We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor communication” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Carlsbad Seapointe Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Carlsbad Seapointe Resort to your Saves list
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Surfside Lane, Carlsbad, CA 92009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“Poor communication”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We booked this online and the reviews stated that the room slept 7. We were disappointed that 2 of our family had to sleep on a pull out couch.
We asked for a rollaway bed the next morning for the 2 year old and never received it. The first day the air conditioning failed and we notified the staff at 9am but no one came to repair the airconditioning until 6:30pm. We were never offered another room or an apology for the very warm room that day. When we entered our 2 bedroom villa 2 dead carnations were left on the counter in an empty vase. We felt that the place was clean, but we had a difficult time with communication because the staff we talked to couldn't speak English. We would of loved to use the wagon and beach toys but were never informed until our 4th day of our stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, General Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear PatV
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort. We're truly sorry to learn of your vacation experience and the issues that occurred during your visit. We apologize for the lack of communication in explaining the amenities and activities available to you. In addition, we regret that you were inconvenienced due to the request for a rollaway not being met as well as the delayed response for the air conditioning repair. We'd appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further regarding your stay and invite you to contact us at csrinfo@gpresorts.com. We hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    95
    31
    22
    11
See reviews for
268
162
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The Carlsbad Seapointe Resort has immaculate grounds. Everything is so clean and in order. We enjoyed the spacious rooms and the wonderful views of the ocean. The beach is very convenient, you just cross the street and your toes are in the warm soft sand.

There are so many fun activities for the kids and family to do at this resort. The staff is so friendly and caring.

We are definitely coming back for another vacation.

Pat P

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room, you will be able to see the sunset in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, General Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hi Pat P,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Seapointe Resort. We're thrilled you found our grounds immaculate, views wonderful and rooms spacious. We hope you had fun being so close to the beach and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Just returned home from Carlsbad Seapointe Resort and looking at my calendar to plan return trip. Perfect location, large rooms, great activities, plenty of good parking and great hotel staff. We chose the two room suite and there was plenty of space for my large family. Very clean rooms and property in general was very clean due to attentive cleaning staff. The first day we were there one of the gates was broken and the maintenance man (wish I could recall his name) was promptly repairing when I arrived back with groceries. He stopped what he was doing, opened the gate and walked a handful of my groceries up to the room for me. Wonderful customer service!!! Truly can't say enough positive things, it was a wonderful family trip at an awesome resort!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, General Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hi Lorna M,
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your recent trip so much you're ready to book another stay! It's great to hear that you found our location perfect, staff great and that you enjoyed our accommodations. We're so happy to hear our maintenance staff was able to assist you with your groceries to your room. We thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My family and I were just there and we could not get over how attentive the staff was at this resort! Andrea at the Front Desk mailed items home for us and Sara scooped extra ice cream and Maddie hosted a lot of extra girls at the Smore's fire! Even the GM was at the front desk to greet us - Michelle, you and your team are doing an amazing and heartfelt job!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, General Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hi Deb J,
Thank you for your review. We're so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay! We're so happy to hear how attentive our staff was, including Andrea, Sara and Maddie. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This place is simply amazing! From staff, to activities, to location, to the units.
Starting with my check in. Olga, Kasey, Jessica and Andrea are awesome! The girls from Activities are wonderful, Maddi and Sarah.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, General Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi n_enciso,
Thank you for your post. We're so glad you had an amazing time vacationing with us. It's great to know you enjoyed our staff, activities, location and accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We come here yearly and it's a place for us to unwind. We try to get a unit with expansive ocean views. We love watching the sunsets.....so tranquil. We come either in the spring or fall when the children are in school. Summer season can get crowded and more noisy with kids running around as well as local families who come in for the day. The beach is right across the street from the resort and it's not as crowded as the beach closer to the village. Resort has a full gym, adult swimming pool and adult hot tub. There's also a family pool and spa. You will need a car to get around. We usually shop at Ralph's supermarket or Costco.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is towards the front of the resort as those in back get the noise from the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, General Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi LindaRoo,
Thank you for your post. We're so glad you loved our views and watching the sunsets over the ocean. We're glad you and your family enjoyed our accommodations and the quietness of the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe Vista, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Kasey at the Front Desk was so friendly and helpful with dinner reservations and anything I needed. Our meeting was perfect, every detail was attended to. Sherry the Manager was amazing.
I loved the pool and the jacuzzi, the grounds were beautiful. I can't say enough about how great my stay was. I will for certain come back!!! Thank you all very much for making my stay wonderful!!!

Room Tip: It seemed like all of the rooms were great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, General Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi rwll,
Thank you for your post. We appreciate your kind words regarding our friendly and helpful staff. We're so glad they could accommodate you with dinner reservations and any other inquiries you may have had during your stay. It's wonderful to know how much you truly enjoyed your visit and look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlsbad Seapointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Seapointe Resort

Address: 6400 Surfside Lane, Carlsbad, CA 92009
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad Seapointe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort offers an unbelievable location for visitors visiting San Diego. These vacation condos sit along some of the most beautiful beaches in Southern California, and are within easy driving distance of LEGOLAND California, SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo and the Wild Animal Park. After a day of sightseeing or enjoying the sand and surf, relax in your own one or two bedroom designer-decorated condo. With an average of 800 square feet of space, beautiful balcony views, and a romantic fireplace, you can rest and unwind while listening to the sound of the ocean nearby. Guests can enjoy on-site amenities including swimming pools, a spa, fitness room, activity center, basketball, volleyball and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carlsbad Seapointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Seapointe Hotel Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.