We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlsbad Seapointe Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carlsbad Seapointe Resort to your Saves list
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Surfside Lane, Carlsbad, CA 92009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
East Setauket, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Had a Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Truly enjoyed our visit...the management and maintenance staff were very accommodating. The view was great--sunset and all. The outside hot tub made a difference since there were no children allowed. And, units were being renovated while we were there--little or no noise. I do miss the washer and dryer in the unit, but, had no problem with their centralized location. I would recommend this resort highly.

Room Tip: Sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, General Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi L S,
Thank you for your review! We're so pleased to hear that our management and staff were very accommodating during your stay. We're happy the views and our accommodations were great. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    97
    31
    22
    11
See reviews for
269
164
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Just returned from a very pleasant week staying at Carlsbad Seapointe. Weather was nice but this resort made all the difference. Staff was always available to help with anything needed, provided good advice, always very nice to deal with, and hosted many activities. WiFi worked well throughout the facility, nice to have readily available parking, and the pool was warm and inviting. Short walk to beach for those interested. Many close by restaurants for those meals not being cooked at resort. Close to Coaster stop to catch train to downtown San Diego. Perfect place to enjoy this perfect climate!

Room Tip: If you are by yourself (no kids), building 1 is perfect location, close to adult pool, clubhouse, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, General Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi Ed B,
Thank you for sharing your recent Carlsbad Seapointe Resort experience! We're so glad that you enjoyed a very pleasant week with us and that our staff was overly accommodating. We're thrilled to hear you explored the area and had a great time. We can’t wait to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We spent a week with our family and we were surprised with the extraordinary service they have. I sincerely don't recall ever having been treated like we did at any hotel. Staff met every request we made and they were ALL sooo friendly. The hotel has soo many activities for families and just make you feel at home!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, General Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi Guijarros,
Thank you for sharing your Carlsbad Seapointe Resort experience. We are thrilled you chose to stay with us for your family vacation, and that you enjoyed our accommodations and our friendly staff! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The resort was nice and very clean, a little dated but they were working on that. The desk staff was very, very nice. When we called for something, they were right on it and followed with a call to be sure it was taken care of. The kitchen wasn't equipped like we're used to. We usually eat in and we missed some baking pans and better pots. The stove needs to be replaced or something done with the dials - we couldn't read the time, etc., as the numbers were worn off. I'm also used to having a washer and dryer in our room which is very convenient when you stay 7 days like we did. The first mornings' orientation was very helpful in explaining events happening and the breakfast was wonderful. Wasn't too happy about the $14 daily fee. The location was awesome. Would recommend and hope to come back but will ask for a higher room and ocean front. Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for a room on top floor with full view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, General Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi Judy S,
Thank you for your wonderful review of Carlsbad Seapointe Resort! We are so pleased that you discovered our property and enjoyed all aspects of your visit. Guest satisfaction is so important to us and to be receiving such wonderful feedback is extremely gratifying. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

First thing I noticed driving into the resort was the sight of a huge smoke stack in the distance up the beach. I'm assuming it was a power plant. After registering, things got worse. We were escorted to the wrong type of room (it was supposed to be ocean front). Got transferred immediately to a first floor unit with a glimpse of ocean (saw more of the entrance to the resort than water). Bedroom was to small to store our suitcases. The bed blocked us from fully opening the door to the bathroom. The TV didn't work (had to call maintenance). Called maintenance about noise in the bathroom. Noise reoccurred during night...kept waking us up. Upon waking next morning, found that there was no toaster in the kitchenette. To top things off, we discovered that a train ran right behind the resort. The noise startled us the first time a train passed the resort. Need we say more!

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, General Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi m b,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the view of the ocean from your room and the accommodations. We hope to better serve you should you wish to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My family exchanged into this gorgeous resort for the holidays and im so excited we did. The rooms are nice and spacious. There are a lot of activities for guests to enjoy. The sunset social was probably my favorite one out of all of them. The front desk staff are all so welcoming and really made you feel at home. There is a daily fee of $14 but that covers your parking and wifi. I dont like that you can't do laundry in your room but there are too many other fabulous things that make up for that. Definitely will try to come back sometime in the near future. Try to ask for a higher floor with an ocean view if you can.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, General Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi sunshinebrad,
Thank you for your review of Carlsbad Seapointe Resort! We are pleased to hear that you and your family loved your recent exchange at our property. Thank you for your fantastic feedback about your stay. It's so rewarding to know we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights early in January. We has a very pleasant stay even though the resort is a little dated. They are currently remodeling suites. We found that sound do carry through units if you are unlucky and get a couple of couples who like to stay up late and laugh a lot as we encountered one night, luckily it only happen one night.

The staff was very friendly and quite competent. We were in a two bedroom unit that was very comfortable for the four of us. We would stay here again. I would rate it average for a timeshare.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, General Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi Jim0942,
Thank you for your post. We're so glad you enjoyed your five night stay at our property and found our staff friendly and helpful. We hope to welcome you back the next time you're visiting Carlsbad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlsbad Seapointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Seapointe Resort

Address: 6400 Surfside Lane, Carlsbad, CA 92009
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad Seapointe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort offers an unbelievable location for visitors visiting San Diego. These vacation condos sit along some of the most beautiful beaches in Southern California, and are within easy driving distance of LEGOLAND California, SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo and the Wild Animal Park. After a day of sightseeing or enjoying the sand and surf, relax in your own one or two bedroom designer-decorated condo. With an average of 800 square feet of space, beautiful balcony views, and a romantic fireplace, you can rest and unwind while listening to the sound of the ocean nearby. Guests can enjoy on-site amenities including swimming pools, a spa, fitness room, activity center, basketball, volleyball and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carlsbad Seapointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Seapointe Hotel Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.