We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Family Get Together” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlsbad Seapointe Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Carlsbad Seapointe Resort to your Saves list
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Surfside Lane, Carlsbad, CA 92009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
“Great Place for Family Get Together”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

That was our 1st time at SeaPointe. We are thankful for every single moment that we chose it because our family could get together often especially because we were stimulated to that through the Resort activities. Through the activities program, we could learn a lot about American culture and day-to-day matters as we live abroad.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit which was great, clean, renovated and comfortable.
We would definitely chose it for our next vacations.
Our kids loved every single moment of it.
Just to make it perfect +, I would suggest staff include better toiletry (bath tub foam, mineral salts or relaxing oil - which would be perfect for dynamic kids to have sweet dreams after days full of activities). Also, management should think of a little convenience store for emergency use. One needs to drive a car to by anything. That could be covered.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, General Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi Alexia M,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We're so delighted to hear you discovered Carlsbad Seapointe Resort and had a fabulous time visiting with us. We're glad you and your family enjoyed our activities program and had a great time relaxing by the pool. We look forward to welcoming you for another stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    95
    31
    22
    11
See reviews for
268
162
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Shasta, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We are HGVC elite level and stayed in a 2-bed corner ocean front unit that the rep described as "one of the most requested units". We thought it was dirty, outdated and needed a lot of work. The facing on most of the drawers and cupboards in the kitchen was peeling off and the stove was ancient with the broiler down below. We put our pizza under it to brown the top better and ended up with shavings of something on the top. Gross. Very disappointing for a hgvc property. Definitely will not stay again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, General Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Suggested Response
Hi sadHGVowner,
Thank you for sharing your experience with Carlsbad Seapointe Resort. We're truly sorry to learn of your stay and the issues you experienced during your visit. We apologize for some of the accommodations not being in order. We'd appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further regarding your stay and invite you to contact us at csrinfo@gpresorts.com. We hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Sea Pointe is across the street to South Carlsbad Beach. Great place to Surf, boogie board or hang out. The staff is pleasant. The 2 bedrooms are great for families. There are plenty of activities and events at Sea Pointe every day!
The Adult pool is open till midnight!!!
The resort isn't far from downtown Carlsbad. But u probably should drive. Cause PCH isn't a walk friendly road.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, General Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi CaliHawaii,
Thank you for your review. We're thrilled to learn of your recent stay and are so glad you had a great time boogie boarding and surfing in the area. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We had a great time. Andrea at the front desk checked us in and was very accomodating and informative and a pleasure to work with. The room was beautiful with a view of the ocean. The bedroom was comfortable, the bathroom big, and the kitchen had everything necessary to cook a meal, or just to heat something up. We did not use the amenities the resort offered, but found that the location was great to go to many of the great local breweries. There were plenty of great restaurants in Carlsbad, Encinitas, Solano Beach and San Diego. We enjoyed La Jolla one day and it was less than a 30 minute drive. We would definitely recommend this resort and would stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, but you need a room on the second or third floor to see it. Also, if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, General Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi Tim G,
Thank you for sharing your post on TripAdvisor. It's always such a pleasure to hear how accommodating our staff is from the moment you step foot through our door. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your room, accommodations and our great location. It certainly sounds like you had an awesome time and we appreciate your recommendation. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We just returned from a vacation we'll never forget. The Carlsbad Seapointe Resort should be renamed "A Little Slice of Heaven." The resort truly is a "sea point" and overlooks the beautiful Pacific Ocean. The rooms are immaculate and equipped with everything you could ever need. The views, the sunsets and the Carlsbad coastline are in full view from virtually every window. Our stay was truly memorable in every way. The grounds were perfect, every employee was simply fabulous. It reminded me of being on a cruise where you get to know everyone and are treated like family -- every employee working in harmony to ensure a perfect experience during one's stay. There was "golfin' dolphin" -- a mini-golf experience on the property, tennis courts, multiple fire pits blazing in the evening to keep guests warm when cool ocean breezes swept in, and s'mores by the fire pit and even free movie rentals, boogie board checkouts, you name it. Seapointe is truly the place where everything's included. Every morning there was piping hot coffee in large commercial dispensers in the lobby and freshly-baked chocolate chip cookies and other treats. Every guest even receives a nice Seapointe-branded souvenir bag. My son and I spent hours across the street at the beach collecting seashells. There are separate pools for adults only and also families with children. Everything was laid out perfectly -- and there's an activities guide you'll receive at check in which lists dozens of activities for every age group which have been scheduled every day of the week. We are absolutely planning a return soon, only this time, I'm going to do better at ping pong, shuffleboard and foos ball against the kids.

Room Tip: Request a room with a wraparound deck and glass walls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, General Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi carlsbadrealtor,
Thank you for sharing your with at our property. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed a magical experience during your stay. It's wonderful to know how special your vacation was and that our staff helped in creating these memories that we hope last a lifetime. We can’t wait to welcome you back the next time you're traveling to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Setauket, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Truly enjoyed our visit...the management and maintenance staff were very accommodating. The view was great--sunset and all. The outside hot tub made a difference since there were no children allowed. And, units were being renovated while we were there--little or no noise. I do miss the washer and dryer in the unit, but, had no problem with their centralized location. I would recommend this resort highly.

Room Tip: Sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, General Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi L S,
Thank you for your review! We're so pleased to hear that our management and staff were very accommodating during your stay. We're happy the views and our accommodations were great. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Just returned from a very pleasant week staying at Carlsbad Seapointe. Weather was nice but this resort made all the difference. Staff was always available to help with anything needed, provided good advice, always very nice to deal with, and hosted many activities. WiFi worked well throughout the facility, nice to have readily available parking, and the pool was warm and inviting. Short walk to beach for those interested. Many close by restaurants for those meals not being cooked at resort. Close to Coaster stop to catch train to downtown San Diego. Perfect place to enjoy this perfect climate!

Room Tip: If you are by yourself (no kids), building 1 is perfect location, close to adult pool, clubhouse, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, General Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi Ed B,
Thank you for sharing your recent Carlsbad Seapointe Resort experience! We're so glad that you enjoyed a very pleasant week with us and that our staff was overly accommodating. We're thrilled to hear you explored the area and had a great time. We can’t wait to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlsbad Seapointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Seapointe Resort

Address: 6400 Surfside Lane, Carlsbad, CA 92009
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad Seapointe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort offers an unbelievable location for visitors visiting San Diego. These vacation condos sit along some of the most beautiful beaches in Southern California, and are within easy driving distance of LEGOLAND California, SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo and the Wild Animal Park. After a day of sightseeing or enjoying the sand and surf, relax in your own one or two bedroom designer-decorated condo. With an average of 800 square feet of space, beautiful balcony views, and a romantic fireplace, you can rest and unwind while listening to the sound of the ocean nearby. Guests can enjoy on-site amenities including swimming pools, a spa, fitness room, activity center, basketball, volleyball and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carlsbad Seapointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Seapointe Hotel Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.