that the staff are very happy there. I believe the hotel is overall acceptable but the lack of helpful and friendly staff really spoil it. If Hyatt wants to maintain their high standards, they really need to look at their services at this property. Will not be back to this property again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Suites are located 10miles north of downtown SanDiego so a car is needed to explore the rest of San Diego. Parking is free.

The suites are big with a se3prate sleeping area. The bed was awesome - bigger than King Size. The bathroom was also large. The lounge area had a desk and sofa with a nice kitchenette/eating area. Overall, there was nothing to fault with the room. Even the free wifi was excellent.

There was a pool which is a nice bonus.

The buffet breakfast was only average and often the hot food had gone cold but if you're after cereals, yoghurts, toast etc, then its OK.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We hadn't stayed at a Summerfield Suites before. Since we thought it catered to families with children, we were a little worried that it would be noisy. It wasn't. This hotel was a wonderful surprise! We requested a quiet room on a high floor and that's exactly what we got. The room was at the end of the hall, well away from the elevators. Clean, bright, just right.

Then besides having a buffet breakfast, they also had evening snacks with drinks! Nice.

But the best feature this hotel offers, is their staff. Each and everyone made our stay seem special to them. The women at the front desk (sorry I can't remember her name) not only let us check in early, she gave us great info on local dinning spots and places to visit on our stay. One of which was the field of flowers. It was a nice place to see and walk through the flowers. She also gave us a buy one get one free ticket pass. She saved us a couple of bucks which she didn't need to.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we plan on visiting again, just to stay there!

Room Tip: With got a great rate with AAA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Easy check in.
Room was clean,excellent bed and convertble bed.
Evening Reception was a full meal-wine,soft drinks for the kids,salad, chicken wings and legs, two kinds of Pizza,various types of cookies, coffee and tea-UNBELIEVABLE.(I think this spread is only on weekdays-check with the Hotel)
Nice heated pool to enjoy.
Breakfast spread was good.
Easy check out.
Excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad

Address: 5010 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the coast of beautiful Carlsbad, California and conveniently situated only 2½ blocks from the beach, Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad is surrounded by the area’s many great attractions. Enjoy a five-minute shuttle ride to Legoland or the Village of Carlsbad or travel a short 35 miles to the San Diego Convention Center, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, San Diego Wild Animal Park, Old Town or the San Diego airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Hotel Of America Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.